We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive”
Review of La Varangue - CLOSED

La Varangue
Price range: $23 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Inexpensive”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was not bad value for the money... but again there are better dining options. The night we went, it was all Americans. The food was okay. Not bad, but not great. However, it was good value for the money. Read the other reviews and you should get a sense of the place. Service was attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WindyCityBard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    10
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, fun experience!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We ended up having two meals at La Varangue. It was conveniently right down the street from our hotel, has been written up in Rick Steve's Paris guidebook, and came with a personal recommendation from a local Parisian. The owner/chef, Philippe is very friendly and truly enjoys both the food he serves and his customers. The menu is limited, with certain items available regularly, and usually one or two specials. He serves a prixe fix meal - starter and main, or main and dessert. On our first visit, I went traditional - escargot, which came out of the shell, in garlic and butter, and beef bourgonioine with mashed potatoes. On the second visit, we had his special of the night, diced pork and vegetables in a cream sauce with rice and puff pastry - delectable! And, we had to try his famous chocolate cake. This restaurant is very near the Eiffel Tower, he opens at 5:30pm, and you don't need reservations. Worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grundsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delectable and Fun!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went to La Varangue on a Wednesday night. When we arrived, the restaurant was not open and there didn't seem to be any sign of life. So we walked around for about twenty minutes, hoping Philippe would open and we were so glad we did. We watched him make his famous chocolate cake, then he posed for pictures with us. Four other tables came in during the course of our dinner, and all came because of Rick Steeves' book (as did we). It became my job to translate the menu (as I knew some French) and Philippe even sat down and ate once we were all served. The food was fantastic, the atmosphere wonderful, with travellers exchanging stories, and the prices were reasonable. Philippe engages everyone in conversation as he prepares your meal. We had a great time and fabulous meal and will definitely go back upon our next visit to Paris.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKelly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La Varangue and Phillipe”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped by on a Saturday evening, based upon a recommendation in Rick Steves book, however the owner, Phillipe was on holiday as indicated by a sign in the window and the restaurant was closed. We must have looked sad and hungry, looking in the window with our noses pressed up on the glass when the door opened and out popped Phillipe and wonderful aromatic smells from the kitchen. There were 6 of us in our group and since we couldn't come back when he was open he invited us in and if we didn't mind eating what was on the stove we could stay. We enjoyed a wonderful meal of beef bourgonioine, mashed potatoes, lots of wine and apple pie. It was a fabulous meal and experience. Phillipe was truly a gracious host and we'll never forget our "private" dinner. Our heartfelt thanks to Phillipe who didn't turn us away, and to Rick Steves who sent us there in search of fine food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgm1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food and Philippe”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We first ate a LaVarangue during a visit to Paris in 2005. During October 2012, while in Paris we decided to go back. La Varangue is a small restaurant, maybe 9 tables, on a quiet street next to a laundry. This is not a fancy French restaurant, there are no fancy sauces. What you get is good, hearty, well prepared food at very reasonable prices. Both times we ate there we were greeted warmly by the owner and presented with the chalkboard menu. This last visit I had chicken my wife had beef. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. If you are lucky there will be some chocolate cake (its a must if available) left for dessert. And then there is Philippe, owner/ chef. Nightly Philippe holds court from his perch in the kitchen. He tells stories and shares anecdotes with diners as he prepares the meals. On our first visit he called my wife back into the kitchen and had her torch the sugar on her crème brulee.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Varangue also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing