We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cochonnaille

La Cochonnaille
Ranked #7,302 of 16,851 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a lovely dining experience on a Tuesday night. Restaurant full of french locals eating which is always a promising sign!

Very well cooked food, beautiful onion soup, and such tender meat for our mains. Excellent value as part of the set menu.

Plenty more seating downstairs, so don't get put off if it looks full.

We were very impressed and would definitely return again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    87
    34
    16
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stopped at this restaurant on a whim and loved it. The waiter had a great sense of hunour and made the dining experience even more enjoyable, the food was excellent not too mention generous servings along with a good menu selection. The restaurant has a friendly atmosphere and you are treated like a member of the family. We would always go back whenever we are in Paris and highly recomment it as a place to enjoy a meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2,289 reviews
785 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,487 helpful votes
“Do not miss the Pork Fillet.....UNBELEIVABLE!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I took my wife there when I proposed to her in the Eiffel Tower a few years ago and we enjoyed it so much that we went back again this year on our one year anniversary! Both times we got the Pork filet and both times we're left with...WOW! Was that the best pork ever or what!? It is sooooo incredibly tender that you can cut it with your fork. It is also great to be able to sit outside and enjoy a glass of the Brouilly (Great/very affordable red Wine). They also have a very cute cave downstairs that makes the restaurant very unique and authentic to Paris! A must do!!!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So good the last time we came back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We first discovered this restaurant 17 years ago and although the menus have become more tourist friendly it is still a very good restaurant. The food is of a high standard - the escargot were as excellent as we had remembered. The meat was good quality and very well cooked. Our party sampled both the Tourist and gourmet menu and no one was disappointed in their choices.The service was extremely efficient and friendly. It was fantastic to find that this restaurant remained as high quality as we had remembered.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Authentic place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just walked by and stopped for lunch. We started with the salad with Foie Gras which was very good, the Foie Gras tasted excellent. Main was Beef Bourgogne, and it was very tasty, but the pommes frites was just average. For dessert we got ice cream, and it was just something bought from a cheap supermarket.

The resturant had a large basement centuries old, nice, but the toilets could need a resturation for sure. The area of the resturant is very nice and well worth a visit. All in all it was a nice lunch for a quite reasonably price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IKandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cochonnaille also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Cochonnaille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing