We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smile that says you are welcome says it all”
Review of chez alexandre

chez alexandre
Ranked #1,242 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Les Halles
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A smile that says you are welcome says it all”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We were roaming around looking for some half decent place to eat. A bit hypoglycemic and undecisive. And chanced upon this charming guy waving his hand inviting us... so we decided to accept the offer. The waitor was very helpful, endured our broken french and helped us with some broken English. Decent food, good rose' served in a pitcher and good location, right next to the louvre. We ordered the goats cheese salad which was quite innovative. The bread was very good. Would recommend if you are around and looking for a reasonable place, nothing too stylish. Just soak in the right atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Anumit3011
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    73
    17
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good - just check credit cards before”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The restaurant receives a good clientele, accomodated in small tables, quite close and making for a cozy atmosphere. We had pizzas and beer, good pizzas. Price is ok for Paris. Only at the payment the waiter told us that the "connection" of cell phones was down and they could not accept credit cards. All right, paid with cash, but, in central Paris no connection? Looked like an old trick. It was the only restaurant in Paris where we had this problem, and being the first we visited on our stay, led me to always ask in the others if cards were ok. No return there, left a bad impression because of this. Other aspects, fine. If one intends to use cards here, confirm before.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Food was good, server was rude.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stopped in for a quick bite and ended up ordering pizza. The waiter was not that kind and seemed like he would rather be elsewhere talking to other people. Apparently, the omelettes are quite good here and we had thought about returning, but the service turned us off.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tvizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had lunch here on Monday, March 24 and enjoyed it very much. The waiter was happy to speak English with us and was very pleasant. We had the formule midi and it was a good price for very good food. Please give it a try when you go to the Louvre.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just a really good experience!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were looking for a family meal, not haute cuisine, and we found it! Our first experience was a truly enjoyable dinner and we readily returned, at my grandson's request, for lunch the next day. At both meals the salads were crispy fresh and flavorful and the breads were warm and tasty. Three varieties of pizza we tried had a thin crispy crust with delectable toppings. For starters, hummus was obviously fresh and the eggplant was enjoyable. I ordered the lamb kabob meal and the kabob was sampled by others so that a second kabob was ordered. When my grandson said he would like lemonade, not Sprite/soda, he was brought a glass with lemon juice, sugar packets and a bottle of water; talk about service! Table water was available free of charge and we found nothing wrong with Parisienne water. Additionally, the meal prices were reasonable and the serve time was under two hours. We were never rushed by the staff, we just had "places to go and things to see".

As for the anti-Asian issue, the proprietor excused himself from us twice to greet and to accommodate a table of Asians seated behind us; their interchange was very friendly. Both of our tables were "around the corner" though not all tables were full; this did not adversely effect our service.

Kudos to a reasonably priced, terrific quality restaurant in a sea of overblown food institutions! P.S.: We paid for both meals with credit cards on which they unquestioningly split the tab.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MzEd7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed chez alexandre also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to chez alexandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing