We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First meal of the trip to Paris”
Review of Parnasse 138 - CLOSED

Parnasse 138
Price range: $0 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“First meal of the trip to Paris”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were impressed with the excellent choice of dishes on the menu at a very fair price and found it hard to choose.
We both had the home made moussaka which was tasty and a pleasant dessert.
The reason for our average score is that we felt rushed, the tables were tightly packed and the waiter seemed a bit miserable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zen123102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    50
    15
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good option for allergy sufferers”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went to this restaurant with friends, one of who is allergic to nuts and the other gluten, as it caters to dietary requirements. The food was good- nothing special, but all well cooked with a nice flavour. For a family lunch or on a cold day i would recommend it, as it was hearty and the resturant was full of French people- always a good sign! The menu was good value for money too- we had 3 courses each for 25€ per person. Also, the service was excellent and my friends were very happy to enjoy a nice meal without having to worry about what they were eating- not easy to find in Paris!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“we loved it!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great service, food was perfect!I ordered salmon fillet and it was very good cooked!The atmosphere was nice too! I surely recommend it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValentinaParas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, last minute find”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had dinner here from the menu of the day. Very reasonably priced for Paris...18 euros for 2 courses. Friendly waitress and very fast service. Give it a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boput
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Avoid the steak at all costs!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went on a Saturday night at about 9pm. The restaurant was full but they had one table left. First impressions were good, we received a warm welcome and the tables had clean white tablecloths. We should have known something was up by the large screen TV on the wall with a football match showing - not quite in keeping with a restaurant surely.

The menu is quite large and they do have an English version if your French isn't up to scratch. The set menu offers good value although drinks are expensive (€11 for a small mojito). The French Onion soup was delicious as were the escargot. The Entrecôte with a sauce béarnaise however was the TOUGHEST steak imaginable and even a steak knife couldn't cut it. We gave up in the end. The dauphinoise it was served with was ok, although very garlicky. The tarte tain for dessert was tasty although had clearly been sat for a long time as the patry base was no longer crisp, think slimy!

After our warm welcome the staff were more interested in chatting with their friends who came in to eat or watching the football. The kitchen repeatedly rang the bell for service and it was ignored.

Would we return? No, the appalling steak completely put us off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracie_Grey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parnasse 138 also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing