We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The magic was lost on me”

Museum of Magic (Musee de la Magie)
Ranked #386 of 1,132 things to do in Paris
Attraction details
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The magic was lost on me”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Magic is not a word I'd use to describe my experience at Le Musée de la Magie or the adjoining Musée des Automates.
A very small collection of aged, and some out-of-order, antique toys was only interesting enough to a point.
A magic show was led by a rather tempremental magician, who seemed to be quite annoyed by the screams of a few disabled children in the audience. He performed some very basic tricks, while reciting some over used one-liners. It was obvious from every seat in the room that the magic for him had faded long ago.
Other staff appear to be running on a very thin patience and had no problem heckling a young English woman who was looking at something at the back of the room during a presentation, in French.
And for God's sake, don't hazard to take a photograph, with a number of security cameras and the director hunting down many a tourist during mid-pose. (Near non-existent signage asking not to take photos).
For such a high-price of 25€ for the two museums, I expected more than cheap tricks and amazingly abhorrent customer service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    28
    9
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Museum of magic, Paris France”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is definitely over priced, we do not recommend it as it is very small with very little to see or do.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Magic Show great fun even though in French only.”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We visited the Musee de la Curiosite et de la Magie in Le Marais across from the Ile St. Louis. The magic show lasted almost 30 minutes and was exceptionally good even though it was only in French. The museum was okay (some magic history, many historic automaton) - the show is the key feature. It was great as something different to do. From here, you could easily explore some of the neighborhood sites of Le Marais.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank CantWaitForParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Low Key, Different and Fun”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I went here with my 18 and 20 year olds and we all enjoyed it. Don't expect a big, fancy place; this is smaller and very low key and almost has a funky feel about it, which I liked. The show was in French, so keep that in mind, but it almost didn't matter because of the magic. A great break from shopping or larger museums.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank ChipTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun, but you should speak French to get the full value!”
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Not a criticism against the museum - but quite a bit of this is in French (the magic show and most of the exhibits). If you don't speak French, you may have some difficulty keeping up!

They accept cash only for the admission, and it is not covered by the Museum Pass.

Helpful?
1 Thank BigJim100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Magic (Musee de la Magie) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Magic (Musee de la Magie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing