We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream of my LIFE!”
Review of Berthillon

Berthillon
Ranked #1 of 177 Coffee & Tea in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream of my LIFE!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the best ice cream I have EVER had. (And I've had A LOT of ice cream). I ordered 2 scoops, and then went back right after I was done to order a 3rd scoop. I highly recommend salted caramel and pistachio!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chiumonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    435
    140
    58
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best sorbets and ice creams”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Berthillon in spite of its success has kept the quality of its products: they still offer the best sorbets and ice creams of Paris

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanielleODear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely ice-cream”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I visited here as it was a short walk from the Notre Dame and I'd heard it had the best ice-cream. There was nowhere to sit inside, at least that I noticed so I guess this is a take-away service only. I enjoyed a small tub with 2 flavours, as did my daughter and this cost just under 8 euros, which I though was okay value, certainly nothing outrageous. As for the flavours, they were really intense, we tried raspberry, mango, coconut and a sort of butterscotch; the fruit flavours were delicious sorbets, bursting with flavour and the other flavours were creamy and rich. If you are nearby then it's worth the visit, otherwise perhaps try ice-cream from somewhere else and it is readily available across Paris.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pink S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“the best one in the world”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's the best ice creams ever!!! It's produced at St. Louis that's why these stores have the biggest choice of flavours. This place is one of must do in Paris. Even when I had a flue I still started my day from this ice cream. You won't get the second chance to try it except here

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonioRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Ice cream is excellent, portions minuscule...”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The ice cream was great but the portions are ridiculously small, compared to similar quality gelato places from Italy (or italian places in France, such as Amorino). Also: places are closed 2 days of the week, and they were closed for a full week near new year. Go and do some work, bums!

Helpful?
Thank Carlos1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berthillon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Berthillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing