We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great neighborhood cafe”
Review of Cafe Charlot

Cafe Charlot
Ranked #3,689 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $37 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Le Marais
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great neighborhood cafe”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

2 American couples shared an apartment for a week in late October, this local cafe was our first and last cafe. First we sat outside for an afternoon lunch in the warm sunshine, beautiful salad. Last we sat inside for a lovely friday night dinner sheltered from the rain, delicious bread and simple meal with lovely rose wine.

Helpful?
Thank SharingExperiences63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    226
    75
    39
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Cool vibe!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place is all about setting and location. It is beautifully located in the core of the Marais, in a super cool corner. The décor and ambiance are really cool, super laid back, with a vintage Parisian vibe. The food is good. We went for breakfast and had some good croissant and good pain au chocolat, but nothing really special. The Norwegian Eggs ordered by some friend, though, was quite remarkable. Woudl go back for the fun experience, and not really for the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A taste of Paris”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We found this place after giving up on looking for another recommended restaurant. The place was full, but they managed to find us a table and didn't bat an eye at us wheeling a stroller with our 5-month old daughter in. The service was what you would expect in a busy Parisian restaurant. We were seated promptly and served by friendly waiters rushing around us. The food was excellent and we were left to enjoy our wine after our meal without being rushed out of the place. The place was full of locals and with the tables close together and the warm comfortable atmosphere it isn't long before you end up talking to your neighbours.

This is a lovely restaurant we would (and did) return to. The food is good and the atmosphere bustling.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesandSelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Hot Chocolate Of My Dreams”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

DH and I stopped in on a cold morning while walking through the Marais. Sat down at a sidewalk table under a heat lamp and had the hot chocolate of my dreams. Rich, creamy, full of real chocolate and just enough sugar. It was the perfect chocolate experience and so much better than all the places recommended by our guidebooks. I would go back in a heartbeat! Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I went there twice for breakfast and was very pleased both times. We had omelet, eggs benedict and a cheese burger, and all of it was very tasty. Didn't wait long, service was just fine. First time we went on Sunday (we got a table immediately) so be aware that maybe you'll have to wait cause Marais is crowded on Sunday!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Charlot also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Charlot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing