We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
234
88
18
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
88
18
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews le baratin belleville area working class neighborhood usual pastries touristic area hotel late at night two metro stations boutique hotel lovely hotel stayed days bed was very comfortable hotel breakfast nice breakfast around the corner european hotels great boutique street side
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 346 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2018

I've been to Paris many times and tend to stay in the Belleville area because I love the local flavour (and Tunisian and Asian restaurants that don't break the bank!). This was my first time staying at this hotel, though, and it was great. The rooms are the standard small size for Paris (it's worth upgrading to a "superior"), but they have just been renovated and everything is new. Some rooms over look the street (it's around the corner from the main street but it was still fairly noisy) and some have windows that just face the room a few metres away. So I think it depends on the room you get. The breakfast was good, with some eggs, meats, and all the usual pastries. We didn't find a good breakfast spot in the neighbourhood that wasn't just a pastry and coffee, so we stayed here for breakfast each morning. The staff are really great: friendly, helpful and really wanted to please guests. We really appreciated them!

Room Tip: If accessibility is an issue: there is a lift in one building and not in the other (although it only has 2 floors)
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HenryLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

First time in this hotel in the area called Belleville what a nice pleasant surprise we will definitely return, a bustling area but the hotel itself is in a nice quiet street, not far from the metro and only 15 min max from the heart of Paris, its perfect

Room Tip: givre the hotel a call before you arrive
  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank belleville31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We would not recommend this Hotel and we would recommend if you are staying demand not to stay in room 702. We complained during our stay about the room as it had not external window, was not as advertised, smelt of Marijuana or damp, had intermittently working air condition and was smaller than advertised. On complaining to the staff there we were told they had previously received complaints about the room but couldn't move us as they were fully booked. We were not offered compensation even though the Hotel admitted the room was not as advertised!!!

Further to this our toiletries were not changed and the mini bar was not restocked during our 2 night stay.

Shocking hotel,having stayed in Paris a number of times I would avoid this Hotel and recommend AirBnB when travelling to Paris.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 702
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oliverlondon863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

First thing that needs addressing is given that this hotel is in Paris you have to accept the rooms are on the small side that being said for the two of us the space never really became an issue as we only had one bag etc.

The area that hotel scarlett is a tad "urban" but that being said neither of us felt unsafe returning to the hotel late at night.

The location is a distance out from the main sites of Paris for example the hotel to the eiffel tower is 37mins using public transport or 1hour 40mins on foot so even though the hotel is reasonable you also have to factor in the cost of constant metro journeys or the time you will spend walking to where ever you want to be.

The only issues we had with the room is the lack of air conditioning, it has air conditioning but when i mentioned it not working the staff said its currently on heat rather than cool as they thought it wasn't warm well it certainly was warm which leads on to the next issue our room overlooked the road therefore it was seldom quiet and trying to sleep with the windows open was impossible.

I'm not sure if I would return to the Hotel Scarlett due to the distance from the main sites that being said you cant ignore the massive price difference between this hotel and the hotels close to the sites.

Room Tip: try and get one that doesn't over look the road
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phatbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Room was great - Very modern, big sized TV, spotlessly clean and a fantastic shower. the room is very modern and pretty big in comparison to other options in Paris.
Breakfast is pretty basic but gives you all the needed energy to start the day.
Front desk staff were very helpful with solutions to problems that rose.
The only problem because of which I didn't give this hotel a 5 star review is the location. Although not very far from the center of Paris - Only 4-5 metro stops to central paris - and a good proximity to Pyrenees (3 min walk) and to Belville (5 min walk) stations - the neighborhood is a little shabby. Lots of immigrants, strange shops. It's not that you don't feel safe, but it is not the classical Paris surrounding you would expect from a Parisian hotel. Another drawback is that the hotel is close to the top of the hill, which means that traveling with the Metro - you have to climb up or down when you are arriving. What we did is to go in the morning downhill to Bellville station and coming back in the evening - stopping at Pyrenees station and downhill again.
Overall - I reccomend the stay at the Scarlett, with a very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iolan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews