We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, full of character and versatile!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of maison de charme

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
hotelvisi...
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful, full of character and versatile!”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I travelled to France with three friends during May for a week-long holiday of climbing in Fountainebleau. We arrived at the Maison de Charme and we were so happy! It really is beautiful and full of character. Stephanie was there to greet us and was very kind and helpful - She took the time to show us around the house, talked to us about the local area and gave us our keys.
After staying in the cottage for a week, we found the kitchen has everything you need, we used the dining area for lovely food each night, the lounge is cosy and the bedrooms are big and quirky. The garden is also very beautiful and you can sit outside in the evenings in candlelight. We are all best friends and so the connected bedrooms didn't bother us - It was good fun!
The two cats are great. We forgot their names and so called them Bublé and Trevor :)
For climbers - The cottage is in a small village and it's a short 15/20 min drive into Fountainebleau, which we found really convenient. Also there is a farm shop a short walk down the road which is AMAZING for fresh bread and good food every day. There are also small towns dotted around for pubs/restaurants, so we really liked the location too.
I would recommend this to other climbers or couples - It's really lovely and we will probably go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The soft furnishings, the colours, the garden.
Liked least: The shower, if I had to be picky.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2015
Merci beaucoup pour votre adorable message! vous etes des "locataires" délicieux et je vous accueillerai de nouveau avec joie...
Chaleureusement. Stéphanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The086
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bohemian doesn't cut it!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I booked up a stay at this property for many reasons and one of the primary ones was because Fontainebleau is located close to family. When you click on the map button on the holiday website the location appears to be in the central forest location of Fontainebleau. This display is misleading to the point of dishonest as the true destination is 20 km from Fontainebleau.
Alarms bells starting ringing when the owner of the property contacted us direct and demanded a 500 euro deposit, this should have been made clear at the start and when booking through HL – Tripadvisor. When HL-Tripadvisor were informed, the response was that it’s up to you how you proceed, however if you refuse the owners demand the owner can refuse your booking that has been made. This was very disappointing and unprofessional response to say the least.
The property itself was interest and all members of the party agreed that it was quirky and bohemian. These first impressions faded after discovery the seating (4 people in kitchen diner) and bedding arrangements were totally inadequate for 6 people. In order to get to the second and third bedrooms from the main staircase you needed to have the flexibility of a gymnast to go under the 4½ foot tunnel in the wall. The other option was to use the loft stairs that also had its own set of issues.
Once upstairs there were further hazards to deal with, uneven floors between the 2nd and 3rd bedrooms, hatch door handle on the floor, naked bulb light on the wall, plasterboards with abrasive edge exposed, exposed metal work and unfinished plaster work.
Also sofa bed for two children is far too small and dangerous, as my daughter will testify having falling out of bed while asleep onto the hard wooden floor. She lost 2 teeth and gain two visits from the tooth fairy and a thick lip. Understandable she was far too scared to get back into the sofa bed after this incident. Nearly everyone on the party at some point sustained an injury, the only comical aspect of this is that my son drew up an injury chart that my daughter won hands down, as she also fell and badly hurt her back on the exposed plasterboard.
There are some things right with this property, the garden, interesting décor and rustic feel.
Having paid a premium rate I was expecting that the property décor would all be finished, that it would be of a high standard that would sleep 6 safely and comfortably and would be spacious enough just to enjoy. However I have come away feeling cheated and deceived and that Tripadvisor must share some of that responsibility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden
Liked least: upstairs space
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2014
bonjour a tous, je dois préciser que si vous lisez attentivement la description de la maison, il est bien precisé qu'elle se situe a 15 kms de Fontainebleau et non au centre comme l'ont cru certaines personnes...il faut bien lire! d'autre part c'est une maison ancienne, donc dans les maisons anciennes il y a des inégalités dans le sol, les murs ne sont pas toujours droit, il n'y a pas un "tunnel" pour aller dans le coin chambre a l'étage , mais une petite porte en bois facon "Alice au pays des merveilles" parce que c'etait a l'époque un grenier a foin, et donc une petite ouverture se trouve a cet emplacement...ce sont ces "imperfections " qui font le charme des maisons anciennes...certains adorent et d'autres non...il y a en effet un lit 160, un lit 140 et un qui doit faire 130 ...des enfants qui tombent du lit, cela peut arriver, cela n'engage en rien la sécurité de la maison...le métal apparent est une séparation interieure entre 2 coins couchage,facon "atelier", sans verre pour pouvoir aérer, avec un rideau devant, et c'est trés joli...
Voila...on ne peut pas plaire a tout le monde...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chancethe...
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful artsy retreat with relaxing garden away from town”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a great two night stay at Maison de Charme. The photos are very accurate and we loved the funky artsy style of the house. Stephanie, the home owner is very sweet and welcoming. We most enjoyed the secluded garden areas and just relaxing on the property. We chose to light candles, bring dinner in and play cards etc during the evenings.

The map on the Trip Advisor site does not accurately depict the location of this house however. It looked like it is right in the middle of Fontainebleu with easy walking distance to restaurants etc. - that is not actually the case we learned upon arrival. This house is located in a very quiet residential area of Brinville which is about 25 minutes drive to Fontainebleu. This a great place to relax after a high energy visit to Paris but you will definitely need a car at this location. We drove to an incredible hike in the Forest of Fontainebleu.

The bedrooms do not have a typical layout - in other words there are no closed door private spaces -and only one bathroom. Another point to note is that there are two cats in residence so you have to be okay with cats.

We really enjoyed our stay here and you will too if you are are looking for a Bohemian style home and garden to relax in with family or friends - but if you are looking for a home with walking distance to sights and dining this is not for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet garden retreat with funky vibe
Liked least: location is far from dining options
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saquebout...
paris
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation

Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing