We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude owner”
Review of Hirondelle

Hirondelle
Ranked #3 of 177 Restaurants in Fontainebleau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We visited the creperie as 2 friends and ordered a crepe to share and two coffees. After the order is taken the owner came to explain we should either get 2 crepes (one each) or pay double for them to serve us. Never seen such a rude behavior in any other restaurant in France or anywhere in the world. I refuse to support anyone or any business treating customers like that so we left. Never going back again

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank Merve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoopie77, Propriétaire at Hirondelle, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018
Google Translation

Cher Internaute,
J'attendais votre post, et vais me faire un plaisir de vous répondre. Monsieur vous avez confondu un restaurant avec une cafétéria ou un bar/brasserie. Soyez honnête, vous m'avez proposé 2 fois d'augmenter le tarif et j'ai toujours refusé. Lorsqu'on s'installe dans une salle avec couverts , le minimum est de prendre pour 2 couverts chacun quelque chose.
Effectivement je ne peux que vous encourager à ne pas revenir dans nôtre établissement.
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 265 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

I had the Saint-Jacques (scallops) and fresh tomato sauce and then a lemon chocolate dessert crepe. Both amazing.
But get there early. It is very popular with locals and occasional tourists.
5 minute walk from Château bus stop.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank neo4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoopie77, Propriétaire at Hirondelle, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2018
Google Translation

Cher Greg,
Merci beaucoup pour votre très sympathique retour. Effectivement mieux vaut réserver surtout le week end. Pour info, ce sont de vraies coquilles st Jacques et non des pétoncles.
Merci de votre visite.
Cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is very small, sometimes it is difficult to have a seat if there is already someone sat behind you but the galettes are very good.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Roving476490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoopie77, Propriétaire at Hirondelle, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018
Google Translation

cher Internaute,
Merci d'avoir choisi notre crêperie. Je suis ravie de voir votre satisfaction, au niveau de la qualité et du service. C'est vrai le restaurant n'est pas très grand, mais pas minuscule non plus: à taille humaine et familiale .
Au plaisir de vous revoir.
la Direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

First I need to say the service here is very nice, the staff here can all speak English. I'm Asian and I did not feel any discrimination. The pancakes here are super nice, especially the one with prawns and mussels. The icecream was nice too. A perfect place for couples. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank huitingl2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoopie77, Propriétaire at Hirondelle, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018
Google Translation

Cher HUITIG,
Merci beaucoup pour cet excellent avis. Mon anglais n'est pas parfait, mais nous accueillons toujours les clients avec plaisir.
A bientôt.
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

An small restaurant but with delicious menu... I ate an Chèvre Salad, Fromagère Galette, following by orange juice and 2 scoops of ice cream... it was a very nice experience in Fountainebleau and I highly recomend everybody to taste!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank omofato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoopie77, Propriétaire at Hirondelle, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017
Google Translation

cher odair,
Merci à vous pour ce sympathique commentaire.
Au plaisir de vous revoir.
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hirondelle also viewed

Bourron-Marlotte, Fontainebleau
Vulaines sur Seine, Fontainebleau
 
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
 
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
 

Been to Hirondelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing