We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of l'Orangerie

l'Orangerie
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Good selection but limited sandwiches so do not go too late in pm. Wonderful to eat on the grounds of the chateau de la Fontainebleau. Indoors and outdoors available.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbd313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangerie C, Directeur général at l'Orangerie, responded to this review, June 8, 2016
Hello,

Many many thanks for having taken time to share your opinion on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that the welcome, the service, and the card pleased you. We are also delighted to know that you appreciated our dishes, we shall not miss to congratulate our Boss from you!

It is with an immense pleasure that we hope to see again you in the Orangery of the Castle of Fontainebleau for a new culinary experience.

Very beautiful day,
The team of the Fontainebleau Castle’s Orangerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    9
    12
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An overpriced sandwich bar!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The menu was mostly limited to snacks, and one plat du jour. My husband had a smoked salmon baguette; I asked for a foie gras baguette (which I was sure I'd seen on the menu outside) but was told that I could only have it as a salad, and the man taking the orders was not the sort of person you argued with! When it came, the "salad" turned out to be a couple of lettuce leaves and a scrap of tomato. For these items plus two soft drinks and two small desserts we were charged 42.50 euros.

As it was a lovely day, we sat outside to look at the garden; there were no umbrellas, so we chose the patch of shade offered by the building, which was a mistake. There was a bit of a breeze and the dust from the courtyard swirling around was quite unpleasant. It was also the favoured location for teachers of school parties to address their uninterested charges. If you decide to eat here and are happy to sit in full sun, you're better off on the other side, overlooking the water.

I would definitely recommend anyone visiting the Chateau to wait until they leave before eating. The only good aspect of l'Orangerie was the very pleasant waitress who brought our food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangerie C, Directeur général at l'Orangerie, responded to this review, June 8, 2016
Madam, Gentleman,

All the team of the Fontainebleau Castle’s Orangerie concentrates every day its efforts towards a common purpose, to make of every meal an unique and memorable experience. It seems that we did not reach this goal during your visit and we regret it sincerely.

I am saddened that this moment was not as high as your expectations and remains at your disposal for any suggestions or additional comments that you would like to communicate me.

Very beautiful day,
The team of the Fontainebleau Castle’s Orangerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
400 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a horrible place. Purely a tourist trap.
The food is from average to bad, service is outrageous with very rude staff and, if you go inside, you can see that the atmosphere could definitely be improved.
A place that supposedly is a restaurant and you have to go to the counter to order cannot be taken seriously. I felt like I was in a fast food place...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank engped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangerie C, Directeur général at l'Orangerie, responded to this review, June 8, 2016
Madam, Gentleman,

All the team of the Fontainebleau Castle’s Orangerie concentrates every day its efforts towards a common purpose, to make of every meal an unique and memorable experience. It seems that we did not reach this goal during your visit and we regret it sincerely.

I am saddened that this moment was not as high as your expectations and remains at your disposal for any suggestions or additional comments that you would like to communicate me.

Very beautiful day,
The team of the Fontainebleau Castle’s Orangerie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'Orangerie also viewed

Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
Thomery, Seine-et-Marne
 
Moret-sur-Loing, Seine-et-Marne
 

Been to l'Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing