We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room overlooking Fountainebleue”
Review of Hotel Le Richelieu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Richelieu
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a nice room with a great view in this hotel. We were right across the street from both the chateau and the theater. Anything we wanted was within a close walk, including a parking garage. The room was equipped with a fan, which made it feel like home to me. The staff was helpful and friendly. The bathroom was very large with a huge soaking tub and shower. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Steph9732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 156 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Large rooms in close proximity to Château de Fontainebleau. Friendly staff. Traffic noise in the morning ensures that you don't sleep in & miss the reason for coming to Fontainebleau.

Rooms are quite basic - but we didn't come to Fontainebleau to spend a lot of time in the Hotel.



Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GlobalAirRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went to Fontainebleau for 1 night to enjoy the castle and surroundings. This is the 2nd time we've stayed at this hotel and what a pleasant surprise. The rooms have been upgraded and are very,very nice. The wonderful couple who now own the hotel are working hard to make it perfect and are very hospitable. Do try the Bacchus restaurant in the hotel, it was the best meal we had in France.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, it could be a little noisier but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speakop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been coming back to this hotel for eleven years now, and this is the only place to stay in Fontainebleau. There has been some changes in staff and management over the years but the denominator is friendliness and hospitality. They really want to have the best time. Apart from located in the best part of Fontainebleau there is also extremely easy access to parking. This has improved over the past two years. The hotel has an atmosphere of French wine yards and the narrow corridors which gives you the impressions of being in the wine cellar. The breakfast is very good and a necessity if you choose to stay. This breakfast used to be legendary for its simplicity but with high. Fresh baguette with premium ham or salami covered by a mature comtè.. it’s hard to not love that… Good coffee as well, which is very important for me. All in all… the only place to stay in Fontainebleau.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eskil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wonderful find, directly across from the Fontainebleau Palace. The host couple were welcoming, charming and quite funny. The room spacious, the bathroom as well (for a small French hotel). Parking was much easier than we'd thought, given some of the comments here. We lucked out in the late afternoon with a space on the hotel's street, which remained free of charge until 9 am the following day. After that you just put in whatever coins you need in a nearby parking machine for however long you plan to stay in the space. We stayed here on our first night in France, straight off the plane, and the hotel offered the perfect chance to decompress.

Room Tip: No elevator, so more mature couples might want a room on a lower floor to save on lugging suitcases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room was adequate, ensuite bathroom good, but bed saggy, beautiful window box flowers, big windows with verdant view. This older, small hotel is undergoing renovation right now, and I only hope they keep the beautiful walnut banistered iron winding staircase. The rooms (our old room, anyway) have a characterless veneer applied in the past that stripped all of the period charm from them, and hopefully, the renovated ones will recapture some of that. We were lucky to get this, the last room available (during the French Open Tennis Tourney), and the manager was very accommodating. We just needed one night and planned to visit the chateau the next morning and then off to Paris. The municipal underground parking (15 euros/24 hrs.) was just steps away, and the chateau was across the street. Best of all - the restaurant. We had a simply impeccable meal here. It was crowded with locals and tourists as well, and the wine service was also excellent. Hotel desk staff were waiting tables and doing the sommelier bit and being very friendly but efficient. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a 2* hotel that is perfectly located in the center of Fontainebleau. I have stayed here four times over the past ten years and the quality and service have been consistent on each of my visits. The room cost Euro 75-80 per night plus breakfast and you get what you pay for and more. My room had a view onto the Chateau and was larger than average with a large bathroom en suite.

The staff were very accommodating. Business services are limited and the wireless connection is good but is limited to one hour so you have to sign in again, but what do you expect from a 2* small hotel. If you are looking for these types of services, then you should stay at the Mercure or Ibis which are much less representative of the area and sterile. This small hotel is wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a budget to mid-range option.

PS The new management are making some much needed renovations since the former owners kind of let it go.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room looking onto the chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#4 of 12 in Fontainebleau
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 12 in Fontainebleau
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Richelieu

Address: 4 rue de Richelieu, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range: $92 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Richelieu 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Le Richelieu Fontainebleau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing