We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Find”
Review of Hotel Le Richelieu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Richelieu
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wonderful find, directly across from the Fontainebleau Palace. The host couple were welcoming, charming and quite funny. The room spacious, the bathroom as well (for a small French hotel). Parking was much easier than we'd thought, given some of the comments here. We lucked out in the late afternoon with a space on the hotel's street, which remained free of charge until 9 am the following day. After that you just put in whatever coins you need in a nearby parking machine for however long you plan to stay in the space. We stayed here on our first night in France, straight off the plane, and the hotel offered the perfect chance to decompress.

Room Tip: No elevator, so more mature couples might want a room on a lower floor to save on lugging suitcases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room was adequate, ensuite bathroom good, but bed saggy, beautiful window box flowers, big windows with verdant view. This older, small hotel is undergoing renovation right now, and I only hope they keep the beautiful walnut banistered iron winding staircase. The rooms (our old room, anyway) have a characterless veneer applied in the past that stripped all of the period charm from them, and hopefully, the renovated ones will recapture some of that. We were lucky to get this, the last room available (during the French Open Tennis Tourney), and the manager was very accommodating. We just needed one night and planned to visit the chateau the next morning and then off to Paris. The municipal underground parking (15 euros/24 hrs.) was just steps away, and the chateau was across the street. Best of all - the restaurant. We had a simply impeccable meal here. It was crowded with locals and tourists as well, and the wine service was also excellent. Hotel desk staff were waiting tables and doing the sommelier bit and being very friendly but efficient. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a 2* hotel that is perfectly located in the center of Fontainebleau. I have stayed here four times over the past ten years and the quality and service have been consistent on each of my visits. The room cost Euro 75-80 per night plus breakfast and you get what you pay for and more. My room had a view onto the Chateau and was larger than average with a large bathroom en suite.

The staff were very accommodating. Business services are limited and the wireless connection is good but is limited to one hour so you have to sign in again, but what do you expect from a 2* small hotel. If you are looking for these types of services, then you should stay at the Mercure or Ibis which are much less representative of the area and sterile. This small hotel is wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a budget to mid-range option.

PS The new management are making some much needed renovations since the former owners kind of let it go.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room looking onto the chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Small hotel in city center of Fontainbleu, near Chateux, near bar and coffe.
Very kind and simple (2star) but not low level, good price.
Very nice people at reception, friendly and smiling.
Large and simple room, clean and silent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barzaglivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Walking distance to everything you could possibly need. Adequate but clean room with a comfortable bed. Bathroon adequate and clean. Was a typical, economically priced French hotel.People warm and welcoming and as helpful as they could be with our limited French ability.
Very good, a;beit expensive, breakfast served in adjoining restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Very noisy, on a corner opposite the Fontainbleau chateau. With no a/c, it is tough to keep the windows closed, but then you suffer with the noise al night.

Worst bed I have had in many years. it should have been replaced years ago. It sagged so badly that we had to hold onto the edge to keep from rolling into one another in the center. When I mentioned it to the reception clerk at checkout, she just shrugged, like there was nothing she could do about it.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteL92833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here on route home from a course. It was in need of a great deal of work, saggy floors, worn carpets, bad tileing, saggie bed. But my room was clean and the Dinner was excellent. I looked at lots of other places to eat and I was glad I chose this one! Full of locals and good wine too.

Room Tip: I only saw my room which was on the side with a nice view, quiet street but thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
574 reviews
0 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#6 of 12 in Fontainebleau
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 12 in Fontainebleau
147 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Richelieu

Address: 4 rue de Richelieu, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range: $96 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Richelieu 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Le Richelieu Fontainebleau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing