We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel but not very welcoming for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Business hotel but not very welcoming for tourists”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is comfortable and has good parking. Tricky to find and not a very warm welcome. We had come to visit Palace at Fontainebleau but there was no information available in the hotel rooms or the lobby. Although the price was fair and the room large, there was a feeling of cost cutting - not enough hangers, had to ask for shower supplies. However, the breakfast was very good, though we had to wait 20 minutes to get some bacon and eggs which had run out by 9 am. Rather functional large ground floor with charmless bar and staff who didnt seem very interested in their jobs or the guests.

Room Tip: ask for one NOT next to noisy boiler rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    114
    86
    16
    7
See reviews for
35
88
23
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here while on business at INSEAD.

A great location for the business school, being just across the road and a short walk to the town centre.

Room was large, but it was a bit warm even in October. Bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean and had all that was needed.

Breakfast was ok.

Only down side was I left something at reception for my colleague, and they gave it to the wrong one which caused some confusion in the morning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Twizbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

danceable service, nothing of human compose, and in the amazement of such a wonderful resort was a never to be forgotten experience and will love to come as often as my resources will allow. the location is very good with the various views that enables preference.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny, my kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umeh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It was hot the first of July while we were there. The air conditioning could only keep the room at about 80degrees F. But with the help of a fan, we were able to sleep. The restaurant and food were very nice and it is the best location if you have business at INSEAD.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed hgere again, which I promised not to do following our previous stay last year. Carpets in the rooms are awfully stained and you simply hate having to put your feet on them!

We like to eat in our room, buying local cheeses, meats and fruits, as well as the local breads and pasteries. I asked at the front desk for 2 plates, 2 glasses and 2 knives and forks for our room. The woman at the front desk, who spoke perfect English, said she had to check with the manager (who was behind a screen just behind the front desk and would not come out to speak directly to us) to see if this was possible (it was the last time we stayed there) which she then did. Her answer floored me.

She said they had to wait to count the plates and knives etc in the restaurant to see if they had enough before the could let me have them! You have to know that they have a restaurant with approx 20 tables, of which only about 30% are ever occupied and offer room service. I asked her that if I ordered room service would they have to count the plates then also? and she siad she did not know!!!

The plates were eventually delivered to our room, but this was just another example of, I am happy to report rare for these days, bad "French attitude" and a general unwilligness to accomodate the customers request. Any hotel worth it's salt would say "yes sir no problem I'll take care of that" - not the Mecure!

The restaurant did again suprise me with an enjpoyable dinner on the night of our arrival, a bright spot in an otherwise uninspiring stay at the Mecure.

Stay here only if there is no where else in town available.

Room Tip: If air conditioning in summer is important to you then do not stay here. The rooms at the top of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punjabi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Large rooms for Europe, furnishing and carpet seen better days but overall a very good experience. Front desk staff very fluent in English and super nice. Excellent location, could walk to the center of town and the chateau.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broth69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed here three years ago and it was fine - not brilliant - but a good, comfortable stopover with a passable restaurant. Stayed here in January in family rooms 402/404. The beds were far too small, the mattresses seemed to be made of filling from disused sunbeds from 15 years ago and the bed linen seemed to be the worst mix of nylon and polyester. To top it all, all the rooms we looked over (5 in all) had this awful light yellow staining all over the carpets. We took some photos which I will post later but there are far better and more reasonably priced hotels in Fontainbleu so don't waste your money on this one. A shame because it lets down the Acord brand. Very disappointing and very over priced at £140 odd per room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fontainebleau hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontainebleau
0.5 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
698 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
144 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Royal Fontainebleau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Royal Fontainebleau

Property: Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Address: 41 rue Royale, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Royal Fontainebleau 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 75 km from Paris, the Mercure Royal Fontainebleau offers the charm and refinement of an exclusive hotel, ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. 97 fully equipped rooms with bathroom, satellite TV, direct dial telephone and PC connection. The hotel also offers WiFi internet access. The restaurant is open from Sunday evening to Friday lunchtime. Opening hours in the evenings are 6.30 p.m. to 10.30 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Royal Fontainebleau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing