We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Fontainebleau”
Review of Aigle Noir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aigle Noir Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife's job takes her to INSEAD/CEDEP several times a year, and I joined her for a short vacation last November after one of her trips. We only stayed one night at the Aigle Noir but left wishing our visit could have been longer. The staff was courteous, efficient, and spoke enough English that charades weren't necessary; the room was spacious, comfortable and clean; and the breakfast buffet is wonderful. The building is magnificently old, although the amenities were generally up to date. We got a package that included a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room and rose petals spread across the bed--quite welcome after a 12-hour journey.

We spent most of our vacation in Paris, but when I visit again in June, we'll spend more time in Fontainebleau--it's a delightful contrast to the city. Unfortunately, the Aigle Noir is fully booked during our travel dates. Tant pis! I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 736 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived here late at night on our way to the St Vincent wine festival in Auxerrois.The welcome was warm and helpful. Room service was available but we were given several local options if we wanted something more substantial.
Despite the outside temperature of minus ten our room was warm and we enjoyed our best nights sleep for some time.
Yes breakfast is expensive but there are many alternatives around the hotel offering good value.The market is also well worth a visit.
We would certainly return to the Hotel and the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjfaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked and paid for this hotel which made it better value for money. Sadly, as with another reviewer, we were also given room keys to a room that was already occupied. Very embarrassing so I would suggest that any valuables be placed in the room safe. We were so worried about this happening to us that we put the do not disturb sign on the door and left the TV on when we went out. There must be something seriously wrong for this to have happened again.
The room we were eventually given was a nice size, the bathroom was huge with a shower but the bed was very hard so we did not sleep very well.
The hotel staff were not forthcoming with any information to assist us and the staff at check in were not very approachable and did not give us any information at all.
Breakfast was only average, the coffee ran out, as did the milk so it was only adequate.
Sadly for a four star hotel, this was lacking on many fronts!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Came here early January 2013 and late December 2011. This hotel is in the most perfect location - extremely close to the chateux and on the main road but away from the noise.

The staff (except cleaners) are extremely helpful and check in and check out are quick and easy. The rooms are beautiful - clean, comfy and spacious. Although some of the wallpaper can be a bit overbaring haha! Breakfast is nice too, but on the expensive side, €18, considering there is no meat, hot food etc.

The only issue we had here was that we had a double bed (two singles made in to one) which we were very happy with - then on the second day we walked into our room as the maids were making it up and they had made our bed in to two singles (2 separate doonas, sets of sheets etc) and pulled a part without asking, and we hadn't requested this. Therefore we asked the maids to change it back and we got a load of abuse and shaken fists at us... so we went down to reception and complained and got it changed back.

Would absolutely recommend coming here :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemimah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent there one night and it is enough to say that it doesn't worth its 4 stars rating.
Very good location in the city centre
Professional staff
Good breakfast but too expensive( 18euro)
The real problem are the rooms or at least mine. It was old. Not classic. the bathroom clean but ancient.
A sofa was almost broken. The frigo bar empty. And no slippers were provided.
Brief: this hotel is a 3 stars one. Not 4.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valentinabarletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The suite was charming with a view of the carosel in front of the hotel. We found the underground car park and easily found a space. I soaked in the large bathtub in the beautiful bathroom that had a flatscreen TV. We ate at the Napoleon Hotel restaurant that was less than block away that had the best food and service we had in France. Chateau Fountainbleau was right across the street and plenty of bars, bistros and shopping close by. Staying here made me feel like an empress!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Besttogoforit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a small hiccup on check in where we were given keys to a room, only to open the door and walk in on another family. However, the hotel staff were very apologetic and handled it very promptly and efficiently. The room we stayed in (room 222) was fantastic for a family with two kids, basically adjoining rooms which was perfect for us. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was very impressive. The staff gave us great recommendations for dinner also. Parking a minor hassle, but nothing too bad. We parked in an open car lot about 100m away, but there was underground parking across the street.

Room Tip: Our room, 222, was booked as a standard double with breakfast for 126 euro which was great value com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Bourron
Chateau de Bourron
#1 of 1 in Bourron-Marlotte
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#5 of 12 in Fontainebleau
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aigle Noir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aigle Noir Hotel

Address: 27 Place Napoleon Bonaparte, 77300, Fontainebleau, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range: $141 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aigle Noir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former private mansion dating from the 18th century, this majestic hotel is 100 metres from the grounds of Fontainebleau Palace. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water.The guest rooms are spacious and decorated in Empire style with luxury fabrics and antique wooden furniture. Flat-screen TV and a DVD player are provided in each room and Aigle Noir offers free access to a selection of DVDs.A generous buffet breakfast is available daily in the light-filled breakfast room. Aigle Noir Hotel also has a delicatessen with a range of local, gourmet products for sale.Guests can relax in the large lounge, next to the fireplace with a newspaper or magazine. A wide selection of self-service drinks are also available.Aigle Noir Hotel is 2.6 Km from Fontainebleu Avon Train Station. It is 60 km south of Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Aigle Noir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aigle Noir Fontainebleau
Hotel Aigle Noir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing