We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belle Fontainebleau
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have categorised this hotel as poor overall. That may be slightly harsh, although I don't think it is good enough to be 'average'. We were staying for one night only in Fontainebleau and we chose this hotel because it was cheap, so at the end of the day we must recognise that you get what you pay for. We were bemused to find a boy of about 12 operating the night reception as described in other reviews. Our rooms were on the third and fourth floors and needless to say there is no lift, so you need to be fit. The rooms were small but the bathrooms were recently refurbished. Everything seemed mostly clean except the blankets which showed some stains. It was curious that no pillow slips were provided so I pulled the bottom sheet up and installed the pillows underneath, which worked, although I have never stayed in a hotel without pillow slips before. In one of our rooms we discovered a pair of abandoned men's underpants. It must be said that the heating was very good - in the case of my room this was just as well as the cheap UPVC windows could not be closed properly. This made the problem of the noise outside in the street worse than it needed it to be but be warned - unless you are a very heavy sleeper and fall unconscious easily, you will need earplugs. There are several bars in the vicinity where the local youth gets drunk and very loud until about 2am, and then the traffic on the main street starts up at about 6. Nevertheless I did manage a few hours sleep and did not find the bed uncomfortable as others have remarked. However the double beds are rather cramped for two unless you are used to sleeping in very close proximity to each other! We did not have the breakfast which is charged extra but it seemed adequate - we got to see it because it is served in the reception area so you can't avoid walking through. In conclusion, if you need a cheap place to stay for one or two nights, you might consider it.....but it is certainly not a place to spend a week's holiday. The advertised free wifi appeared not to work at all, either in the rooms or in the reception area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    16
    19
    39
See reviews for
15
28
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Welcome by teenage boy, not helpful at all, only speak French, no English. Below average hotel, terrible experience. Small room, don't believe what you see from outside. Not recommend at all. No free parking and the boy in front desk didn't know anything, played his game all the time annoying anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fontainebleau hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cambridge, MA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Trust me - you don't want to stay here. Don't do it. Travelers taking their business elsewhere might be exactly what this place needs to get its act together. Just a few specifics to let you know how gross this place is. The rooms are supposedly non-smoking but when we returned one night we got a strong whiff of smoke, suggesting that someone who had been in our room either smoked in there or reeked of smoke. The hotel is around the corner from at least a couple of bars that stayed active until about 2 a.m. even on a Wednesday night, so you can pretty much forget about a restful night's sleep. One of the women working the reception has two sons probably about 12 and 10, and one night she had one of her sons working at the check-in desk while the other scrubbed the staircase! I kid you not. It was honestly kind of creepy to see that going down. The hotel has flat-screen TVs but they're no bigger than 22 inches and are hung high on the walls, so it feels like you're watching TV on a computer monitor from across the room. The floors are hardwood but appeared not to have been scrubbed thoroughly in some time. I know I keep complaining, and I hate to do that, but I'm telling you - you've got to lower your standards. I would call it the Hôtel Sale Fontainebleau if it were up to me. Sure, you'll pay a little bit more for the hotels around the corner from this one, but there are a few times in life when it's worth it to splurge a little bit, and if you're swinging through Fontainebleau, it's probably worth it

Room Tip: From what I heard from fellow travelers, there is no such thing as a "good" room at this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumkeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very very basic .... not at all comfortable and a bit grubby... service was ok not great but not bad. The location is great but overall is a poor hotel with very rudimentary establishment.In terms of value for money it's ok but beware because their is no parking at the hotel and parking generally in the town is difficult

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonoughDrumkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent two nights in Hotel Belle Fontainebleau. While the location is great, right in the heart of the city, you pay too much for what you get.

The rooms are only semi-clean and beds uncomfortable. While breakfast is ok, the entire restaurant and reception area is quite unclean, which makes is somehow disgusting to eat there.

When we arrived, we were welcomed by a grumpy teenager at the reception (a boy not older than 14 who seems to help out his mother at nights) who couldn't have been any less friendly, kid was almost scary. Poor boy, really, but as a paying guest, you might expect a friendlier welcome. The lady who works there during the day is very charming and helpful, though.

In a nutshell, don't got there if you have a choice for a similar price, it's simply not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieIsabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The personnel and situation of this hotel is great, yet the room i got was a true disaster..' fluorescent tiring lightbulb, no bedside lamp, there's a phone yet not working, the bathroom is not clean at all and the room does not at all match the room on their website, it's a pity because i think with just a very little effort of decoration and certainly light, this hotel could be nice. I'd recommend definitely to go to etap hotel when it comes to price quality ( well, the renovated ones, i mean). I ordered breakfast but am definitely going to annul it, have a good night's sleep and try not to mind the noise outside.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincheter
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I can recommend the hotel but don't order the extra breakfast buffet (€8.50). This was the worse breakfast I have had ever! No forkes, no tea or coffee. The sauasage was cold. The space between the table ridiculous. The room was pretty large but I doubt very much the floor had been vacuum-cleaned for about a week or so. The bathroom was perfect. Clean and nice. The bed was nice. No telephone to the reception. Wi-Fi signal so weak you had to sit in the reception to use it. Despite all. You get what you pay for, but I think you get rather lot for $58 compared to what you get in London and Paris for the same money. In both cities you get toilet in the corridor and a shower cabin and basin in the room. Btw, better talk clear French with the Taiwanese girls in the reception. The don't do English.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bossep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Fontainebleau Avon
0.2 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Fontainebleau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Fontainebleau

Property: Hotel Belle Fontainebleau
Address: 1 rue de la Chancellerie, 77300, Fontainebleau, France (Formerly Hotel La Chancellerie)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belle Fontainebleau 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belle Fontainebleau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing