We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay way too much for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belle Fontainebleau
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You pay way too much for what you get”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent two nights in Hotel Belle Fontainebleau. While the location is great, right in the heart of the city, you pay too much for what you get.

The rooms are only semi-clean and beds uncomfortable. While breakfast is ok, the entire restaurant and reception area is quite unclean, which makes is somehow disgusting to eat there.

When we arrived, we were welcomed by a grumpy teenager at the reception (a boy not older than 14 who seems to help out his mother at nights) who couldn't have been any less friendly, kid was almost scary. Poor boy, really, but as a paying guest, you might expect a friendlier welcome. The lady who works there during the day is very charming and helpful, though.

In a nutshell, don't got there if you have a choice for a similar price, it's simply not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieIsabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    15
    17
    37
See reviews for
14
25
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontainebleau, France
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The personnel and situation of this hotel is great, yet the room i got was a true disaster..' fluorescent tiring lightbulb, no bedside lamp, there's a phone yet not working, the bathroom is not clean at all and the room does not at all match the room on their website, it's a pity because i think with just a very little effort of decoration and certainly light, this hotel could be nice. I'd recommend definitely to go to etap hotel when it comes to price quality ( well, the renovated ones, i mean). I ordered breakfast but am definitely going to annul it, have a good night's sleep and try not to mind the noise outside.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fontainebleau hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wincheter
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I can recommend the hotel but don't order the extra breakfast buffet (€8.50). This was the worse breakfast I have had ever! No forkes, no tea or coffee. The sauasage was cold. The space between the table ridiculous. The room was pretty large but I doubt very much the floor had been vacuum-cleaned for about a week or so. The bathroom was perfect. Clean and nice. The bed was nice. No telephone to the reception. Wi-Fi signal so weak you had to sit in the reception to use it. Despite all. You get what you pay for, but I think you get rather lot for $58 compared to what you get in London and Paris for the same money. In both cities you get toilet in the corridor and a shower cabin and basin in the room. Btw, better talk clear French with the Taiwanese girls in the reception. The don't do English.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bossep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The hotel was cheap, I needed a place to stay during the Tour de France and everything else was booked.

I knew what I was getting into so I can't complain. The room was small but clean, bed was just ok. Power sockets was a problem, I needed one for the table fan but the only way to use it was to unplug the TV. Beware of the very loud garbage truck every morning around 6am, you can't close the window in the summer because there's no AC but you wake up very early if you don't...

Location is great, it's right next to the Chateau but otherwise it's just a bleh hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fontainebleau hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#3 of 12 in Fontainebleau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Fontainebleau Avon
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Richelieu
Hotel Le Richelieu
#6 of 12 in Fontainebleau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belle Fontainebleau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Fontainebleau

Property: Hotel Belle Fontainebleau
Address: 1 rue de la Chancellerie, 77300, Fontainebleau, France (Formerly Hotel La Chancellerie)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belle Fontainebleau 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Belle Fontainebleau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing