We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and agreeable spot for a short stay”
Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Nord
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Besancon
UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quirky and agreeable spot for a short stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Myself, partner and baby stayed here for one night while driving back to the UK from Switzerland. It was a somewhat quirky if thoroughly enjoyable experience! One of the major plus points was the excellent welcome and assistance from the desk staff, and the overall helpfulness of all the staff - we were travelling with a pile of baby-related equipment, but they made all this as easy as possible. The hotel is in the heart of the beautiful old town of Besancon, which we absolutely loved. But it is tricky to navigate to by car, and the car then has to be driven a few blocks away to the hotel's secured parking (with a member of the hotel staff in the car directing you!). The room was not massive and was a bit spartan, it was also all a bit faded and tattered. But it was very clean, and quite in line with the hotel's two star rating. Bathroom is a bit of a journey back to the 1950s, but for us this added to the interest of the hotel. (It is perhaps true that the hotel's website conveys an impression of modernity that is slightly misleading ....) Breakfast was absolutely predictable - juice, croissant, bread and jam, with tea/coffee - but fine. Even with the cost of secured parking, breakfast and the cot, our stay came in at 87 euro which was a total bargain. Taking into account the beauty of Besancon on your doorstep, this was a brilliant overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LardB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    45
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
35
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

This hotel was great - large spacious rooms and very clean bathrooms. I don't know why the other reviewers said the room was drab and gray because I saw most rooms on floor 2 and they were all large with big windows which let in light. The staff was friendly and the hotel is situated in an unbeatable location. I love Besancon and so it was nice to be in a pleasant hotel.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiguillon, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Our first hotel stay in Besancon, Hotel du Nord was run by an older woman who kept us waiting for a bit of time before we got to our rooms. Once we got there, however, we were pleased with the cleanliness and size. (see photos). The view wasn't much (our room looked out on Rue Moncey and what you saw right in front of you were the apartment buildings directly across the hotel). The area itself was perfect- right in the middle of Centre Ville (very convenient) and on a cobblestone road! Rue Moncey is sandwiched in between the two major roads that run parallel to one another, Grande Rue and Rue des Granges. The breakfast was good, and the concierge let us keep our suitcases in a back room after check-out while we were waiting for our next destination. I would recommend this hotel to any size group.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadeleineB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Located in the heart of the Old Town, Hotel Du Nord is a small, old hotel, with shockingly bleak rooms (white walls, cheap grey carpet, old table and chairs, etc.). The room looked like they haven't finished decorating it yet. At first, I thought I'd been scammed by their elegant website. The website looks NOTHING like the hotel. And the "courtyard view" is a roof and parked car. There is no courtyard.

After 3 nights, we loved Besancon, and being right in the center of town made up for the room. The staff were quite helpful. Breakfast cost 7 euro, and consisted of coffee, orange juice and a plate of bread and croissants. No cheese, fruit or meat. Don't bother with breakfast unless you want to eat in bed. There is a small shop around the corner (turn right from the hotel, then left). You can buy a feast for less than the cost of the hotel breakfast.

I would not stay there again. There are other options in this lovely, little city.

  • Liked — Location in old town.
  • Disliked — Drab room, long walk to the train station.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zander341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

A pleasant stay in a very central hotel. The elevator was a big plus for us. We could park to unload and were then given a location nearby where we could leave the car. Close to really good shopping. The hotel was quite old but clean and reasonable and breakfast was also reasonable by French standards.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Having stayed in this friendly hotel four times, I was surprised it was not listed in Tripadvisor. It is centrally located on a small street right off the Grand Rue, a block from the Place du 8 September.

The hotel is old fashioned, with more character and charm than the nearby, less expensive Hotel Regina (an excellent budget choice - but often full). Rooms range form about 45-65 euros, and are very comforable, with good bathrooms.

Rooms facing the small, quiet rue Moncey can still be a bit noisy because sound echos. I always get a room facing the back.

The hotel is right in the center, within easy walking distance of everything in this beautiful city. However, you might want to take the free bus up to the Citadel ( a steep climb).

The staff are extemely helpful and friendly, and make you want to come back.

As a regular visitor to Besancon, I have stayed at a number of hotels, and feel this is a good pick. Less expensive and friendlier than the larger Hotel de Paris, a bit more expensive than the Regina, but with greater character and charm than either.

  • Liked — Location, character, price, availability, friendliness
  • Disliked — Rooms facing street can be a little noisy
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Besancon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#2 of 34 in Besancon
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Citadell Besancon
0.2 mi away
Ibis Besancon Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Besancon La City
Ibis Besancon La City
#10 of 34 in Besancon
527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La City
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Sauvage
Hotel Le Sauvage
#1 of 34 in Besancon
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Property: Hotel du Nord
Address: 8 rue Moncey, 25000, Besancon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Doubs > Besancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Besancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Nord 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing