We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a detour !”

La Citadelle de Besancon
Ranked #1 of 90 things to do in Besancon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
lunde i telemark
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth a detour !”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Resistance museum was very educational, but requires knowledge of French ( or to some extent German ) in order to appreciate it. The combination of history and natural science was nice. It takes a whole day to digest everything !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ragnarotterstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    587
    110
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been to Carcasonne so this la citadel was a poor second. I was pleased that the zoo was not as bad as others have made out. But is sub standard compared to Taronga Park Zoo in Sydney. Be warned travellers to Bescancon the road works are shocking! They ruin what could be a lovely city. I do not understand why they don't do one small job at a time and finish it before starting another job. There are currently 7 road deviations and major constructions around the city. I would advise not to travel there until road works are completed! Which does not look like any time soon

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sydneyComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Amazing museums especially details of german occupation

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice way to spend some time.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The view is amazing and I echo the sentiment of others when I say that I enjoyed the animals in the Zoo but was saddened at it at the same time. The Noctarium is a complete waste of time unless you have never seen a mouse or rat before. Some of the exhibits are a bit half-assed but the Citadelle is still worth the walk (we took the bus up and down; Ligne 17) and the view.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rthomas34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Great views of the city. Wonderful museums about the area and world war II and a zoo for kids. Vauban's fortifications are very impressive. Audio guides in several languages available. nice restaurant and cafe as well.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Citadelle de Besancon also viewed

 

Been to La Citadelle de Besancon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing