We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Besancon La City
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Besancon
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

One of the best Ibis hotels in France in our opinion. The hotel is recently built. Our room was a good size (probably above-average for Ibis), perfectly clean and maintained, with a modern bathroom. Staff very friendly. Free internet. On-site parking under the hotel. Historic downdown Besançon is less than 5 minutes walk away. The city itself has a lot to offer for tourists, with a beautiful citadel on a hill overlooking the city, a cathedral with an astronomic clock, beautiful parks, a zoo and a very moving resistance/holocaust museum in the citadel, the birthplace of Victor Hugo with a museum and a beautifully preserved 18th century pharmacy, and lots of historic buildings. Besançon is definitely worth a visit for a couple of days and we recommend the Ibis La City as the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    278
    99
    19
    8
See reviews for
77
205
52
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Modern Ibis Hotel. It have a good middle Class Standard. There was a friendly Employee at eception and fast CheckIn. We spend 2 nights there and can say, that it is a clean and clam Place. The Location in Besancon was good, due lost of Shops and Restaurants have been there not far away. Nice decorated Breakfast Buffet. Choices of hot Beverages have been good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolyMarDOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We like this Ibis Hotel in Besancon. There was a real and friendly Guestservice. We enjoyed our short Trip there and also our Friends, who have been there too, did say, that it is a good Ibis Hotel. Standard Room was cosy and all was clean. Bathroom fully good. There was Breakfast buffet with good things and a tasty Choice of hot Beverages too. very modern area there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldensunbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villars-sur-Ollon, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We relocated to this hotel after originally booking at the Adagio which is next door (avoid the adagio - no Internet, dirty rooms, v basic facilities and more expensive). The rooms were compact but good use of space, the shower area was huge, the rooms clean and best of all the beds were really comfortable. At €65 per night this is good value for money. If you book ahead room prices can go down to €40 at the weekend. The staff were friendly and helpful, all in all a relief after the adagio!

Room Tip: Room 219 seemed to be large from the floor plan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Besancon hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Citadelle
BEST WESTERN Citadelle
#4 of 34 in Besancon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Hauts du Chazal
0.6 mi away
Ibis Besancon Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Besancon Centre Gare
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Besancon
Ibis Styles Besancon
#5 of 34 in Besancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Besancon La City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Besancon La City

Property: Ibis Besancon La City
Address: 1 avenue Louise Michel, 25000, Besancon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Doubs > Besancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Besancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Besancon La City 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Doubs River within the business complex known as La City, 5 minutes walk from the centre of town and its museums and 15 minutes from the Citadelle. The Ibis Besancon La City offers 119 airconditioned rooms including 4 with facilities for guests with limited mobility. Boasting modern architecture, the hotel features La Taverne de Maitre Kanter restaurant specialising in seafood platters, secure underground parking with direct access to the 24 hour hotel reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Besancon La City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Besançon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing