We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Besancon Parc Micaud
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Besancon
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very average!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent 3 nights here on a leisure visit to the town, with my wife. A regular Accor user but very disappointed with this particular Mercure. Well positioned, and even with the extensive roadworks currently in Besancon, easy to find. First impressions are good with a modern and airy reception area. The welcome was professional rather than warm.
We were directed to our room on the 8th floor. Immediately we exited the lift, the heat hit us, along with an odour similar to stale smoke - in fact I had to double check to ensure that we were not on the smoking floor. When we entered our room it was similarly unpleasantly warm so I turned the aircon up to full. After approx 30mins it had made very little, if any, difference and I returned to reception which, along with the lift(!) was pleasantly cooled. The receptionist said that because of the weather (which WAS warm) the whole hotel was hot and there was nothing she could do other than offer another room to try and see if it was cooler. We moved to the next door room which WAS slightly less warm but even with the aircon on full was less than comfortable. I have read a review from May 2012 which expressed a similar problem. We had travelled to Besancon from Italy where the weather was even warmer however the aircon in both hotels we had stayed in there had coped admirably.
Room decor and furnishing were tired although cleanliness was satisfactory
Food was acceptable, I have had worse breakfast's but I have had better.
The acid test of a hotel stay is: would I return? Unfortunately the answer for Mercure Besancon is - "no"! Some investment in refurbishment and aircon is urgently needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morpethian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    154
    110
    54
    14
See reviews for
32
145
30
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I’ve stayed here just a few nights ago exploring the city. Granted, I was with 16 other Taiwanese people in an architecture tourist group, so certain amount of uncomfortable glances and rudeness was expected anywhere we go as we weren’t accustomed to their culture and ethics. At this point, if you still haven’t get where I’m trying to get to in this delicate matter, then I will blatantly say that we are RACIALLY DISCRIMINATED. Personally, I’ve travelled well enough all over the globe (and to some, studied) to recognize racism when I see one. First off, I think one or two people in my group decided to change rooms after the rooms didn’t meet their standards (general speaking, hygienic matter). The concierge reacted rude as they rolled her eyes and spoke god knows what in French. Secondly, when my friends and I went down to the lobby bar for a drink that night, we had to wait 45 mins until the bartender actually showed any interest in taking our orders. After taking the orders with a unbelievable attitude, as me and my friends were playing cards, the concierge earlier and the waiter argued in French, clearly about us (but not directly). They specifically were arguing with each other and pointing at us and shouting “les Chinois”, in which, even if they didn’t, anybody could’ve tell by the body language they were displaying. Waiter later had no interest in taking our money, overall, it was just despicable. What came after was the worst. In the morning we were yelled and pointed into another private room even though the dining room only had a family eating there. At this point, I thought to myself that it was understandable since we have such a big group. HOWEVER, WHILE WE WERE EATING, WE DISCOVERED THAT THE HAM IN THE BREAKFAST BUFFET WAS ROTTEN. THEY HAD MOLD AND DISCOLORATION, ON PURPOSE OR NOT, THIS HAS CROSSED THE LINE AND WHEN ONE OF OUR MORE FLUENT FRENCH SPEAKER CONFRONTED THEM, THEY SHRUGGED AND SAID, WHAT ELSE DO YOU EXPECT. Even though, the manager did come after waiting for another half an hour, she showed no remorse and spoke in a condescending tone. Now, I think in all perspective, I would have been less angry if the 4 starred Mercure didn’t advocate their great professional service and their international known fame. It was disheartening and disappointing. I will not recommend ANYONE to visit because it left a bitter taste in my first impression of France.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Besancon hotels

Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The town (Besancon) is in the middle of tremendous reworking so it was very difficult to find and get to the hotel. There was no indication of this on the hotel website, and negotiating the traffic and the roadworks was incredibly frustrating. A short note on the website warning us would at least have meant we were prepared. The hotel itself is very tired and in need of refurbishment. The level is closer to 2 or 3 star occupation, not 4+ star aimed at business travellers. The same to be noted of breakfast. Again this was pitched at a high level, with much being made of the organic selection, which frankly was minimal. A great location with tremendous potential, all sadly very unfulfilled and unfulfilling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JRT143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1220-gm, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Besancon Parc Micaud, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Sir customer
We thank for having taken time to answer and already make every effort to remedy your remarks
very cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was expecting a lot more from a hotel I though I got a good deal on. This was perhaps the most disappointing hotel during our whole holiday mainly because I was expecting much better. It was also one of the few places where I had to pay upfront to get the "special rate" (and didn't include breakfast).. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everything in neighbouring rooms. I felt like I was in a backpackers hotel. Also the echo in the toilet made me feel like I was in an isolation cell. I feel sorry for the people who pay full price for this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1220-gm, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Besancon Parc Micaud, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Sir customer
We thank for having taken time to leave a comment.
To obtain the preferential rate, as in all the hotels Mercury, there are terms of sale, of which that to pay in advance.
Very Cordialy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Overall: While my recent stay at Mercure Lyon Lumiere was surprisingly good, I cannot say the same for the Mercure Besancon. This is rated at 4 star, so will be rated accordingly. Firstly, let me say that when reviewing a hotel, if it is meant to be 2 star and delivers 2 star, then I give it 4/5. If it is exceptional, it gets 5. Jus subpar 3 and 2 if I would never want to stay there again. This place gets 2.

Rooms: The bed is comfortable enough, there is a TV with a poorly working remote that crashes the "computer" attached to the system on every button press. The TV reception is unwatchable due to the poor reception. The smell of the hall in the non smoking section (my room was 711) is of cheap air freshened to hide "other" smells and is...pungently strong. The room has a small desk and minibar. There is no safe in the room. There is free wifi throughout the hotel and this is fast and good. The lights are poorly lit in the room. The room itself was clean enough although there were crumbs etc on the floor. Not a huge problem, but I found them while trying to do push-ups (yes, I know...who does push ups).
The bathroom is outdated, but this isn't a problem on its own. The one thing I hate are cramped shower spaces. This has a bath/shower combination but with a showerhead located so far away from the bath that you need to lean into towards it to get any water. It is then unavoidable to be wrapped up in the shower curtain while you shower (Feels really unclean), and the gap between the end of the shower curtain and the wall it big enough for you to cover the floor with water despite having the curtain fully drawn (The shower was obviously an addition much later). The actual bathroom is clean enough, towels are clean, and amenities are the same as other Mercure locations.

Restaurant: The saving grace is breakfast. Whilst not a 4 star breakfast, it does satisfy for business purposes. There are cold meats, cheese and croissants. Coffee aplenty and an egg cooker. The hot food is well worth missing as the pancakes were stale and hard, and the powdered eggs looked, well, pretty bad. You do get good service from the restaurant. Food at dinner was subpar. I ordered smoked salmon for entree which was absolutely inedible. The salmon had hard edges from being stale, and the taste was very close to the smell of urinal balls (This, is not an exaggeration as I can usually eat anything). I did not finish this. Main course was a suggestion from the waiter, and was Le Lapin (Rabbit). It was delicious.
Keep in mind that there is no room service (Except breakfast) and that the restaurant is not open late. If you get in late (like me), you may have to settle for eating the lollies at the bottom of your bag. I managed to get the bar tender to make me a Croque Monsieur and salad, which was good as I was about to eat my own arm, but not worth it if you have time to go outside.

Service: The service here is variable. Nathan, at the front desk was very good, and helped me several times. He was a stand out part of the hotel. For a business style hotel, not having a business centre is ridiculous. There is no printing facilities - I had to ad hoc send them an email with an attachment to get it printed out. It was not easy.

Location: The location is good. It is right next to the river, and you need to only cross the river to get to the heart of the city - about a 7 minute walk. There are loads of restaurants there. The river is great for a running track. You are only 1.2km from Besancon Viotte - the TER train station in Besancon. Now 2 tips that will make your life easy:

1. If you are catching the TGV from any location, make sure you either have a ticket that gets you to Besancon VIOTTE, or be prepared to either catch a taxi from Besancon FRANCHE COMTE (Where the TGV stops) or buy another ticket from FRANCHE COMTE to VIOTTE. They are about 15km away from each other and cost me $30 euros.

2. Walking from the train station (VIOTTE) to the hotel is close. 1.2km is usually easy. BUT DO NOT DO IT - Besancon is currently going under major road redevelopment meaning that there are minimal sidewalks, and no roads to roll your bags on. Fine if you’re travelling light (ie backpack only) but not good when you have your 20kg bag, a carry on, and your briefcase. I made this mistake, and basically ended up with very sore biceps by the end of the walk. Just catch a cab for a few Euros.

(Recent stays - B2 Boutique Hotel, Zurich; Town Hall Hotel, London; Holiday Inn, London; Mauro Mansions, Amsterdam; Novotel, Annecy; Hotel De Paris, Lyon; Les Loge Des Advocats, Lyon; Mercure Lumiere, Lyon)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cwliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthcawl
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

An overnight winter visit when the hotel was very quiet. We were the only residents in the Restaurant for Dinner and also later at the bar. The Receptionist was very helpful on arrival and the room up to the Mercure standard. Difficult to assess the Dinner but was disappointed probably because of the lack of atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mervyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1220-gm, Directeur général at Mercure Besancon Parc Micaud, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre avis concernant votre séjour dans notre hôtel. Mon équipe et moi-même sommes très sensibles à vos appréciations, elles nous encouragent à maintenir nos efforts afin de répondre au mieus à vos attentes.

Sincères salutations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Besancon hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#3 of 34 in Besancon
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Citadell Besancon
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Sauvage
Hotel Le Sauvage
#1 of 34 in Besancon
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Besancon Centre Ville
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Besancon
Ibis Styles Besancon
#5 of 34 in Besancon
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Besancon La City
Ibis Besancon La City
#10 of 34 in Besancon
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Besancon Parc Micaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Besancon Parc Micaud

Property: Mercure Besancon Parc Micaud
Address: 3 avenue Edouard Droz, 25000, Besancon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Doubs > Besancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Besancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Besancon Parc Micaud 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre in the casino garden on the Doubs river and opposite the Micaud park. Bar, restaurant (local cuisine), meeting rooms and free carpark. Minibar, hair-dryer, bathroom, satellite TV and direct phone dial. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Besancon Parc Micaud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Besançon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing