We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thai à la française” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School

Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School
Ranked #46 of 350 Restaurants in Besancon
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thai à la française”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Sure, there is no comparison with a Thai restaurant in Thailand, but this place is a safe bet if you are on a budget and want to avoid the supermarket taste of most French places.

Refreshing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gattopistoiese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUM_BESANCON, Propriétaire at Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear gattopist... thanks for your nice comment and very happy that we were able to refresh you during the month of August ;-)
Come back to see us very soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    151
    59
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolute rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Nice space, clean restaurant etc. but the food was absolutely rubbish. Dull as dishwater. No taste, no spice, NOTHING like Thai cuisine, the rice dish I had was more like Uncle Bens.
I was disappointed at myself for giving it a try; (I do love France) but I have never visited a decent Asian restaurant yet in France - people in France don't like spicy food! So I should have known better.
Sorry Pum Thai Restaurant, but very disappointing and bland food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HoyleJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUM_BESANCON, Propriétaire at Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear HoyleJon,
thank you for your comment and for appreciating the atmosphere of the restaurant. Sad though that you haven't liked our food. As you can read on our website and our menus, we don't use any artificial flavour enhancers nor MSG in our recipes, unlike most of the Asian restaurants, be it in Europe or in Asia. This is why the taste of our food is less 'obvious' and more subtle. Regarding spiciness, Our recipes are done to Pum's taste who, despite being Thai, doesn't like to eat spicy. Most of our customers are happy with this degree of spice, however, since all our dishes are cooked fresh to order, you can ask our staff to adjust to your level, they will be vey happy to do it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Great food served with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Best green curry I've ever had! :-D Servive was really friendly, but at times it was a bit slow, however we just had to catch the attention of the servers to get service. The decor is unpretentious and comfortable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WolfBergenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting cocktail ..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had 3 curries - none were spicy all had good flavour. The Tom Yum Vodka - that was spicy :)
Satay starter was very good also.
So tasty and not expensive - - just don;t expect Thai chilli strength.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank womullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unpretentious but tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great cheap meal with a touch of spice. Sadly, given the French aversion to chilli, and despite a request for some heat, it was a bit bland. But good fresh veg, optional topping of meat or fish, exotic sauce and excellent service at very modest prices.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NiceMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School also viewed

Besancon, Doubs
 
Besancon, Doubs
 
Besancon, Doubs
 

Been to Pum Thai Restaurant & Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing