We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stop-over”
Review of Le Detour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Detour
Ranked #4 of 11 Besancon B&B and Inns
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stop-over”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We loved this place, it was so rural and laid back. We arrived on a hot Sunday afternoon and there was nobody about...I mean no -one, but a quick phone call to the owner brought about a swift return from his swim! (sorry 'bout that).

After a cool lager or two, we went for a stroll around the village which is typically French and has an auberge which we did not try unfortunately as it looked fabulous.

Thanks again for having us in your lovely hotel, I only wished we had had longer, but we were on our way to Lake Garda.

This hotel would be ideal for a honeymoon or romantic holiday.
Check out the long haired mule/donkey next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylandog504106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
edmonton,alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Total relaxation in small, charming, welcoming inn located in a tiny village in immaculate, scenic Franche-Comte. The welcoming owners host wonderful traditional dinners twice weekly in their adjoining house in atmospheric cave-like dining room. Stress forgotten. Enjoy the local Arbois wines (very distinctive) and amazing Franche Comte cheese. Lovely grounds and area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skaistalelde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stopped at Le Detour for one night on our way from Lyon to Besancon. It was a wonderful B&B. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable; the host friendly. Breakfast consisted of fresh croissants, bread, butter and jams. All very tasty, but lacking in any real substance and there is nowhere else in town to go.

The inn is located in a small village. There is one cafe and one restaurant. We stopped briefly at the cafe for a beer and got just that, a beer. The restaurant doesn't open until 7:30 for dinner, but it was wonderful. There are no stores (of any kind), no gas station, no bank (or ATM). All of these add to the charm of the village if you want to get away from it all, but are problematic if you need any supplies of any kind; then you have to drive to a nearby town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loving_midlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed at Le Detour during the first week of August 2008 and can honestly say it was one of the best holiday experiences we've had. The owners, Joel & Sandrine, could not have been more welcoming or helpful to us during our stay.

Le Detour is situated in the wonderfully peaceful village of Buffard in the Loue river valley - the most noise you'll get is from the church clock chiming - approximately 5km from Arc et Senans, the nearest village with a train station. Buffard has about 20 houses and one excellent Auberge offering both set menus and a la carte meals. If you're lucky, the restaurant's dog will walk you home after dinner! There is also a cafe-tabac in the village, but don't be fooled by its name. It was the weirdest place we'd ever been to and appeared to open only once during the week we were there. If you struggle, you can just about get the little old lady who serves there to understand what you want to drink, but otherwise there doesn't appear to be anything for sale. Certainly we saw no sign of confectionery, stamps, tobacco or even a list of drinks they sold.

Accommodation at Le Detour is in a wonderful old building alongside the owners' house, with double en-suite rooms both downstairs and up, plus an indoor dining room with a bar and small sitting area. Breakfast is served outside on the terrace when the weather is good, or in the dining room if it isn't. There is ample car parking and gardens with some furniture for the guests to enjoy. The rooms are of a good standard, clean and comfortable with plenty of drawers and wardrobe space for clothes to be put away. Plugs are well situated with one near the main dressing table mirror so you can see to dry your hair if you want. The windows are particularly good at cutting out any noise (not that you'd want to shut out the bird song or sound of the river). Beds are standard, on the firm side but not uncomfortable (even for someone like me who suffers on a hard mattress) with standard French square pillows and extra bed covers available if it's chilly. Bathrooms are spotless, with walk-in shower areas, decent sized basins and tiling to most areas. Water pressure in our upstairs bathroom was a little on the low side but adequate. Our friends in a downstairs room said theirs was fine.

Breakfast consisted of fresh bread and a changing pastry or brioche item daily (croissants one day, brioche another, speciality bread on a third, etc). Home-made jam and honey featured, together with fruit juice and either tea or coffee. Initial portions are on the small side by English B&B standards but the bread basket and jam pots are refilled if you require.

Joel is usually around for at least some of the day once breakfast is over and you can order coffee, tea and other drinks from him. There are alcoholic drinks to be had as well and everything is put onto your bill so you don't have to pay separately for them.

We travelled by train to Besancon and but hadn't let Joel & Sandrine know that we didn't have a car. They were genuinely upset that they weren't able to pick us up from the nearby station when we rang them for the number of a taxi firm, and insisted on driving us to and from the station on numerous occasions after that. We also found, upon arriving at the auberge on our first night, that they had reserved a table for us, knowing that the restaurant was busy that night and that we didn't have a car to get us anywhere else. Joel also spent plenty of time with us helping to plan days out and walks in the local area. He photocopied maps for us, recommended places for lunch and organised wine tasting at one of the cellars in the village. Make sure you have space in your suitcase to take some back, as it is excellent!

All in all, our holiday was great but the best part really had to be the wonderful hospitality of Joel & Sandrine. They were delightful and made us feel like friends rather than guests. We can't wait to go back there.

  • Liked — Wonderful hospitality, excellent value for money and peaceful and pretty location.
  • Disliked — Smaller breakfast than used to in UK.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahCC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Besancon
16.4 mi away
Best Western Citadell Besancon
14.3 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Hauts du Chazal
16.5 mi away
Hotel Le Sauvage
Hotel Le Sauvage
#1 of 34 in Besancon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Chateau De Germigney
Chateau De Germigney
#1 of 1 in Port-Lesney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#3 of 34 in Besancon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
17.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Besancon Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Detour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Detour

Property: Le Detour
Address: 27 rue de Besancon | Buffard, 25440, Besancon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Doubs > Besancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Besancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Detour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing