We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Residing" in Bastia”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Central
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Bastia
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“"Residing" in Bastia”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Bastia is a lovely city, and Hotel Central is perfectly situated for exploring it. It is a large, old, atmospheric apartment building with a central staircase worn down by generations of footsteps. The floors are beautifully tiled. The building houses residential units as well as rooms for tourists. Traveling off-season, we were kindly upgraded to a suite, which was more like an apartment. It had a large sitting room, a nicely equipped kitchenette, a spacious, comfortable bedroom with a small balcony overlooking the inner courtyard, and a large bathroom. The interior and exterior shutters really shut out the world, affording us some of the best sleep of our vacation. The reception staff was friendly and helpful; they made us feel very welcome. We stayed there our last two nights in Corsica and would recommend Hotel Central to anyone who wants to feel like they are residing in Bastia, not just passing through.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mmbbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    110
    42
    13
    7
See reviews for
25
113
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is very central and has a lovely old mansion feel to it. The floors are tiled and the rooms have balconies. Our room was fairly generous in size and although there is no air conditioning, the fan kept us cool even though we couldn't quite get used to the whirring noise. Breakfast and parking are not included. However there is parking all around Place Saint-Nicolas for a few euros. For breakfast, I would recommend one of the many cafes aorund the same square starting from 5 euros. A great room in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Charming hotel very centrally located. Some might not welcome the stairs -- no elevator. Wifi in the reception area, but not in our room. Friendly helpful reception. We stayed at the beginning and end of our trip, and the first time we had a bigger room with no balcony; I preferred the smaller room with a small balcony over the street. Busy street, but the french doors kept the noise out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joa1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great, calm. friendly service, clean and spacious rooms and excellent advice for anything from finding beaches, to restaurants, itinerary....
Only downside, no elevator. but then again, it's max 4 floors and it would be a pity to ruin that beautiful staircase with an elevator.

Room Tip: family suite was great. but 4th floor and no elevator :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredAckBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is easy to reach from the port or the bus station - a flat walk across Place Saint Nicolas and two blocks up the side street. The room was comfortable but not large. A small balcony overlooked the central garden and provided the only wi fi reception the room had. Some of the fittings e.g. the toilet were very retro. The drawback was the fact that it didn't have a lift. Breakfast was available at 9 euros each in a quaint breakfast room, however the cafe next door provided an ample breakfast for 5.50 euros each and opened very early. It was a short walk to the old port and also supermarket and restaurants. Wi Fi reception is free and very good in the hotel's lounge next to the reception counter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which overlooks the garden courtyard as it will be quieter. If you can't handle s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

In a good position but would not suit an infirm person. Rooms are clean and everything worked.
Furnishings and decor are rather old fashioned. I stayed in the winter but summer may be a problem as my room had no aircon, only a ceiling fan. Some rooms had aircon so check when you book. I'd happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for aircon in the summer or a room back from the street so a window can be opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickjc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The decor is fantastic at this central Bastia hotel. The room we have is a good size with a ceiling fan and aircon. They are not so friendly on reception, but fine. Breat base for exploring Bastia and the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bastia hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Corsica Hotels Bastia Centre
0.6 mi away
Hotel Port Toga
Hotel Port Toga
#2 of 22 in Bastia
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#6 of 22 in Bastia
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Voyageurs
Hotel Les Voyageurs
#8 of 22 in Bastia
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Des Gouverneurs
Hotel Des Gouverneurs
#4 of 22 in Bastia
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bonaparte Hotel
Bonaparte Hotel
#10 of 22 in Bastia
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: 3 rue Miot, 20200 Bastia, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Bastia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Bastia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1941, The Hotel Central invites you to share moments of calm and discretion within the warmfull environment of a 19th century building. Ideally located close to ports, stations theatres and historical sites. Boutique Hotel, elegance and charm, tastefully restored ans developed with all the modern facilities. Rooms, apartment and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Bastia, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing