We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but with a few remarks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pietracap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pietracap
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Bastia
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good but with a few remarks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I made a reservation for 1 night in the last week of October. We chose for a Lantana room, based on the pictures of the hotel's website. But while these photos show a really special interior design with a bathroom with natural rocks, we were brought to another room that had a small standard bathroom. As we complained about this, the receptionist started to show us several rooms, but most were not ready - and it was already 6pm, too late for housekeeping to make up the rooms. Then the truth came out: there were several Lantana rooms, but only one as shown on the website - and that one was being renovated. Anyway, wee told the receptionist they shouldn't publish that particular room on their website when they have only one such room. To get rid of our complaints, the man offered us an upgrade to a room with sea view - though it was dark already! However, it was quite a bit more spacious (the Lantana rooms were all quite small). Regarding the breakfast buffet, this turned out to be one of the best we had in Corsica since we didn't have to ask for cold cuts, cheese or eggs: they were simply on the buffet. Don't count on a nice place for dinner nearby. You have to drive into town (which is a horrible place) - or fill up with junk food in the pizzeria which is reached by a steep path along the graveyard (pitch dark at 7pm in October). Fortunately, the receptionist provided us with a torch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 20thCenturyCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    92
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
125
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were on the top floor on the end and had a great view of the pool and sea. Very quiet, nice decor and a beautiful bathroom (see photos). Friendly service and everything was spotless. There was even a decent size closet! I especially enjoyed reading on the deck which had a table and chairs. Beautiful gardens and pool area...though the pool was a little chilly (Sept.). Breakfast was a well laid out buffet and there were eggs (boil yourself) and toast available! being American I had been missing my eggs and toast for breakfast, so this was a treat. Oh, the other thing I loved was the large and very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: The best views are from the upper floor, I believe our room was number 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldreamsII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Faded early 60s charm - Eero Saarinen and Charles Eames type flourishes - with clean, updated rooms, nice balconies and lovely grounds with a big swimming pool. Breakfast is expensive at 16 Euros but you can ask for the "petit plan" continental option for 5 Euros instead. Nice, although distant, views of the ocean. Worth a couple of days if you're in Bastia or exploring lower Cap Corse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breukelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Spacious room with outstanding 70s decor. Great sea view and amazing garden. What more for a stay in the neighbourhood of Bastia?

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here in May. Everything about it was wonderful - staff, room, pool, quiet location, breakfast room, view out to the water. Would love to go back & stay a little longer.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CamSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Hotel Pietracap is definitely worth staying at if you are in Bastia. Its peaceful surroundings, amazing views and well presented rooms make it a wonderful place to rest your head. The bedroom was spacious, clean had a little balcony overlooking the gardens and ocean.

As other reviewers have noted, you'll need a car to get around if you stay here but once you get your bearings it's very easy to find.

The breakfast was wonderful- nothing missing.

The staff were great, and some spoke perfect english.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready4ah0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night. Our room was amazing. It was very modern, and it had great sea view, wished stay there longer. This hotel is 5mins drive away from city centre, the hotel has its own car park. If you don't have a car, it might be difficult to get there. We love the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suli_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bastia
3.7 mi away
Hotel Ostella
Hotel Ostella
#1 of 24 in Bastia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Port Toga
Hotel Port Toga
#2 of 24 in Bastia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Des Gouverneurs
Hotel Des Gouverneurs
#3 of 24 in Bastia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corsica Hotel Bastia Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cyrnea
Hotel Cyrnea
#1 of 1 in Pietranera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#7 of 24 in Bastia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pietracap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pietracap

Property: Hotel Pietracap
Address: 20 Route de San Martino Pietranera, 20200 Bastia, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Bastia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bastia
#4 Family Hotel in Bastia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pietracap 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Pietracap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pietracap Hotel Bastia
Hotel Pietracap Bastia, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing