We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel - Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel - Lovely Stay”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located right in downtown Ajaccio, minutes from Place Foch, shops & restaurants. Classy European look outside, yet modern decor with bold colors in the lobby. The small elevator has gigantic number buttons taking up almost entire side wall that looks like a giant phone/calculator - Playful.

**Front Desk: Polite, helpful, English speaking staff, Tourist Tax(about 2 EUR/night) at checkout
**Wi-Fi works GREAT in the room
**Guest room: Simple, clean, comfortable, mini-bar/fridge, flat screen TV, desk & chair
**Bathroom: Rain Shower/Adjustable hand-held shower combo with a tub
**Amenity: Really pleased to find a pair of Terry Robes and Slippers inside the wardrobe but bathroom amenity was pretty basic; Hair & Body Shampoo, Hand soap, Shower cap, Shoe mitt.
Could definitely use Conditioner and Body Lotion please; Coffee/Tea maker would be great too.
**Breakfast: Simple but nice buffet with fresh baked pastries/croissants/crepes, cereal, cheeses, fruits(fresh & dried), yogurt, juice/coffee/tea. The attendant was not too friendly, though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneytheturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpshotel, Directeur général at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,


Thank you for this complete and efficient comment.

We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel, we have the chance to be well located, close by all the touristic attractions.

We took note of all your remarks and we will pay attention to them.

Hope you will become a fan of our facebook page!

Kind regards

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    101
    72
    28
    15
See reviews for
33
143
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Renovated, spacious hotel about 300m from the heart of Ajaccio. Excellent breakfast, with good bread and fresh orange juice. A memorable stay. Renovated older building with original features but a little dark inside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpshotel, Directeur général at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Palazzu U Domu Hotel and we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you back soon!

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Very stylish hotel in a terrific location. Clean, classy rooms with excellent air conditioning...needed in summer. Am amazed people have complained about the dark rooms..It's an ancient beautiful old building - what do you expect? Good breakfast served in courtyard garden. Only concern was thatone night the bar opposite played VERY loud music until 2am, but other than that the place was very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpshotel, Directeur général at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback! It was such a pleasure to welcome you to Palazzu U Domu Hotel and we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience with us.

The nightlife in the area is very lively indeed sometimes depending on the period, especially on weekends. It is also one of the reasons our customers choose our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you back soon!

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location. However, for a 4* hotel the service proved really bad. No room service (it took more than 1 hour to get a bottle of water). We got charged for a 40 min late check out (check out deadline 11.00am).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpshotel, General Manager at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for your comment.

I'm really sorry you had unconvenience with the staff, and they will have reprimands. It is not the way they should welcome clients.

I would like to find an excuse but they should have been nicer.

I apologize about what happened.

I would like to change your mind, come another time, and you will enjoy your stay, I will do my best for that.

Best regards

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ajaccio hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is in the most beautiful location - nestled in its own private bay with a beautiful little beach away from the busier public beaches. But the welcome is more notable - the friendliest hotel we stayed in in Corsica, more like staying with a welcoming family than in a hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpshotel, General Manager at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Mattew,

Thank you so much for your positive review, it is always pleasant for us to read positive reviews.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we all hope you will come back soon.

Kind regards

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated in the heart of Ajaccio and our room overlooked the beautiful marina so we could watch the boats come in and out of the harbour. Our room had everything we needed; a comfortable king sized bed, TV, plenty of storage space, a large bathroom with a his and hers basin, a shower over the bath and separate WC. We also had a varanda which had a lounger as well as matching chair and a table.

On an evening we could hear music and singing from local bars (which was good and not rawdy).

No meals were included within our booking, but we did take breakfast in a quaint court yard which had plenty of pastries, cheese and thickly sliced ham, amongst other delicacies at 16 Euros per head per day. This was in comparison with the sea front restaurants that served bread and pastries with fresh orange juice and coffee for only 7 euros. We preferred the hotel.

There was no swimming pool or sunbathing area, and there was no car park but we were able to find space along the nearby roadside.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view and balcony as there are only three in the hotel which overlook the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfy1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpshotel, General Manager at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Client,


Thank you for your positive feedback!

You are totally right we only have few rooms with a balcony and a view, so it is better to book in advance.

I'm happy you enjoyed your room and all the amenities, we try to do our best.

During summer time, many festivities occurs in bars, and restaurants, I'm glad you were not bothered by the noise!

Thank you also to notice the breakfast, all our products are fresh and we want to give the best quality.

We would be happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Palaz\zu U Domu was the perfect place to stay. At reception we were told we had been upgraded. Our room was terrific - spacious, spotlessly clean, air-conditioned and a bed to die for - extremely comfortable (think it was Emperor size). We had our own little veranda looking down onto local life and we drank in the atmosphere immediately. The bathroom was excellent - 2 sinks and a massive bath/shower. The separate loo made us laugh - it was pretty small and we are pretty big! Breakfast was simple and delicious - I've rarely had such wonderful cafe au lait. The staff were a delight and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Room 211 is excellent. The bed is huuuuuuge and the room has a little veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyMorrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzu20, Propriétaire at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Client,

Thank you so much for your positive review, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to keep in touch through our facebook page.

Thank you again!
Regards
Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajaccio hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
0.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
599 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#4 of 28 in Ajaccio
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlu Citadelle
2.1 mi away
Campo Dell'Oro
Campo Dell'Oro
#16 of 28 in Ajaccio
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzu U Domu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzu U Domu

Property: Hotel Palazzu U Domu
Address: 17 rue Bonaparte, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzu U Domu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzu U Domu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzu u Domu Ajaccio
Hotel Palazzu U Domu Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing