We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent location”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hotel's building used to belong to Duke pozzo di Borgo's ancestor and thus its façade is quite imposing. Once inside, the foyer is quite small and looks rather cold. Our room looked cool and elegant, the bathroom was functional and everything looked fine. However, when my husband spilt some water on the bathroom floor and wiped it with a towel, the white towel turned almost black. The friendliness of the staff varied.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ane_integral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    101
    72
    28
    15
See reviews for
33
143
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is located one block from the center of town and the harbor. The perfect starting point for any day's activities. It's also close to Napolean's house which was a big hit with many if our compatriots.

Parking may be a problem. This corner hotel doesn't have any real parking lot, although if you are on a motorcycle or in a *small* car, they may let you park in the underground garage if you ask them nicely. The garage itself is very small so I doubt they'd be willing to try and put more than a couple of cars in there if at all.

We spent two nights here and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The hotel is in what appears to be an historical building, so don't expect floor to ceiling windows and rooms awash in light. It is a little more like the classic hotels you'd find in large cities, left-over from a bygone era and redecorated to suit modern expectations.

The common rooms are spacious and not brightly lit, more like what you'd expect in a classic old restaurant rather than the typical modern hotel awash in bright light. Overall the the decor throughout the hotel gives it a somewhat modern, metro feel since it is done in darker colors. It is a bit dark for my taste, but to each his own. Every hotel needs to create an atmosphere and they have succeeded in creating a very modern air that doesn't feel copied from lesser hotel web-sites. Big thumbs up for going out on a limb and creating a unique feel.

If you want to escape the style, just walk into the courtyard for a drink. It's a bright, beautiful, unexpected haven! Completely outside, spacious, and generously shaded by umbrellas, its a fabulous spot for an apres sightseeing tipple. Table service was sometimes spotty when there were only a few customers so we had to walk into the bar to order.

Our room was on the top floor and appeared to be newly decorated. While the rooms have limited window space for light to come through, the room itself was quite spacious. Our room was a little on the dark side owing not only to the building architecture but also to the color scheme which is in line with the common areas. It's certainly not bright by modern standards, but neither is it offensive. The bathroom was spacious and bright. They even provided washcloths, a rarity in hotels outside the US.

All the rooms are opened via an electronic key which was a little fiddly. Usually took us two tries to get the lock to open. While this is slightly annoying, it really didn't detract from an otherwise pleasant stay. Fortunately for us, it worked reliably the whole time we were there. One of our fellow travelers had a lot more trouble with his, similar to the issues mentioned in other reviews, getting locked out of the room for several hours while waiting for a service tech to arrive.

The lock situation is something they definitely do need to address since it is obviously not an isolated event. The little electronic keys are an interesting idea, but I'm afraid they may not be ready for prime time. My take is that it's probably the manufacturer's problem that they system doesn't work reliably, but that doesn't absolve the hotel from replacing all of them with a more standard/reliable system as quickly as possible.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel, opting to wander to the harbor for lunch and dinner. All of the restaurants we ate in had great food at reasonable prices. Outside seating is a must so that you can enjoy the fresh breeze and salt air.

We found the staff to be gracious and helpful on every front. Solid 4-star hotel in the heart of the city. I'd definitely come back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank minkmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzudomu, Responsable réception at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you to have taken the tim to write a review. It is very important for us to have feedback from our customers, it helps us to improve our services.

It is true that our hotel is ideally located, you can easily do verything by walk. You can even go to the city beach.

I totally agree with you, our parking is very small and we only have 4 places, which is not enough, we would prefer advise you to go to the public parking.

About the room decoration, you are not the 01st one to note the darkness, we plan to put some colors in the rooms to change it.

We also plan to find another solution about lockers, as you wrote some people had troubles, and we will modify the system as soon as we can. Hopefully, you didn't have any problem.

Thank you also to note the good service from the staff, we try to do our best.

We thank you for your positive review,and we hope to see you again in Ajaccio!

Kind regards

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

First of all our fridge didn't work and our room was so dark (during daylight hours) that it was impossible to read anything or see anything in the room. A new fridge was sent up but was placed on the floor at the end of the bed where we could trip over it. When we insisted the fridge be replaced inside the cupboard, the porter dropped the old one on the polished black floor, scraping the tiles. As we did not want to be charged for any damage to the room we asked the Receptionist to come up and have a look and take a note. We pointed out the dimness of the room and our inability to see or read and he offered to change our room the next night. We said that we would rather move immediately before unpacking and were shown to a much better room with 2 windows and french doors opening to a terrace. The next afternoon we returned to our room to get our vehicle keys, some more cash and something warmer to wear only to find we could not unlock the door! It was an electronic lock system and after 3 trips to Reception, the Receptionist finally came up himself to have a look. We ended up being locked out of our room for over 2 hours! We were offered a drink in the bar having originally been told by the owner it would take 5 minutes to fix. Our plans for a sightseeing trip were destroyed and we lost the last 2 hours of daylight. We were unable to go anywhere or do anything as our money and keys were locked in the room along with warmer clothing. At one stage the Receptionist told us he would give us another room for the night and we could retrieve our belongings in the morning - he wasn't joking. Finally the technician was located and the electronic lock was drilled out and replaced by a normal key lock. We noticed that the two rooms opposite had also had their locks replaced by key locks and the technician indicated to us that the electronic locks were useless. The only person interested in offering any kind of compensation was the night Receptionist who tried to speak to the owner on our behalf (she hung up on him!) and then offered us complimentary breakfast on his own behalf. We did not take up this offer because we did not believe that the owner would not try to charge us the EUR19 per person for a croissant and a coffee. When we checked out and asked for some form of refund to compensate having been locked out of our room and denied access to our belongings, the Receptionist shrugged her shoulders and said there was nothing she could do, she wasn't authorised to give any compensation. We had seen the owner hiding in the back office and asked for her to come out as she did have the authority. We were told that the owner only spoke French and that was the reason she did not come out immediately but after telling the Receptionist she could translate, the owner did not require any assistance in understanding us. The owner said she had offered us a drink in the bar (we had a coffee and a hot chocolate only so did not abuse the offer) and we indicated that this was hardly a fitting compensation for the inconvenience caused and over 2 hours lost. She also shrugged her shoulders, was totally uninterested, said it wasn't her fault and became ruder and more arrogant when we pointed out that she did know there was a problem with the system as other rooms had had their locks changed. She then waved her hand toward the door pointing for us to leave and said "Allez!" ("Get Out!) and motioned for the Receptionist to cease any dealing with us. We were not even given a receipt which we subsequently had to request by email to confirm that we had been charged the correct amount had not been debited more than the two nights accommodation booked (we had been informed that the accommodation had been charged to our credit card prior to our arrival - she had our money and had no intention of refunding any of it). We feel this is a disgraceful way to treat paying guests and completely unsatisfactory for a 4 star establishment. We would not recommend this hotel and judging by some of the other reviews we are not alone!

Room Tip: Bring a candle and a box of matches because the rooms and in fact the entire hotel is very, very dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SJDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzudomu, Responsable réception at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for your post.

I wasn't surprised you wrote something because it is true that you had many troubles with your stay.

Rooms are dark, because of the style of decoration, but we plan to do something about it.

Fridge didin't work, it is pretty rare to have such problem, and I think we made the best when we offered you to change rooms.

The big problem was the locker. I really understand how you were upset. However, I disagree about the way you describe the situation.

We really tried to do our best to fix it, but it was longer than we thought.

The manager doesn't speak english, that's true but all other people do and believe me we tried our best. When you read other comments, the service doesn't seem as bad you wrote it.

I am conscient that we have efforts to make but the communication between you and us was impossible...

I regret such experience because we really try to serve our customers the best we can.

I apologize for the unconvenience, and I hope your next experience in a 4 stars hotel in France will satisfy you better.

Regards

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ajaccio hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
hanoi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We got a very interesting price from an online booking sites and we stayed at the Palazzu U Domu for 3 nights. Really enjoyed our 3 nights here, we felt relaxing till the end of the trip. Staff were friendly and very helpful telling us where to eat and visit. We found the interior design of the room tasteful, the room itself was spacious, very clean and comfortable with nice amenities.

Nothing to say about its location. It was excellent, near everthing ( the centre, the beach).

We hope to come back again!!! Highly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone.
ngoc xinh ^_^: day

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bani_218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzudomu, Responsable réception at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear customer,

Thank you for writing such a nice review.

I'm sure that it will e very helpful for our future customers.

We are glad that our service met your expectations and you had an excellent stay.

We do hope to see you soon.

We would like to keep in touch with you via our Facebook fan page

Thank you again for recommending us.

Best regards,

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

certanly not a place for a relaxing vaccantion. placed in the center of a beautiful noisy city . can't sleep with windows open. inward rooms face to a cafe and restaurant, innapropriate for one who goes to sleep at 23 . black is a questionable dominant color. grotesque price for breakfast 19 euros for a drink, youghourt and a viennoise ( croissant) . we paid 3 nights , but left after the first , for an enchanting modest place by the sea in the middle of a heavenly smelling garden , 10 km away, La Parata motel , excellent service and atmosphere. the sound of the sea comes insude by a huge door opening to 25 sqm terrace

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzudomu, Responsable réception at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. In fact, a critical feedback is necessary for us in the sense of improving our service.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay with us.

We feel sad that our room didn't met your expectations. We will work on it as soon as possible.
We do hope that you will give us another chance, this time, we guaranty we will give you special services.

Thank you again for writing this review.

Best regards,

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I have to say that in all this week we had been often upset. First of all one good thing the location is really good. Just in the center of ajaccio. But the hotel interior is very dark, hotel rooms very basic and not 4 star but 3 star. the service is bad. no people at the bar or reception many times. no numbers on phone to call the reception or out the room. fridge is room temperature. cleaning lady was not working good. garage is nearly always full and we had to look for almost 30 minutes for parking places. and i scrached the car in the narrow streets of the garage. The peak was that they charged us 94 euros for a cheese&ham vegetables plate for brunch. we didn´t asked the price before because there was no menu list. so we got the shock and had a big argue.
in all very dissapointing the hotel, overprized and were leaving with anger. thats not holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzudomu, Manager at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay with us. We feel sad to hear that the room didn’t meet your expectations and our staff didn’t serve you well.

We have the chance to have a very nice situation in Ajaccio as you wrote, and we agree that some points should be ameliorated.

Rooms are dark, it is a style of decoration, but we plan to add some colors in the rooms. However, I disagree with you about the ranking, rooms are very large, with nice amenities, it is a 4 stars and not a three stars, I guess you haven't visited 3 star hotels in Ajaccio.

The bar is not always open, but you can ask the reception for a drink at any time. There is always somebody at the front desk, if not they leave their desk few minutes and that's set.

No numbers or information in your room, it is true, we are making a new room directory.

Rooms too cold, and bad service from the maid, I will check that with the housekeeper and I will work on it as soon as possible.

We only have 5 places in the parking area, we wish to have a larger parking but it is not the case, there is anyway a parking in the center of Ajaccio, (diamant public parking)

There is a menu list for lunch, however, I will ask the waiter to be careful and to announce the rates.

All in one, Thank you for taking time to write this critical review which is very helpful to us to improve our service.

We would be happy if you give us another chance, we promise to avoid mistakes in a future. I guarantee when you stay with us again, you will get special service from us. I look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,

Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Hotel with character ideally situated in the centre of Ajaccio, near the Port, the market, restaurants and shops. We had a large, clean room, tastefully decorated, overlooking a courtyard, so it was quiet despite the central situation. Comfortable beds and good quality bed linen and bathroom towels. Very nice breakfast. Personnel pleasant and efficient. Could find no fault, though parking space could be a problem. We would return to this Hotel with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms over courtyard probably quieter than those on street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palazzudomu, Manager at Hotel Palazzu U Domu, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review.

Good location is our strength. But we understand that it’s not enough, the most important thing is good service.

We are glad that our service met your expectations and you had an excellent stay.

We do hope to see you soon.

We would like to keep in touch with you via our Facebook fan page

Thank you again for recommending us.

Best regards,
Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ajaccio hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
0.3 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
599 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#4 of 28 in Ajaccio
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlu Citadelle
2.1 mi away
Campo Dell'Oro
Campo Dell'Oro
#16 of 28 in Ajaccio
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzu U Domu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzu U Domu

Property: Hotel Palazzu U Domu
Address: 17 rue Bonaparte, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzu U Domu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzu U Domu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzu u Domu Ajaccio
Hotel Palazzu U Domu Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing