We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base to stay in Ajaccio”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Les Mouettes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Mouettes
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent base to stay in Ajaccio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

All the previous positive feedback is quite accurate. Friendly efficient establishment prepared to give a very personal service, for example an out of hours breakfast when we were catching an early morning ferry. Make sure you have a room overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    116
    29
    13
    3
See reviews for
67
335
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

The first week in room number 15 my mother and I were satisfied with the hotel in general, but when we moved to room 25 ( for reasons of booking), we felt no longer be in the same hotel and certainly not a 4 stars : First we lost the morning waiting for our new room is available and will be able to access the safe : the only solution has found the hostess was to leave a certain amount of ' cash on the principal's office .
The toilets were very doubtful, he even had hair in the tub : we brought the hostess .
The wardrobe , very small , did not hang clothes too long: the boot and réfrégérateur take much more space and we could not close the door because the lock was broken.
The TV channels were not in that order for us to do or spend all channels reviewed to find one .
The rooms overlooking the garden does not doivet be quite expensive to qualify for the air freshener .
For a room A160 euros per night without breakfast I think it is very exaggerated and even rash.
I forgot to note that the room was not soundproof over the noise of cars as a garden because we were very close to the road .

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nico119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

What a stunning place! Movie star feeling. A lovely hotel that was built in the late 1800s. Almost all of the 28 rooms have a seaview. There is also a private, sandy beach, a pool, lunch/ early dinner restaurant and free Internett access in the lobby. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They even booked a rental car for us. Refrigerator at the rooms, in case you want to make your own breakfast. The city center of Ajaccio is within walking distance, but you will need approximately 20 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uma78Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Everything is perfect except for one thing the beds are too short for tall people who are > 1.90 mtr. Rooms are small ( 25 m2).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancsashire England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed in the cheapest room with a sea view which was good to be able to experience the position of the hotel on the edge of the islands capital but in a world of its own. The best continental breakfast ever on the fabulous terrace overlooking the sea. The marmalade was amazing. People who complain about paying 14 euros for a masterpiece of a breakfast need thier head testing. Eating out in Ajaccio was expensive and the standard of food not that high. Highly recommended for 2 nights on your way up or down the stunningly beautiful island of Corsica

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The location within walking distance and over looking the sea made it the perfect spot, We enjoyed the peaceful, quiet atmosphere and wich that we had spent more time there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at Les Mouettes, having spent the previous week in Nice. The calm and serenity of this hotel was a real welcome contrast to the crowds and bustle of the Cote D'Azur.

The hotel is situated out of the centre of town and, as we hadn't hired a car, a taxi from the airport was our only way of getting to the hotel. The ride took 15 minutes and cost 25 Euros.

On arrival at Les Mouettes we were immediately transformed from tired irritable travellers to relaxed and chilled out guests. The soothing atmosphere of the hotel is apparent from the minute you step through the front doors.

For the first 4 nights we stayed in a 'Charm' room (16) . This room was spacious with a large bathroom, small balcony and a stunning view over the Golfe d'Ajaccio.
On our last night we were 'upgraded' to a Superior room- on the ground floor with a large terrace. Personnally we preferred the slightly smaller, but more private charm room.

The small, private beach is simply fantastic, with excellent snorkling potential in clear water. The hotel also has a small pool with a pleasant terrace area with ample sun loungers.

We did eat breakfast at the hotel, and although it was expensive (12 euros pp) with fairly limited choice, the food was fresh and the early morning views from the outdoor terrace were stunning.

The hotel does not offer evening meals and we felt that this was one of the disaapointments of les Mouettes. Ajaccio centre was a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel where we found numerous good restaurants.
The small bar closes at 10pm and there is no concierge between 10pm and 8am.

That said the staff were, without fail, polite, discrete and friendly. The free internet access was also a nice touch as was the fresh lillies in the reception areas.

It was an expensive stay, and all the 'extras' that the hotel provide do come at a cost.

All in all we had a very relaxing stay at this charming retreat on the outskirts of Ajaccio.

  • Liked — the beach and peace and quiet
  • Disliked — cost of breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajaccio
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa
42.8 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
51.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santa Maria
BEST WESTERN Santa Maria
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Mouettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Mouettes

Property: Hotel Les Mouettes
Address: 9 cours Lucien Bonaparte, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 Green Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 Family Hotel in Ajaccio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ajaccio
#4 Business Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Mouettes 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Corsica's famous Route des Iles Sanguinaires, in the heart of the splendid Ajaccio Bay, the Hotel**** Les Mouettes is an enchanting 19th century seafront residence. The liveliness of the nearby city centre is left behind, making way for peace and serenity. The small white sand beach, the heated saltwater pool and the Jacuzzi are real havens of tranquillity. Its pine and palm-lined terrace offers an unrivalled panorama of the Mediterranean Sea and the shores of the Ajaccio Bay. All of our rooms and suites are individually decorated and are cosily comfortable. At our Spa, you will enjoy expert beauty and relaxing treatments. Here, service is attentive, smiling and sincerely personalised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Mouettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Mouettes Hotel
Les Mouettes Ajaccio
Hotel Les Mouettes Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing