We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveler rating
153
100
40
28
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
153
100
40
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star hotel sea terrace sanguinaires town euro bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 336 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2018

The food was awful and exorbitantly priced for what it was. The service was worse than inattentive. I was served wine (warm white wine) after my starter and bread after my main course, only after having asked several times. I can't speak for the hotel, but I would avoid the restaurant at all costs.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDolceVita, Responsable commercial at Hotel Restaurant Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2019

Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you indeed for sharing your experience at the Dolce Vita HOTEL!
All comments are taken into account even if we are a little bit late in answering.
After reading your feedback, we regret to note that your experience at the restaurant was not as excepted.
Please notify that the hotel has undertaken to completely rethink its restaurant.We would be happy to welcome you again and let you discover it for yourself.

Juliana, commercial department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2018 via mobile

Came here for a weekend break and really didn’t want to leave. The hotel is charming with an old school twist. The room was extremely comfortable and newly renovated with a beautiful view over the bay. The restaurant was really wonderful. The staff were very attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was creative and delicious. We ate on the terrace with the waves lapping below us! Magical! There is a pool area and beach area where you can swim in the sea. Moggi the hotel dog runs the show and was a welcoming touch. Outside of the town this is an extremely peaceful location and perfect for a relaxing break. But if you want to get into town the no 5 bus goes from right outside the hotel. It was 1 euro a journey and takes about 20 minutes to get into the centre of town. Even at night the bus runs and was very punctual and efficient. No worries about drinking or parking ! Fab! Would highly recommend and can’t wait to come back !

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank SarahF714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-lise A, Directeur général at Hotel Restaurant Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Hello ,

We thank you for your comment, and we will be glad to see you again

Best regards

The Dolce Vita Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018 via mobile

This is supposedly a 4 star hotel. Well the service is very inferior.

I won’t catalogue all the issues.

WiFi not working, ostensibly an external matter, but they had no idea when the ISP would show up to repair, made worse because it was a weekend followed by a public holiday. Let me just say that this was the start of the slippery slope.

We were staying for 2 nights and were somewhat surprised that they only gave two very small bottles of water on the first day.

Shower cap only became available on request at reception. No tourism information of any real significance was available and this hotel is only a few kms from Ajaccio.

Just too much of a disappointment and it spoilt the time there.They did give a minor cash refund, with the accent on the word minor.

NOT TO BE RECOMMENDED

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-lise A, Directeur général at Hotel Restaurant Dolce Vita, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous sommes réellement désolés que votre séjour ne se soit pas déroulé , comme vous le souhaitiez ...

C'est vraiment dommage qu'il est été gâché par un bonnet de douche en option et un nouveau système Wifi plus performant que nous sommes en train de mettre en place .


Nous espérons que vos prochaines vacances ne seront pas gâchées par le mauvais temps .

Bonne journée

L'équipe du Dolce Vita

Anne-Lise Armani


Hello,

We are really sorry that your stay did not happen, as you wished ...

It's a pity that it was ruined by an optional shower cap and a new, more efficient Wi-Fi system that we are putting in place.


We hope your next vacation will not be spoiled by bad weather.

Have a good day

The team of Dolce Vita

Anne-Lise Armani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

Nothing could wipe the smile off my face when we walked into our 3-bedroom apartment. Oh my lord, it was one of the most decadent, beautiful and spacious holiday apartment we've stayed in my life! And the view that greeted me as I walked out of the lounge on to the open terrace was so gobsmackingly gorgeous I wanted to cry! The sea was just right there beyond the rocky terrace, you could feel the sea spray from the waves as you stood there. I told my husband that if I had a terminal disease, this is the kind of place I would like to see the end of my days, it is that beautiful. From our private terrace you had a 360degree panoramic view of the bay of Ajaccio, I could just gaze at it forever. We slept with the sound of waves in our ears, the most beautiful sleep of all. One night we had a thunderstorm, it was the most dramatic sight of my life: a display of sheet lightning for several minutes and the torrential rain flattening the sea beyond us, both terrifying and amazing to see from the safety of our bedroom window.

Our apartment was very very clean, luxuriously furnished and huge! 3 good sized bedrooms (one with ensuite) plus another room downstairs with a sofabed. We reckon you could easily fit 8 people in. The kitchen is well-set up, all brand name appliances: Bosch oven, dishwasher and fridge, Segafreddo coffeemaker, Samsung microwave. Inside the walk-in pantry is also a large Siemens washing machine. We loved making our own breakfast and having it on the terrace outside or even the rocks at the edge of the sea. I even managed to fit in a couple of yoga sessions on the terrace (we loved the artificial grass, it is so gentle on your feet).

Believe it or not, we were on a working holiday and what a place to be! We still managed to get on top of our emails through wifi (reliably strong signal for the whole of our stay, except on the last night when it got scrambled by the lightning) but hey, we opened a bottle of red instead and celebrated finding such an awesome place to stay.

Interestingly enough, this apartment proved better value for our group of 3 where in other places we'd have to pay for 2 hotel rooms. For its location, the peaceful ambience, the luxurious surrounds, expansive space and fantastic views, this apartment beats any 5 star hotel anytime!

Other positive notes (can't understand why there's so much negativity in the previous reviews):
--> Located at the far end of routes du sanguinaires, the area is peaceful and quiet, you will notice that as you are travelling away from town, the traffic is less frenetic, people seem more relaxed. Nevertheless, it is quite easy to get to the center of town even without a car. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel - Line 5 to Place de Gaulle, €1 each way.
--> I agree with the other posters that you do feel trapped with regards to dining options as there are no other restaurants around except the hotel restaurant La Mer. We ate dinner there every night and yes indeed the menu is a bit pricey and had a limited range, mains start at €23 for carbonara pasta, $32 for fish fillet and vegetables. Nevertheless, the staff are quite nice even as we often rock up without reservations each night having had our aperitifs and starters back in the apartment. It's a bit posh for our liking really, so glad they put us in a corner away from the 'dressed-up' diners... the dishes are all plated up fancily, I guess it's all about the 'fine dining' option here as the chef is pretty clever at preparing the fish dishes (I loved the 'crying tiger' which is actually a steak, and it was so juicy!).

All in all, staying here was such a treat. We really enjoyed our stay and I almost didn't want to leave! Hopefully someday we can return. I would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: I think the apartments are better value if there are more than 2 people staying. I'm sure it's great for family groups
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank geckopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

Booked 4 nights a double room superior with see view at a rate of more than 400 Eur/night breakfast included.

1st night we were assigned a room of 26 sqmt (hotel claims that it is the size of the superior ... I cannot imagine the smallest room!) that smelled like a sewer. Incredible discussion with the receptionist who supported that he didn't smell anything particular (!!!) At the end the hotel accepted to change us the room but only the morning after at 11:00, that became 12:00, than 13:00 than 14:30 - results room of the same dimension but not smelly - the previous room was immediately reassigned to another couple (unbelievable!!!!) - and half day wasted waiting the new room! Obviously no excuses from hotel side

Staff composed generally by young people completely inexperienced and with no skills or proactive. It is evident that most of the them are unprepared seasonal workers.

Breakfast (the price should be 21 Eur per person) of poor quality (everything very cheap).

Had also a dinner at the restaurant first night, few selection of dishes and food not unforgettable

Beach: not a real beach compared to the hotels around (it seemed to be more in some hotels of Sharm)

Parking in reality not existing (it is an unguarded forecourt on the main road).

Positive aspects: Good cleaning of the room, nice view and not so far from Ajaccio.

Honestly, I strongly suggest to everybody to not waste money staying in this hotel considering the price (in Corsica I stayed in better 3 stars hotels paying 120-150 Eur per night).

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank VinceTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews