We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go back”
Review of Hotel Dolce Vita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dolce Vita
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Would go back”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed there for one night. As it is away from the city centre [which we liked], not sure about public bus/walking- but if you have a car distance is not an issue. Room was very clean and had a fantastic view. Absolutely beautiful and lovely breeze on the balcony. Can fall asleep listening to the sound of waves breaking on the shore if you leave the balcony door ajar. Bathroom was interesting with a huge glass 'window/wall' to the bedroom. Bed was large and comfortable. Although room is on the smaller side.
Restaurant served very good food although the choice was not extensive. Service at dinner was fair. The restaurant ambiance and decor was old style indoors but more modern on the terrace. Some mosquitoes on terrace- so be careful.
No wi-fi in room but the lady at reception was helpful and gave us a cable for the laptop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hksince2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    83
    33
    16
    10
See reviews for
36
148
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was second hotel stay for group of 4 girlfriends on weekend trip to Ajaccio. Note that it was some distance (not walking) to the city so you need a car, but several good along the roadway. Room was clean and somewhat (but not overly) spacious. Seaview rooms have spectacular view. Hotel staff friendly and accommodating, restaurant too expensive and mostly empty while we were there except one night there was a tour group.

Room Tip: Pick seaview room, it would be the only reason to stay there. Lower floor had all tile flooring, se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 391Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We booked a superior sea view room. The room was huge with some great features, such as bathroom.

On the downside, the beds were two singles ones merged together, there is no alcohol in the minibar and free wifi is only available in the lobby with only a RJ45 cable in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtraclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Service wasn't great! Price is excessive for the value especially in the restaurant where the choice is more than limited! Hotel is ok and rooms are nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zouzou68fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Perfect location, nice spacious room. Facilities as may be expected for this price level. BUT, service was very disappointing:
1) no one available to help uw with luggage (it was a long way and with badly designed unnecessary staircases) we were asked to wait. The drinks ordered while waiting we found back on the bill.
2) diner: too large a room, with only 4 tables occupied (high season!!). Menu for wife appeared without prices. When stating that this is very old-fashioned, the (grumpy) waiter made us look foolish (and told us to look on the men's menu). By the way, food was reasonable but overpriced.
3) (the straw that broke the camel's back!!): when lying near the pool the next morning, the dog of "la patronne" defecated right next to us (on artificial grass)!! After our complaint about this, people hardly reacted, and moreover, didn't take any action to clean.
This was the point where we decided to pack our bags (originally intending to stay 4 nights).
4) the so called manager was unable to offer a solution without "la patronne" around. He offered that she would call us back, which she did not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrouge, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Spent 4 nights with wife and 3 daughters aged 6, 9 and 11.

The reservation process:
Cécilia took into account the family constraints, and offered a tailored deal, that was a perfect match to our family needs. A very large room (50 m2), with a view on the Mediterranean. The management accepted to accommodate the whole family in this very large room.

The room (Chambre Supérieure):
The view is absolutely fantastic. The room faces the sea, just about 10 meters from the shore. The room is perfectly sound proof: when the bay window is closed, the room is very quiet...
The room was a very, very good surprise (I was a couple nights earlier at the Marina Bay Sands in Singapore), and I found the Dolce Vita room superior to the MBS !

The stay:
Stéphanie offered help and advise on the restaurant places to visit in Ajaccio area. She actually compiled a whole file with the various places we discussed. Invaluable help...

Conclusion:
We will be visiting the Dolce Vita again...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mk2montrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel located outside of Ajaccio on the famous "Route des Sanguinaires" is probably one of the best location in the area. It offers gorgeous views all around. Bedrooms are large and confortable, recently redone. We appreciated the quality of food, not a very large choice but all fresh and regional products, especially for fish. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olliefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajaccio
4.3 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cala Di Sole Hotel
Cala Di Sole Hotel
#9 of 28 in Ajaccio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Stella di Mare
Hotel Stella di Mare
#8 of 28 in Ajaccio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
7.5 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolce Vita

Property: Hotel Dolce Vita
Address: route des Sanguinaires, 20000 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Dolce Vita)
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ajaccio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ajaccio
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dolce Vita 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Vita Hotel
Hotel Dolce Vita Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing