We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:15 AM - 12:15 PM, 2:15 PM - 5:15 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Nice little museum

The artworks within the Musee Fesch are never going to set the world on fire but it is a pleasant... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2018
Yorkshirecritic
,
Hornsea, United Kingdom
via mobile
Holds its own against larger galleries in Europe

The Musee Fesch houses a very large collection of paintings mainly from 17th and 18th Centuries... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2018
pttbw
,
Danbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 524 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ajaccio
from $57.70
More Info
from $46.20
More Info
from $23.10
More Info
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveler rating
167
185
119
41
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
185
119
41
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting paintings the ground floor amazing collection religious themes lovely building first floor on display three floors cruise ship art uncle cardinal painters palace chapel napoleon bishop
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 524 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018

One of the biggest art museums in Corsica, with a collection of pieces from the last 5 centuries. However the quality of the work on show was a bit disappointing. Worth a quick visit though if you are in the area.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Sunny_JLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017

What we saw was excellent with many well known artists' works. Yet the first floor was closed and I think we paid full admission. My favorite work was Bernini's Virgin and Child with Angel. We also walked the main shopping street and bought a few souvenirs ( of course) The weather was perfect as it was all cruise long, with temps in the middle 70s and sunny. Many other of the cruise passengers spent the day at the beautiful beach but we chose to sight see. We also saw the Bonaparte House where Napoleon grew up. This was not worthwhile.The highlight here was a lock of Nappy's hair under glass. ie no big deal. The city as a whole was a memorable experience.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017

We were in town for the day off our cruise ship and one of our group wanted to see this exhibit of paintings and Napoleonic items. Glad we did - yes, not major works of art, but quite representative of the period with extensive religious themes in the 3rd floor gallery. Lots of still life in the hallways, and quite a few very interesting paintings in the side galleries. Helped that we had someone in our group who was able to talk about the religious scene's being depicted.
Yes, the lighting is a bit dark, but not any more so than many other museums attempting to protect their collection.
There is also an elevator to the upper floors for those who have an aversion to stairs.
Note that there was no photography allowed.

We were pleased with the attraction, and there are a number of nice spots for lunch along Rue Cardinal Fesch.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank JDB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017

An unusual collection by Napoleon's uncle, the Cardinal Fesch. Some hallways are lined with basic still-life and kitchen scenes, then you turn to see stunning religious icons, some rare, some simply unique or unknown. A great visit for art lovers and quite honestly, Catholics. The final stop in the museum is dedicated to artifacts from the Bonaparte family and is quite interesting and unusual. The flights are stairs were not difficult for our group but would have been if my mother had joined us.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank YaleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

Rather ‘dark ‘ but impressive collection here - easily accessible and near some nice cafes ! A change from the hurly burly of Ajaccio

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank DianeOBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews