We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“airport hotel”
Review of Campo Dell'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campo Dell'Oro
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Reviewed July 19, 2013

only good if you are getting an early flight. We found the staff, most of whom are trainees - presumably to allow the hotel to pay a minimum wage, extremely unhelpful. It is not modern and was probably built in the 60s. Train track and power station at the rear. Food - poor.

Room Tip: room overlooking pool
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickZp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Campo Dell'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 336 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel Campo Dell'Oro is situated in the suburbs of Ajaccio near the N196 and the airport. The hotel is set in a pleasant ground planted with palm trees and bougainvillea. There is a swimming pool, bars and a restaurant.

It's a fairly large modern building. The hotel is functional but very bland. Impersonal. Absolutely no character.

The staff was pleasant.

The double room we had was large with a small balcony. The bed was kingsize and comfortable. The decor was bland and tired. The carpet needed to be replaced as it was badly stained.

The bathroom is very modern and very well arranged with lovely tiled walls and floor. The shower is excellent.

There is a car park which gets full fairly quickly in the evening.

The restaurant is disappointing: not cheap and nothing special. You also have to wait between courses.

In Porticcio, a village a few kilometres away, there is Le Colisee. It's a great restaurant near the beach overlooking the bay of Ajaccio. The service is efficient and friendly. The food is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Noel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We chose the hotel chiefly for its location, about one km from the airport. It is a large, modern establishment, in attractive grounds, with a good swimming pool, and also a table tennis facility for guests. We were not surprised that it was quite pricey – even to Corsica standards. The reception and dining room staff, although not exactly off-hand, were not particularly friendly or welcoming.

Our bedroom was very bright and nicely furnished, with a sea-view balcony. This, however, had no security, and it was possible to wander along from room to room with no hindrance. Indeed, one guest reported the presence of someone else’s child on their balcony. We kept our windows locked.

The bathroom was superb, with a beautiful stone floor and a huge shower, but absolutely nowhere to put the soap or shampoo except the floor. The bathroom and loo had only a wooden lattice slider, which could be embarrassing if you have some slight pretentions to modesty.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, and so eating in is inescapable. At dinner we waited nearly an hour for our meal, despite several reminders to the staff. Breakfast (10 euro extra) was also very crowded and long-winded. The breakfast buffet was poor, with no baguettes (just third-rate rolls) or fresh preserves, and with machine coffee and hot chocolate that were quite undrinkable.

The final blow came when we left. Although the airport is literally only three minutes’ drive away the local taxis charge 20 euros for the trip. This pricing is presumably not the hotel's fault, but one would have thought they could provide a minibus or come to a different arrangement with the taxi drivers.

Room Tip: Sea view balcony is nice, but keep the door locked.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 8 days ago and I must say it was a great experience. The hotel its self as far as the price was concerned was a bargain. But firstly, my bus arrived in front of the hotel I thaught oh no, what a worn out hotel, maybe I did a mistake and I thaught of that also when I enterred the lobby which gave an old impression. But then I took the key and took an old elevator and opened the room. It was amazing. Fresh, new, with all good new appliances. Very clean and with a pleasant odour. I had the balcony on the back side so there was not much to see but I did not mind that. But most of all. I had a great great(!) mattress I ever slept on in years. The breakfast next morning was good variety and it was very tasteful so I ate really too much O:-). Really nice hotel, especially if you are travellingv becouse the main road to Bonifacio is close.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Popotnik11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I am surprised to be first to comment. The clientele was a bit ecclectic: french, german, italian for what I could figure out.

On the bright side: the hotel is being renovated and the renovated rooms are nicely decorated with dark woods and bright linen ; nice bedding; I particularly liked the bathroom with large sink area, open tropical shower behind a curvy glass pane.
The renovation program is still going, rooms are done, next they will work on shared areas and a gym/spa area.
The swimming pool is rather large, well equipped with long chairs, mattresses, towels
The park is well planted and well kept.
The hotel restaurant is very good. recommended. also since it provides dining on a large terrasse near the pool.
Private parking area. ; tennis court
The view to the Golf of Ajaccio is really nice from the second floor up.
Balconies in all rooms (front side).

Darkside :
no minibar in room, no ice machine in hotel, safe not in rooms only at reception, staff a bit junior and of no help for recommandations of beaches or restaurants,
But above all : the hotel is 5 mns away from the airport, separated from the sea front by the highway to Ajaccio.
Funny enough the airport is never an issue . we almost never heard the take-offs and lendings.
The highway is another story. Continuous traffic noise ... I am told I am too sensitive, but this is not what I expected for a stay in Corsica. To be fair: the highway is not visible, trees in the park block the view (unless from higher floors), and the room windows do isolate from the noise.
How to go the beach: these is a nasty little pedestrian undergroung pathway to walk from the hotel to a beach which is not impressive.

Given the above we found the hotel overpriced.

In a nutshell: I would recommend the hotel for a 1 or 2 day stay as a stop-over for exploring the region and especially if the proximity of the airport can back up your program, but not as a place to stay all day long and go to the beach. Corsica has much better to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alstromeria33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank caro2nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank chouet33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campo2011, Responsable relations publiques at Campo Dell'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajaccio
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
3.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
567 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#3 of 28 in Ajaccio
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
2.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
#13 of 28 in Ajaccio
288 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campo Dell'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campo Dell'Oro

Address: Place de Ricanto, 20700 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range: $112 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Campo Dell'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Campo Dell'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo Dell'Oro Ajaccio, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing