We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah Yes That Feeling of Complete Contentment is Seeping In...”
Review of Maison Borghetti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corsica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Borghetti
Ranked #18 of 373 Corsica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We have a couple more nights to go before leaving the welcoming fold of Maison Borghetti after a 7 night stay. I'm already starting to feel sad about leaving Patrick and Brian!

Set in the beautiful quiet hill town of Talasani, north eastern Corsica, Maison Borghetti is simple and beautiful, welcoming and heart warming. Patrick and Brian (and of course Kika) have created a place of tranquility which feels like staying with family (family on a good day that is!). We are light sleepers but have already had to set our alarms to wake in the mornings, we seem to slump into bed and just sleep. Heaven.

The rooms - we had Chambre Vincent Lafon with a beautiful claw foot bath and separate shower, candles everywhere and an open fire in the winter - are decorated with the panache of Patrick who has thought out every corner and the eclectic antiques work together so well, a very gifted man as he does the relief / fresco paint work on the walls and ceilings as well as the cooking.

Which brings me on to the cooking....breakfasts are perfect, good coffee (or tea I'm sure), fresh breads and home made preserves, quality ham and cheeses, home made berry compote with cereal and home made yoghurt made for the best start to the day. The evening meals hosted by Patrick and Brian are again superb. We have 2 more to enjoy before our departure but so far they have been nothing short of a fabulous night. Hosting 4 nights per week in the summer months, meals are taken communally for those who choose this option (and an option I'd highly recommend). The food is great, fresh, light, local with the most sublime desserts (and lots of food - for those who want more there will never be a shortage here) all cooked by Patrick with love, care and skill. Presented family style so you can help yourselves but eaten together at a large table. A place for guests and hosts to mingle and chat. For the nights that the kitchen is closed the food at the local restaurants is good. I would particularly recommend the pizza restaurant at Moriani Plage which is an easy drive away.

The location of Maison Borghetti is awesome. You can go north, south, east - there's many options for great day trips. Beautiful beaches are within close reach. Patrick and Brian have a good set of maps and will give recommendations of where to go which have so far been spot on for us.

And value???....ummmmm lets just say it's incredible value here. The dinner evenings are 27.5E pp including aperitif, wine, food, digestive, coffee...yes you get my drift. The rooms are exceptionally priced and if you do come here I have no doubt you'll enjoy your stay. Just make sure you book early as they only have 3 rooms. Also if you have the time give yourself a treat and stay long enough to enable the state of complete relaxation to seep into your soul.

Maison Borghetti is a charmer. Thank you Patrick and Brian, we will leave with warmth our hearts and the feeling of the world being a better place because of you in it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MataiDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Maison Borghetti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 137 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

Well proportioned rooms, eclectic furnishings, huge bathroom with wonderful roll-top bath and separate shower. In short, well styled and very comfortable. The friendly and welcoming hosts were extremely knowledgeable about the island, recommending places the guide books didn't mention and provided detailed maps to get them. As the food was so good, we took advantage of every evening meal on offer!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed in Maison Borghetti for the second time already after we fell in love with the place during our first stay a little more than one year earlier. We were not disappointed! The two hosts, Patrick and Brian, are extremely good hosts, and their table d'hotes dinners are always a strong recommendation. The food is very good, the place for dinner in this old Corsican mansion is fascinating, and the conversations with other guests usually really interesting.

It is the perfect place to discover the East side of Corsica from, especially worthwhile if you like hiking. However, this is not the place to hang out all day long! (There would be only your room and the lovely but petit garden.) The hosts have excellent hints to give for insider trips in the East and North of Corsica, so we were never short things to do. You have to have a car though, you probably couldn't even get there any other way.

In other words, this is a strong recommendation if you are looking for an authentic chambre d'hotes in Corsica!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_1978_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The room was very flamboyant and somewhere between art gallery and an antique store. I am sure lots of people love it but we found it a little cluttered and rather dark.
We stayed in the Summer and it was very hot and also rather humid compared to other areas and hotels on the island.
We also found there to be a lot of mosquitos which managed to get through the fly screens and had a voracious appetite.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevs_and_Deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Talasani is a small Corsican town with this wonderful B&B. A unique opportunity to experience rural hilltop Coriscan living. This building (which is like a 4 story 16th stone building) has been so beautifully restored to look as I'm sure it did in the 16th century. The washroom facilities were very modern, the bed was comfortable and our room had a unique art deco feeling to it. We were on the ground floor and found it a bit dark, but we opened the shutters and it made a big difference. The breakfast was freshly and carefully prepared and very delicious. A real gem.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angmar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This old corsican house with an interesting history of its own has been beautifully restored and furnished by its current owners. The rooms all have generous bathrooms and antique furniture while the village itself is everthing you imagine of corsica: stunning views, fantastic walks and easy access to clear clean beaches. Highly recommend the evening meals (available 3/4 nights a week) - Patrick is an outstanding chef and he, Kika and Brian are the perfect hosts. We enjoyed three evenings packed with wine, food and very jolly company. Simply cannot praise this place highly enough. Awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrtleWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Nestled in the heart of a traditional Corse village, this enchanting retreat cannot fail to impress even the most discerning of travelers. Maison Borghetti is a renovated stone house, perched high above the quiet road, overlooking both the beautiful terraced garden at the front and the mountain vista beyond. It has quite clearly been a labour of love for the owners, Brian and Patrick, and their passion is evident in the exquisite attention to detail throughout their work. There are 3 good-sized, airy double rooms, each with its own individual style (in some cases, refreshing mixes of baroque, gothic and Moorish influences, which perhaps shouldn't work, but do). A fourth room will be ready by about 2012. All rooms have large shuttered windows, a modern en-suite bathroom, a sitting-area and a fan. The tiled floors help keep the rooms relatively cool in summer and room 1 has an open-fire to spice-up those chilly winter nights. The whole house has become a backdrop for the antiques and art-work that Brian and Patrick have carefully chosen and amassed over the years. It somehow manages to epitomize exceptional interior design, without losing its homely, rustic feel and functionality or becoming pretentious. The front-garden of the house is set-over 3 or 4 levels and is awash with magnificent flora. There are a number of different spots with table and chairs (or cushions) and candles that are ideal for some sunbathing, reading, or enjoying a drink in the evenings. Do take some insect-repellant as the wood mosquitos can be a little troublesome in the evenings if given the chance.

Brian and Patrick also have a very large (but friendly) dog called Kika, who is apparently good with children and other dogs.

The set-up is essentially bed-and-breakfast, with the possibility of enjoying some 'tables d'hotes' in the evenings. The catering (mainly the preserve of Patrick, a trained chef) is quite something else. Breakfast is a wonderful array of home-made bread (Brian's soda-bread is a 'must'), jams, marmalades and yoghurt (yes, all home-made), with cheese and ham for those so inclined. There is freshly-squeezed orange juice, coffee and an impressive assortment of teas. On days when Patrick is cooking, guests can choose to have their evening meal with them. The additional price for this is very reasonable and includes apperatifs (again, many home-brewed), a delicious three-course meal, wine, coffee and tea. Everyone sits down together at the main table and settles in the for the evening. It could well have been a little awkward to begin with, but Brian and Patrick are such skilled, generous and charming hosts that it quickly felt like a dinner party with old friends. We hadn't planned to eat there every night, but our initial experience was so intoxicating that we couldn't bear the idea of missing out the next couple of evenings! There is only one restaurant in the village (others in neighbouring villages are a short drive away), so having the option to eat at Maison Borghetti is important for those who don't necessarily wish to drink and drive. If you don't necessarily want to eat at home, there is also an extensive wine list and other beverages available to purchase at very competitive prices.

Talasani itself is very picturesque (with kittens sunning themselves on every step) and is located about 7km from the nearest beach (a twisty drive down the mountain, but manageable for even the most nervous of drivers). There are also a number of spectacular walks in the surrounding countryside, making it the perfect springboard for combining sun, sea and mountains. We were initially concerned that we might run-out of things to do, but, having spent four days in the area, there will still be plenty waiting for us when we return.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay close to bars, restaurants and night-life, this is not the place for you. If, however, you want peaceful holiday, away from the hustle-bustle of everyday life, surrounded by beautiful things, food and wine, then you'd be hard pushed to beat Maison Borghetti. Try and book early though!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabellewinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Corsica hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel San Pellegrino
Hotel San Pellegrino
#1 of 1 in Folelli
213 reviews
25.3 mi away
Hotel Castel Brando
Hotel Castel Brando
#1 of 1 in Brando
574 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Chez Walter
Hotel Chez Walter
#3 of 8 in Lucciana
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Artemisia
Boutique Hotel Artemisia
#1 of 1 in Bastelica
325 reviews
49.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
71.1 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#5 of 20 in Bonifacio
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Borghetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Borghetti

Address: Talasani Village | Talasani, 20230, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 373 B&Bs / Inns in Corsica
Price Range: $65 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful oasis in an authentic Corsican village. In Talasani, a small picturesque mountain village in La Castagniccia, only eight kilometres from a sandy beach, we offer bed and breakfast with old-fashioned charm and modern comfort. In our eighteenth century house and garden we offer you the chance to relax completely. The spacious and stylish rooms are eclectically and uniquely furnished, and face south with a view over the valley. The bathrooms (en suite) have separate WCs. The house has been carefully restored, without losing any of its original charm. Our aim is to provide an environment which our guests will want to visit for its own sake - not just a place to eat and sleep between beach visits. What do we offer? * a relaxed atmosphere, and no hurry * friendly hosts who know the island well and can show you where to find the most beautiful beaches and the most fantastic walks * an extensive breakfast * a private car park almost opposite the house * free internet access * a limited number of mountain bikes are available free of charge (reservation recommended) * flexibility with arrival and departure times * open all year * a no-smoking house (limited exceptions possible) * a collection of books and maps of the island is available * animals are welcome (please contact us first) * we speak English, French, Dutch and German. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing