We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why no response from management?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison de Rhodes
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've just been looking through the reviews of this hotel, hoping and praying that I would see some improvement. No such luck.

But what struck me most is the lack of response from the management. I have to say that that in itself shows an extraordinary arrogance and is indicative of their attitude to guests.

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It is a beautiful building and the rooms are perfectly nice but so many things could be SO MUCH BETTER.

* The prices are astronomical. 18 euros for coffee and a croissant cooked from frozen?
* The food in the 'restaurant" is very very mediocre but again a ridiculous price. Have dinner instead at L'Illustre.
* No way could this hotel be described as 4*. It is a stylish, expensive 3* boutique hotel. It's outrageous that no-one will help you with your baggage when there are two flights of uneven, steep, medieval stairs to go up.

All these points would be easy to address, but I suppose that they just don't need to. While people continue to book they clearly think they have no need to address OR EVEN ANSWER any criticism.

So why do we go back? Well, as I said the rooms are lovely. But, we have dinner and breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StAntonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a very comfortable pit-stop on the way from the south of France to Calais. The bedroom
we were in was well appointed but missing some of the things we like - a headboard for the bed, a little fridge and a shower in the bathroom. However it was very sympathetically adapted to the
traveller's needs for such an old building. The restaurant was closed as it was a Sunday so we
had to go into the town centre to find a fairly basic meal which wasn't a hardship. The breakfast
served in the hotel was excellent. We would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we got such a great room. service pre arrival was so perfect. location is very nice. we loved the town of troyes.
we did make a reservation at the restaurant. after driving for 4 hours we thought it would be the easiest. yes the restaurant is charming but the prices are steep. a vegies soup for 14 euros..should be the best but it was NOTHING to talk about. menu very limited and SUPER expensive. avoid eating here but do visit troyes and stay in that hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annetteapproved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel was perfectly adequate for a one night stay and we found Troyes to be a nice place to wander and find good restaurants. The whole town is obviously very geared up for tourists and I suppose that so far in France that was something we had managed to avoid, aiming to pass ourselves off as French at every opportunity! The building of Le Maison de Rhodes is incredible and the rooms are nice, but for the price we paid, we expected more - we had valet parking, a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean and air-con for the same price in Marseille.

If I had a reason to go back to Troyes I would be very happy staying here again but not sure I'm going to find one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpinchbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived too late treat, but the room under the eaves was large, memorable (the tall need to remember to duck), very well appointed and the bed mercifully soft after a long drive. The breakfast on the following day was excellent - in France, who wants an international business hotel melange? Freshly baked bread and pastries, and first class jams, coffee and juice. A great place to recharge the batteries; and in the church nearby, to stand where Henry V married, if that's your taste.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The building is stunning and all old features are very well reclaimed. I just think that the size of the room (too tiny), the absence of a minibar as well as very poorly working Internet don't make it a 5 star hotel.
I arrived too late to enjoy the apparently very good food

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

As expected this hotel was excellent. Very nice service, beautiful rooms, extremely clean, outstanding building. The personnel was very discrete, at some times difficult to catch.

I cannot say anything bad about it. The price you pay for it is really fair.
I read a number of people complaining about the parking situation. I parked the car for free just in front of the hotel and there was no issue.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
0.0 mi away
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
#10 of 22 in Troyes
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Troyes Centre
Mercure Troyes Centre
#3 of 22 in Troyes
582 reviews
3.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Rhodes

Address: 18 rue Linard Gonthier, 10000, Troyes, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Troyes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Troyes
#5 Family Hotel in Troyes
Price Range: $245 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Maison de Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel's Restaurant prepares its menus exclusively from localy grown bio products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison de Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Maison De Rhodes Hotel Troyes
Le Maison De Rhodes Troyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing