We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Royal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Troyes
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here for one night when passing through from Germany to Southern France. I usually stay at the Ibis Style but it has got rather expensive of late. I was extremely impressed. The hotel and my room were clean and the shower really powerful. The night time was quiet and undisturbed. My car was parked immediately across the street and there is a drop of point in front of the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. I walked across the road and into the medieval centre where I spend an enjoyable evening. Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate and the bread particularly good. What more could you want for a 86 euro room with breakfast included?

Room Tip: 308 is very quiet. (At the end of a corridor and at the back of the hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    112
    56
    14
    11
See reviews for
22
120
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Clean, well placed hotel next to the station and within walking distance of the medieval centre. Room a bit on the small side but we were lucky enough to have a balcony overlooking the street and park. The road is on the busy side but the double glazing is excellent so no traffic noise at night. The staff are pleasant but ambivalent which is ok for a place to stop over. Agree with the comment on cheap parking nearby, cost us 3.50 euros from 4pm to 11.00am.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanSwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Yes the location is good, if that's enough for you go ahead!
The service is lousy and the reception staff efficient but so unfriendly even by french standards. One example is their refusing to give us extra pillows even though we had a triple room for 4 nights with only 4 pillows for the three of us. We happen to need 2 pillows each. This was categorically refused as the "number of pillows was personally checked by receptionist after my request" and they had "no extra pillows in the whole hotel"!!!!! Not even a 1 star hotel would use such a lame excuse!
They also have one lame lift for quite a big hotel that is so slow that people avoided it unless they had heavy bags.
I disagree about the parking criticisms though, there's plenty of street parking, but our car was vandalised that first night right in front of hotel. So not a safe area so close to central train station.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourmetraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Troyes hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Good location within walking distance of the ton centre. No car park, but there is plenty of parking around the place, some of it cheap enough. Room was perfectly fine - clean if a bit on the small size. Bathroom was recently decorated but the goodness of that was somewhat undone by the lack of a shower curtain. This may just have been our room, but it wasn't ideal an I would hope wasn't standard across the hotel

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eldera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night while driving from Switzerland to the Uk. It has all the amenities of your standard hotel, Clean and comfortable rooms with world news channels and a good hot shower. It's best feature is probably the location - if you want to avoid the ultra expensive hotels in th heart of the medieval district then this would be the place to go- litterrally a 5 min walk from the medieval district with a nice big parking area opposite the hotel making it easy to find and easy to get on with your journey. It's a place to crash and relax, although you wouldn't exactly want to stay here on your honeymoon - it's definitely got a more high turnover travelodge feel about it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halfcut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife & I stayed here in May 2013. Location is excellent,close to the old town of Troyes & 50 metres from the train station.It has an excellent restaurant on site. Our room was quiet & clean.The bathroom was modern & clean.The breakfast for 11 euros was excellent.Free internet in the small lobby was handy. A few minor bad points: parking is across the street in a public area & you have to pay.When the housekeeper cleans the rooms she seems to open several units all at once & on one occasion when I returned to my unit I found other guest's rooms wide open & the housekeeper wasn't even on our floor. Fortunately nothing was missing from my room but it's a worry & we noticed a similar housekeeping practice in Italy. There were three power failures during our stay & if you were caught in the elevator it would be claustrophobic because of it's small size.But overall excellent value & I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kangarooboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hôtel is placed near the center and the old town.
The prices are reasonable and the hôtel has a great restaurant.
The only problem is the parking , if you have a car . You park in the street.
You can easily walk anywhere from the hôtel .
The hôtel has an elevator and they take dogs also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stensbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.7 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#5 of 23 in Troyes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel de la Poste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Troyes
Golden Tulip Troyes
#1 of 4 in Barberey-Saint-Sulpice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Troyes Centre
Mercure Troyes Centre
#2 of 23 in Troyes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison de Rhodes
La Maison de Rhodes
#6 of 23 in Troyes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotel

Property: Le Royal Hotel
Address: 22 boulevard Carnot, 10000, Troyes, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Troyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Troyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing