We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of La Maree - CLOSED

La Maree
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
York
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Close to Mercure/Ibis hotel complex a little way out of the town centre. Good menu, food well cooked and presented; good wine selection. Felt we had eaten well. Would recommend strongly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    73
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schilde, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent bouillabaise”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This restaurant was close to our hotel ( convenient to return ).Most clients where seated on the terras. We chose a table inside. The decoration is very nice and the table very well prepared. We were welcomed in a friendly proffesional way. When we asked for some explanation about the different dishes on the menu, the waitress was very helpfull and knew what she was talking about. We went for the "bouillabaise". We can recommend this full-size-pleasing choise.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frank_se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“A Hippopotamus for Seafood”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

An “alternative” eatery trying to be a seafood bistro in a traditional city. Away from the city centre at a new cinema complex, but close enough to reach by foot is you have comfortable shoes on a nice day. If it’s raining, it would seem far away to most. It seems to service the cine crowd and is paired with Hippopotamus and a few cafes. Looks like a high volume place. It’s a lively place and not suitable for a quiet meal. But if you want some noise and movement and people to watch, this is it.

Food – not bad, but not great. I think its popularity is because it’s different from other places in Troyes and it’s relatively new and “sparkly” blue. Several menus in the 30-40 euro price range. I went ala carte and had the 6 raw oysters which were fresh and nicely served. Followed by a “marmite du pêcheur” in the fashion of bouillabaisse. Looked like a bouillabaisse, but was predominantly shellfish (with lots of shell for show). Liquid was a bit sharp and the portion was very large. But too much showmanship and not enough flavor. The others took the menus and reported their selections as good.

Thought that service was a but inattentive, but it was Saturday night. And no no one said good-bye or thank you when we left. They had our money by then and were finished with us. Like I said – high volume place servicing the entertainment complex.

Wine started around 30 euros for a decent bottle.

Would I return? Only if there wasn’t something better somewhere else. Nothing really wrong with the place, it’s just that as Hippopotamus is for meat, this place is for seafood. Considering all the places in the city centre, I wouldn’t make a special trip to the cine complex for La Maree.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - popular with locals”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is one of several restaurants in a modern cinema and shopping plaza, 3-5 minutes walk from the medieval town centre. Adjacent to a residential district, La Maree is popular with local folk. The menu offered great choice and as we adore fish we tucked in! Wine was sensibily priced. The total cost of dinner for two, consuming four courses with wine and aperative's was Euro 100 but we did not scrimp! And yes, we will go back to La Maree when we next visit Troyes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 21stCPragmatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Last minute choice”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We arrived in Troyes quite late having been travelling from the UK all day. We were staying at the nearby Ibis and once we had parked the car didn't wish to travel further. There was a choice of eateries near to the cinema and we selected La Maree. We were not disappointed. No one in the restaurant spoke English and we proceeded by use of sign language, pointing and guesswork but were treated with great humour, kindness and expertise. The food was superb, the wine delicate and delightful and the atmosphere at all times friendly! The young lady who served us was incredibly attentive and eager to ensure that we were comfortable. Because we were late we felt uncomfortable about ordering the Rum Baba (but did)! The staff made special efforts to prepare and serve it - and we benefited from the results. A superb concoction and greatly enjoyed by both of us. I would most certainly make efforts to visit La Maree on my next visit to Troyes!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Big_Bike_Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maree also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing