We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique-style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique-style hotel”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here in March visiting the town.

Pros :

- Great location for a town visit
- Nice rooms and building
- Friendly staff
- Spacious rooms

Cons :

- Sound proofing is virtually non-existing vs street noise and neighboring rooms
- Bath room fittings need an overhaul ( in our room/suite anyway )
- WiFi signal is lower than the ambient street noise level


Notes :

This hotel has spa/fitness facilities and does a breakfast buffet. We didn't sample any, but feedback from others staying there was positive

Conclusion : we can only give hotel a good/very good note, since for the price of the rooms we did expect everything to be excellent, but some of the little things just didn't add up to a full excellent rating.

However, based on our experience you cannot really go wrong staying here

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Go3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor about your stay with us. We were pleased to read the positive points that you noticed, great location, nice and spacious rooms, friendly and attentive staff and also the negative points that you remarked, insuffisant sound-proofing, bathroom facilities needing an overhaul and weak Wifi.
You'll be pleased to know that all the wifi bornes have been changed, but don't hesitate to ring the reception when you have a problem so that we can improve the signal.
For the sound-proofing we have taken mesures to improve the isolation but as we are in the "listed and protected" part of the city we are limited in the works that are authorised on the building itself.
The bathroom is due for renovation this year.
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    228
    48
    10
    9
See reviews for
87
433
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Located in the centre of town and in the pedestrian area the hotel is well located. The hotel parking is in the nearby public parking underground with an area reserved for the hotel. Very convenient. Our room was ok, a bit tired and in need of some renovation but overall the quality is good and the staff are friendly. Breakfast was in the room next to reception, a good buffet type with a good selection available. You can also order a fresh omelette from the kitchen.
Overall a pleasant stay, great location and convenient.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Xing-jia-bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor about your stay with us. We were pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay, that you found the situation of the hotel ideal and the parking very convenient.
Each room is different and though you found you room a bit tired we do make a constant effort to renovate them and as you mentioned to make sure the quality is good.
We're glad to know that you found the staff friendly and that you enjoyed breakfast with its variety of local products and freshly cooked eggs, omelettes etc.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely night , nice ( whacky !) room , lovely glass of champagne at the bar and a sit on the massage chairs was fun , great location , convenient parking but quite hard to find although they guided us in by phone , friendly staff , would definitely stay here again , thankyou

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Walshvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor about your stay with us here in Troyes.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your "Whacky" room, that the location of the hotel was great with very convenient underground parking. Though you had some difficulty finding the entrance we're pleased to know that the staff were able to guide you by telephone straight to the entry point and don't hesitate to call us when you have a problem like that as our staff have become very competent in telephone guidance.
Its nice to know that you appreciated our local champagne "Marcel Vezien" and the massage chairs enabled you to drink and get massaged at the same time. We will pass your compliments on to Madame Vezien.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night only, en-route back from the Alps. The hotel is in a lovely location in the historic part of Troyes, surrounded by other timber-framed buildings and close to restaurants. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly at all times.

The room was very well appointed and comfortable. Parking facilities were excellent, and the reception staff helped us to locate a very good restaurant nearby. We enjoyed a stroll around the centre of Troyes in the pouring rain (!) before moving on.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor about your over night stay with us. We were pleased to read that you found the hotels location lovely, the historical part of Troyes with its timber-framed buildings and restaurants charming and very enjoyable for a stroll, even in the pouring rain. (sorry about the rain but our champagne fields do need quite a lot)
We appreciate the fact to that you found your room comfortable and well appointed and that you found our staff very friendly and that they enabled you to find a very good restaurant nearby. We don't have a restaurant so we do try and advise our clients on the various restaurants around the hotel so that they won't be disappointed.
We do look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Lovely hotel, only pity we didn't stay longer.
Had our son with us, staff were great with him. Rooms were great, a little hot during the night but still slept well.
Cant praise staff enough, really good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor about your stay with us. We were very pleased to know that you enjoyed your time in the hotel, that you found the staff very friendly and attentive,especially with your small boy.
Its a pity that you couldn't stay longer but we look forward to seeing yourself and your family again in the near future.
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

And I say this even though the decor (of our room anyway) was not to our taste - shiny red sink in bathroom etc. But the things that really matter, and where countless hotels in all brackets fail, are truly faultless, from the convenience and security of parking to the friendly and intelligent receptionist to the very comfortable room, especially bed, to a seriously good breakfast buffet attended by a charming and interesting waitress. Sounds like a fairly simple formula but this level of competence harmonised with relaxed cordiality needs consistent and close attention to detail - and a delicate touch. And I haven’t even mentioned the star attraction, Harry the dog: handsome, confident, sociable but dignified.

Incidentally, if you ask the receptionist to recommend a restaurant do take her advice. We did not and had one of the worst meals ever at the Grill St. Jean. Luckily the service – pantomime waiter and waitress complete with rolling eyes and jerky bodies, food/wine delivered to wrong tables – was so hilariously awful that it became an entertainment. Back at the hotel for a nightcap the receptionist took pity and gave us delicious cakes and biscuits to fill the gap.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for the very pleasant, detailed and comprehensive commentary that you made on tripadvisor. You made a list of the points that really matter to you when you stay in a hotel, things that can seem so obvious and yet it's so easy to get them wrong. We were delighted to read that we seem to have got a large number of these points correct i.e: convenient and secure parking, friendly, intelligent and attentive staff, a good breakfast buffet and a comfortable room, and even if the decor wasn't to your taste you still appreciated the room.
We do our best to work on the points that our guests note, both positive and negative and we were glad to read that you found that as a hotel we do pay attention to the small details and have the delicate touch wherever its possible.
We were sorry to know that your experience in one of the local brasseries was very disappointing, and when asked, we do provide our guests with information about the local restaurants, their specialites, their menus and the very important "feedback" that we have had.
We don't have a restaurant, but we do want our guests to have an enjoyable meal when they eat out, so we do our best to share our local knowledge and make their reservations for them when asked.
I'm glad the receptionist was able to give you a decent nightcap when you came back.
Last but not least, we're glad that you met our star attraction, "Harry the dog", handsome, confident and sociable indeed but not always dignified, you haven't seen his sleeping position under the front desk!
Looking forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A fantastic one night stay en route from the Alps. As other reviewers mention, extremely friendly and helpful receptionist, dog friendly (no charge) very handy parking and right in the centre of such a pretty medieval town. Plenty of bars and restaurants within a short walk. Our Queen room on the top floor was spacious, skylight windows overlooking the cathedral. Bed very comfortable, and newly refurbished bathroom, bright and spotless with shower and bath. Tea and coffee making facilities, unusual in France. Excellent breakfast in pretty dining room all served with a smile.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a commentary on tripadvisor about your overnight stay in Troyes. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the time that you spent with us, that you found the receptionist extremely friendly, the parking underneath the hotel very handy and the city itself attractive and also animal friendly. As you mentioned we don't charge any fee for our furry friends.
The hotel is situated in the centre of the medieval city centre and has the advantage of being surrounded by a large selection of restaurants, bars and creperies, all within 100 metres of the hotel entrance.
We were glad to read that you found the bedroom comfortable and the bathroom clean and well equipped. We provide tea and coffee making facilities in all our rooms as we find that its always nice to be able to have a refreshment on arrival.
We were especially pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast which you found excellent and that you found our newly refurnished dining room very pretty.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,
kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troyes hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel de la Poste
0.4 mi away
Mercure Troyes Centre
Mercure Troyes Centre
#3 of 22 in Troyes
552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#4 of 22 in Troyes
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Maison de Rhodes
La Maison de Rhodes
#8 of 22 in Troyes
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
Le Champ Des Oiseaux
#10 of 22 in Troyes
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Hotel
#11 of 22 in Troyes
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean

Property: Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean
Address: 51 rue Paillot de Montabert | 10000, 10000, Troyes, France (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Saint Jean)
Location: France > Grand Est > Aube > Troyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Troyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing