We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, service fluctuating, a bit touristy”
Review of Le Continental - CLOSED

Le Continental
Price range: $36 - $144
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre Erlon-Est
pascale1964
Level Contributor
227 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Average food, service fluctuating, a bit touristy”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Nothing great, nothing poor either. Just average food, average service, average price in a relatively nice atmosphere. Which in Reims is in itself an achievement since the city is filled with either touristy places or worse. So, for a sure value and reasonable price it is acceptable (don't expect miracle but don't fall either into a tourist trap).

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pascale1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    27
    23
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricy but good food”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is an upmarket restaurant and you do pay for the glitz. The food however is good. We had a classic French menu one of us starting with oysters and the other Foie Gras, both very good then we both had duck which was cooked with just the right amount of pinkness and a lovely honey sauce. The puddings were good but mine was spoilt half way through when a huge fly which I had been swatting away all evening decided to settle and eat some itself. I thought the waiting staff handled that very badly almost as though I had engineered the whole thing myself. Spoilt an otherwise excellent meal and we left after paying the bill without even a goodbye from them. Don't expect to walk away with a bill of less than 100 euro for two if you want some wine with your meal.

Helpful?
Thank Braithwaite422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Königswinter
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A great experience - again”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

It is a question of taste whether you like the decoration of the dining room - lots of gold, a wall of mirrors, a huge sculpture. We did like it - two years ago and again in August 2010.
No question about the food however - we tasted the menus tentation and marché, both offering excellent quality and a great time for the taste buds. Be it the trio of foie gras or the declination of crème brulée, or the crème brulée with fleur de sel, this was innovative and seriously good and well worth the money.
The service was a little pushy, since we came after 2 p.m., but not too much and generally polite and nice.
We will come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 30degreesminimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for our last dinner in France”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Set menus are good quality, reasonably priced and offer an unusual variety of options. Dining room is elegant/ interesting and service was good - not over-attentive, but there when needed.

We have used this restaurant for some years for our last evening in France, and have never been disappointed. Latest visit was July 2010

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PandJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level Contributor
192 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time.”
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Inviting from the outside by the two huge Golden Vines that dominate the dining room,when entering you are immediately transported back to an austere style of dining.
The service I and my friends had was poor,fortunately this was compensated by the food which was very good. Quiet ambience,Slightly overpriced but nevertheless I would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Continental also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing