We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of La Parenthese

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reims
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Parenthese
Ranked #3 of 9 Reims B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Lovely lovely place and lovely host!
Brigitte is a very nice, laid back lady who made the house welcoming and homely.
The house is spacious, clean and a perfect location for Reims city centre.
As a guest you have the use of the lounge/diner and kitchen which is so refreshing and relaxing.
It was just what we needed after staying in many B&B's where you felt you needed to be out and about. This is not the case at La Parenthese. You feel comfortable and at ease to spend time in the house relaxing inside or in the yard. Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Reims.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The2vMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    33
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
58
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have stayed in Reims many a time - always in a hotel - but now we have a toddler we wanted a more family friendly option - and this is it! We stayed in the gite - which gave us lots of room - lounge, dining/kitchen space/ lovely bathroom and a large bedroom with a double and a single bed - perfect. The lounge has sofas that can be made into beds if you prefer.
The place is very stylish - with nice small garden and terrace. Good security - as you drive your car through two automatic gates - once through the gates - calm and serene.
Breakfast was delivered to the gite each morning - croissants and baguette - and the gite was well stocked with juice, coffee, jams etc.
We will definitely return - easy walking distance to the cathedral and restaurants etc.
A great gem!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We enjoyed a comfortable stay in a well-maintained room with more space than usual for Europe. Once we got a handle on the neighborhood, we found it an easy walk to the major Champagne houses in one direction and key sites like the Cathedral in another. Brigitte gave us good advice about restaurants and rightly assured us we'd have no problem walking to the train station. Coffee, fresh bread, croissants and cereal comprised breakfast.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rhbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

What a lovely place to visit, a home from home in the centre of a wonderful old French city. We were really just a few minutes from the Cathedral in the centre of town and could even watch the evening 'lumières' projected onto its facade. Stunning.

As for the room, we were lucky enough to be able to book The Loft which had plenty of room for the three of us (but would cope with 4 amply). The views were superb, the double-glazed Velux windows almost silent and the level of décor, and attention to details, was excellent. Our charming chatelaine, Brigitte, made us feel very much at home and we are already planning when we can come again.

Breakfast, 'le petit déjeuner', was standard 'Continental' fare but we were able to sit outside in the courtyard to eat it - always a bonus! The beds were a decent size, the linens pristine and comfortable but the real highlight was the interior design. La Parenthèse belongs in the many magazines which are on its shelves - so very stylish, 'a la mode' and immaculately presented.

As we left, very reluctantly, on our third day we were even given some cherries from the tree in the garden.

All in all, an excellent choice, a little bijoux (jewel) and a very lucky find. By the way, we were introduced to it via TripAdvisor so that's another positive rating from us. Thank you Brigitte for making us feel so welcome in your home.

Room Tip: Book early, choose a view of the Cathedral, plan to walk a lot around town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nokcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Le Loft. It was beautiful, spacious and very clean. Brigitte was a lovely host and helped us book reservations. La Parenthese is in a great location in the lovely city of Reims. We would definitely stay at La Parenthese again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandjmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nicely decorated room with a small, a big bonus. Easy walk to city centre and tourist attractions. Friendly and helpful owner who recommended restaurants and tours and was happy to make bookings for us. Nice French style breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gidgea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights over Easter having searched and searched for accommodation without success, how glad we were that we ended up there. I am not sure if it was just because it was the Easter weekend but all the hotels were seriously pricey and this b&b certainly didn't disappoint! The host was lovely, the rooms well decorated and the location was within walking distance of all the points of interest. The breakfast provided was simple but tasty.

All in all well worth the money.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#4 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Parenthese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Parenthese

Property: La Parenthese
Address: 83 rue Clovis, 51100, Reims, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Hincmar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Reims, La Parenthese offers five independant rooms with the charm and confort of a family home. The lounge (internet acces available), the garden, and the terrace are open to all residents. Private parking. 15 People maxi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing