We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable & Convenient”
Review of La Parenthese

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reims
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Parenthese
Ranked #4 of 10 Reims B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We enjoyed a comfortable stay in a well-maintained room with more space than usual for Europe. Once we got a handle on the neighborhood, we found it an easy walk to the major Champagne houses in one direction and key sites like the Cathedral in another. Brigitte gave us good advice about restaurants and rightly assured us we'd have no problem walking to the train station. Coffee, fresh bread, croissants and cereal comprised breakfast.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank rhbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 123 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

What a lovely place to visit, a home from home in the centre of a wonderful old French city. We were really just a few minutes from the Cathedral in the centre of town and could even watch the evening 'lumières' projected onto its facade. Stunning.

As for the room, we were lucky enough to be able to book The Loft which had plenty of room for the three of us (but would cope with 4 amply). The views were superb, the double-glazed Velux windows almost silent and the level of décor, and attention to details, was excellent. Our charming chatelaine, Brigitte, made us feel very much at home and we are already planning when we can come again.

Breakfast, 'le petit déjeuner', was standard 'Continental' fare but we were able to sit outside in the courtyard to eat it - always a bonus! The beds were a decent size, the linens pristine and comfortable but the real highlight was the interior design. La Parenthèse belongs in the many magazines which are on its shelves - so very stylish, 'a la mode' and immaculately presented.

As we left, very reluctantly, on our third day we were even given some cherries from the tree in the garden.

All in all, an excellent choice, a little bijoux (jewel) and a very lucky find. By the way, we were introduced to it via TripAdvisor so that's another positive rating from us. Thank you Brigitte for making us feel so welcome in your home.

Room Tip: Book early, choose a view of the Cathedral, plan to walk a lot around town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nokcid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Le Loft. It was beautiful, spacious and very clean. Brigitte was a lovely host and helped us book reservations. La Parenthese is in a great location in the lovely city of Reims. We would definitely stay at La Parenthese again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandjmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Nicely decorated room with a small, a big bonus. Easy walk to city centre and tourist attractions. Friendly and helpful owner who recommended restaurants and tours and was happy to make bookings for us. Nice French style breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennydunstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for three nights over Easter having searched and searched for accommodation without success, how glad we were that we ended up there. I am not sure if it was just because it was the Easter weekend but all the hotels were seriously pricey and this b&b certainly didn't disappoint! The host was lovely, the rooms well decorated and the location was within walking distance of all the points of interest. The breakfast provided was simple but tasty.

All in all well worth the money.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank TobyM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I don't know where to start, everything about this B&B is fantastic. From the fantastic owner Brigitte, who couldn't have been more helpful to our beautiful room called 'Clovis' which was a home from home, as was the communal lounge and kitchen downstairs (even though we had our own to use too). Every night and morning Brigitte would put fairy lights on, light candles and generally make the place look beautiful, it was always such a pleasure to come home to after a long day champagne tasting! Also, the breakfast was phenomenal, beautiful muesli, croissants, coffee, juice, breads...perfect. If we ever come back to this region, we will certainly return to La Parenthese. It's a few minutes walk from the town centre, on a quiet street and there's private parking should you need it (for a small charge), ideal.

Room Tip: Clovis is perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in the suite le Gîte for 3 nights over the August bank holiday because it was the only room left available - yet cheaper than many hotels in the area. The suite was massive, too big for the two of us but it was great to have so much space and our own little kitchen (which, other than the toaster, we didn't use).

The bedroom was very comfortable and had more than everything we needed. The suite also had a lounge area extending from the kitchen, and a separate bathroom and toilet. Nicely decorated and very clean and tidy - felt like our home away from home.

The owner was friendly and accommodating and gave us a delicious breakfast of pastries and bread each morning which we really enjoyed.

We could easily walk into Reims centre, it only took about 10 minutes, a very good location. It was also close enough to walk to the Champagne houses, it took about 30 minutes or was a short taxi. We were told by locals not to bother with the public transport, and we didn't need to anyway.

The only problem was the bathroom as it was a hand-held shower, so we had to be careful not to get everything too wet, and the mat was quite slippery.

Overall a fantastic stay and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you want lots of space, or 3-4 people are staying together, pick the suite le Gîte as it is a sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j9-jem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
L'Assiette Champenoise
#1 of 10 in Tinqueux
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hincmar
Campanile Reims Centre - Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Parenthese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Parenthese

Address: 83 rue Clovis, 51100, Reims, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Hincmar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Reims
Price Range: $77 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Reims, La Parenthese offers five independant rooms with the charm and confort of a family home. The lounge (internet acces available), the garden, and the terrace are open to all residents. Private parking. 15 People maxi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing