We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Functional (if not entirely fashionable)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Reviewed February 22, 2010

To be clear, the Residence Clairmarais is not a hotel in the traditional sense. Though it has a 24-hour front desk, it is essentially an apartment building in which each guest gets their own unit. While the halls are somewhat worn and there is certainly no cozy communal area, for the traveler looking for an inexpensive and convenient place to stay in Reims, it is a great option
I had a studio room, which included an entrance hallway, decent size bathroom, and a bedroom with desk and kitchenette (sink/microwave/range and cooking utensils). The room was spotless and utilitarian and there were lots of shelves and storage. The building was very easy to reach from the highway (three short turns after the exit) and there is a downstairs parking lot that offers spaces at 5 euros a day (a great deal). All the restaurants/bars/sights of Reims are about an 8-minute walk from the front door, and though the neighborhood at first looks a little gritty there are plenty of people of all ages on the streets all the time. For those who wish to save some money and cook for themselves, there is a great supermarket just around the block.
In summary, if you are looking for style & atmosphere, choose to stay at a traditional hotel, but if you want a clean, functional and well-located room at a good price, give the Clairmarais a try.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrushIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 256 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2010

The bedroom is really clean and the hotel is well located. However, we had only five minutes of hot water during all of our stay and the towels and sheets were not smelling 100% normal. Moreover, the reception staff was not very friendly. You can stay in better places paying the same amount,

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

This hotel is such good value for money and I don't agree that it is in a run down area - just a residential area behind the railway station. The rooms are basic bordering on spartan but everything you want is there. The bed is very comfortable, there is excellent storage and, overall, the suite is very clean,warm and cosy. The bathroom in particular was very good (with a good sizebath and shower over) and the kitchenette was perfectly adequate. Safe parking is a real bonus and good value at € 5 per day and the free internet is excellent. The centre of town is very easy to reach and the area is very quiet. Reims is a funny mix of a town being very old in reality but, since 80% was destroyed in the first world war, the overall feel is Art Deco. A great place to visit and tour Champagne.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandRHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Stayed at the Residence Clairmaraise last weekend.
Very Helpful Staff, allowed us to check in an hour early. Rooms are basic but clean.The Undersground Car Park is so convenient and a reasonable 5 euros a day. The location is excellent..an easy 5-8 minute walk into the heart of Reims.
A Good Budget Option.
Would happily stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I waited till the last minute to book our accommodations in Reims. As we were only staying one night, I wasn't terribly concerned. The price was just right and the underground parking was very convenient. As the other reviews said the rooms were very clean but very minimal. I thought that we would still be comfortable even with the minimal arrangements. Unfortunately, the bed was very uncomfortable. The mattress was maybe 5 inches thick (very hard!) and the bed was two short for two six footers. Also the pillows were tiny and the "comforter" was merely a sheet. We slept horribly the one night we were here. We also did not have enough hot water for the both of us to take showers in the morning. Even with the low price, clean rooms, and convenient parking I don't think I would come back – my poor back will thank me.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

My wife, young daughter and I stopped here for one night on the way back from a week in Alsace and it's perfectly adequate as it does what it says on the tin.

Location: Very easy to reach straight of the A4. It's located behind the railway station so in a miserable run down area of town (tip: turn left then left again out of the hotel and go down rue de Courcelles and over the railway line which will take you directly to the main shopping/restaurant street - going the opposite way takes you through a lot of run down areas). The main shopping street in Reims is stuffed full of restaurants of all types. (Tip: there is alsoa boulangerie just 50m from the hotel door if you turn left and left again. There's also a 'Champion' supermarket about 100m along rue de Courcelles (going away from the railway) but it doesn't open until 9.00am.

Parking: There is an underground garage (quite a reasonable 5 Euros/night - ask at check-in)but you will need your room key to get in and out of the garage level.

Check-in: Very easy; were issued with room key card and a 'bleeper' to open the hotel garage door but it was a pain getting the suitcases from the car to the carpark lift through three setsof doors and needing the key card to open the last one before then getting the suitcases into the smallish lift and upto the rooms - so a second key card would be useful.

Rooms: The pictures on the website probably flatter the hotel as ours seemed smaller and darker than expected. The walls were also a rough whitewashed artex sort of texture and the fittings are what you might call 'French domestic' i.e. they look as if they've been bought in MFI and then just stood in place rather than being professionally fitted so in the bathroom for example there is a washbasin/cupboard which is a standalone piece of furniture and the bath is also standalone so you could see all the plumbing and wiring behind. The furniture was also very spares and cheap.

Having said that, it did have all that we needed (small but fully equipped kitchenette) and being a mini-suite it did allow us to put our daughter to bed and watch TV in separate room. It was also very clean and we were untroubled by any noise despite having the windows open (and yes, we could open the windows properly unlike in Marriotts where you are restricted to a 2-inch gap!) On the down side the corridors were less clean and looked quite 'lived-in'.

Reims: Seems to be undergoing a lot of urban renewal so is a bit of a pit at the moment. However the main shopping area is pretty much like most European high streets, packed full of chain stores but in this case, also a large number of restuarants to suit all tastes but be aware that most don't serve food before 7.00pm. The 'old town' doesn't seem very old, there's not a lot there and most of it is surrounded by building works so don't expect to stumble on a romantic little bistro anywhere!

All in all this was a reasonable little place; it did what it said and no more, no less.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntrepidVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We chose this hotel following Trip Advisor's advice - and weren't disappointed. We got a great deal on a mini-apartment which turned out to be about the same size as our two-bed flat at home!

We did arrive early and the receptionist wouldn't budge on our check-in time which was a bit frustrating as we really needed to freshen up after a day of travelling before going to a champagne tasting. Otherwise service was great.

The apartment was basic but clean and tidy. The kitchenette, with fridge, was really handy. Our room faced the gym on the opposite side of the road and their noisey and energetci classes meant we could hear music throughout the day. It stopped early evening and wasn't a problem when you closed the window. Parking was secure and gave you peace of mind.

Road works in Reims is a nightmare though and don't trust Sat Nav unless you're got a totally up-to-date system - we haven't and did a couple of laps of the city before finding the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birthdaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Hincmar
Hotel De La Cathedrale
Hotel De La Cathedrale
#22 of 68 in Reims
111 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logis au Tambour
#8 of 68 in Reims
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims

Address: 25 rue Edouard Mignot, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range: $57 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims Hotel Reims
Sejours And Affaires Clairmarais - Reims
Residence Clairmarais Reims
Residence Clairmarais Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing