We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a short stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Reviewed October 15, 2009

My wife, young daughter and I stopped here for one night on the way back from a week in Alsace and it's perfectly adequate as it does what it says on the tin.

Location: Very easy to reach straight of the A4. It's located behind the railway station so in a miserable run down area of town (tip: turn left then left again out of the hotel and go down rue de Courcelles and over the railway line which will take you directly to the main shopping/restaurant street - going the opposite way takes you through a lot of run down areas). The main shopping street in Reims is stuffed full of restaurants of all types. (Tip: there is alsoa boulangerie just 50m from the hotel door if you turn left and left again. There's also a 'Champion' supermarket about 100m along rue de Courcelles (going away from the railway) but it doesn't open until 9.00am.

Parking: There is an underground garage (quite a reasonable 5 Euros/night - ask at check-in)but you will need your room key to get in and out of the garage level.

Check-in: Very easy; were issued with room key card and a 'bleeper' to open the hotel garage door but it was a pain getting the suitcases from the car to the carpark lift through three setsof doors and needing the key card to open the last one before then getting the suitcases into the smallish lift and upto the rooms - so a second key card would be useful.

Rooms: The pictures on the website probably flatter the hotel as ours seemed smaller and darker than expected. The walls were also a rough whitewashed artex sort of texture and the fittings are what you might call 'French domestic' i.e. they look as if they've been bought in MFI and then just stood in place rather than being professionally fitted so in the bathroom for example there is a washbasin/cupboard which is a standalone piece of furniture and the bath is also standalone so you could see all the plumbing and wiring behind. The furniture was also very spares and cheap.

Having said that, it did have all that we needed (small but fully equipped kitchenette) and being a mini-suite it did allow us to put our daughter to bed and watch TV in separate room. It was also very clean and we were untroubled by any noise despite having the windows open (and yes, we could open the windows properly unlike in Marriotts where you are restricted to a 2-inch gap!) On the down side the corridors were less clean and looked quite 'lived-in'.

Reims: Seems to be undergoing a lot of urban renewal so is a bit of a pit at the moment. However the main shopping area is pretty much like most European high streets, packed full of chain stores but in this case, also a large number of restuarants to suit all tastes but be aware that most don't serve food before 7.00pm. The 'old town' doesn't seem very old, there's not a lot there and most of it is surrounded by building works so don't expect to stumble on a romantic little bistro anywhere!

All in all this was a reasonable little place; it did what it said and no more, no less.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IntrepidVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 261 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

We chose this hotel following Trip Advisor's advice - and weren't disappointed. We got a great deal on a mini-apartment which turned out to be about the same size as our two-bed flat at home!

We did arrive early and the receptionist wouldn't budge on our check-in time which was a bit frustrating as we really needed to freshen up after a day of travelling before going to a champagne tasting. Otherwise service was great.

The apartment was basic but clean and tidy. The kitchenette, with fridge, was really handy. Our room faced the gym on the opposite side of the road and their noisey and energetci classes meant we could hear music throughout the day. It stopped early evening and wasn't a problem when you closed the window. Parking was secure and gave you peace of mind.

Road works in Reims is a nightmare though and don't trust Sat Nav unless you're got a totally up-to-date system - we haven't and did a couple of laps of the city before finding the hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birthdaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

All round a pretty good experience, as per TripAdvisor reveiws the hotel was certainly very good value and a great location 5 mins walk away from Pl Druet de Erion, the main area for restaraunts, bars and shops and about 15 mins from the cathedral and Mumm tour. There was also a great little patisserie almost opposite and a Champion supermarket just up the road, very handy.

The service when we arrived was great and we were able to check in a good hour early. the room in itself was good. nice bed, generally clean, nice bathroom and reasonable size.

We also took advantage of the private parking which whilst not essential at 5 euros a night just made leaving the car that much easier.

We just had a few gripes which meant we had to mark down, the main issue was that when we arrived the room was clean but had a reasonably strong smell of smoke which we did manage to overcome with an air freshener but the smell still lingered, don't recall an option to have a non smoking room and it seemed ok to smoke in the hotel.

Lesser issues, more inconvenient than anything else were that the safe in the room was broken, we ran out of hot water a couple of evenings and the washing up cloths left in the room had seen better days!!

Despite the few issues we had I would recommend the hotel just with a cautionary note about the smoking.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed one night as stop-over on way back from Burgundy to UK. Reims is a regular stopover as it's easy to access from the motorway and fun for a last night of the holiday.

Booked 2 1-bed apartments for our large family. Proved excellent solution for accommodating all our kids - having 2 separate bedrooms per apartment proved better solution than large 'chambre familiale' you'd get in a standard hotel.

Rate was excellent - around £50 per apartment (suspect because it was for a Sunday night in what looked predominantly like a business hotel). Hotel is convenient for Place Drouet d'Erlon (5-10 mins walk) and all its bars and restaurants. Breakfasted in the room - excellent bakery 50 yds from hotel, Champion supermarket equidistant in the other direction (note that this opens at 9am so if you want breakfast supplies earlier get them in the night before - also no cutlery in rooms so bring your own).

Check-in unproblematic, secure parking handy as we had bikes on rack. Room was warm but as we had rooms at back of building quiet enough to sleep - suspect may not be the same if you're at the front of the building.

Overall impressed with the stay, especially the size and layout of the rooms given the price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mack68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The rooms were spacious (there were 4 of us) and spotless. The secure underground parking meant that we could leave all our stuff in the car without worrying. It was a 10 minute walk into the town centre, where there are tons of restaurants & bars. It's great value for money, but don't expect aircon though. It's tricky to find, especially due to the huge amount of roadworks going on in Reims. We gave up with the Sat Nav as it was useless in this town. Just take the first left once you leave the main road into Reims. Booked based on reviews from this site and was not disapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindiloo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed here twice -on trip there/back to Provence. 2.5-3 hrs from Calais. Easy access from Jn 23- follow Clairmarais signs. Car parking (5 euros) needs pre-booking so we did for return journey. Outward it was full on arrival but we were able to leave our valuable bikes in a lock-up in the underground carpark. Lots of parking around though. Plenty of space in appartment for 2 adults & 2 tall teenagers. Fantastic value for money. Fridge w/freezer compartment for re-charging freezer packs for onward journey. Supermarket 3 mins walk, bakery opposite. Centre of Reims 7 min walk (lots of restaurants + cathedral worth a visit- free). Loved Bistrot du Boucher 38, Rue Elus.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Travelled from Calais to French Alps and on return journey back again. Recommended as only just off auto route and very easy to find, used underground secure parking. Had superior room, large, well equipped & clean. Staff helpful. A short walk to the main shopping area & restaurants. Good value for money and would use again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trkr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Best Hotel Reims
#35 of 68 in Reims
83 reviews
Hotel Porte Mars
#23 of 68 in Reims
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Ouest
Hotel Cecyl
Hotel Cecyl
#33 of 68 in Reims
244 reviews
Logis au Tambour
#8 of 68 in Reims
314 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#15 of 68 in Reims
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims

Address: 25 rue Edouard Mignot, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range: $59 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sejours & Affaires Clairmarais - Reims Hotel Reims
Sejours And Affaires Clairmarais - Reims
Residence Clairmarais Reims
Residence Clairmarais Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing