We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Porte Mars

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porte Mars
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Lovely little hotel just on the edge of town opposite the tram stop and near the rail station. Five minute walk inti town centre. Parking close by and cheap, next door to a champagne house €11 for a tour and three glasses of champagne. Staff really friendly and good English speakers. Breakfast extra but a good choice. Very clean and tidy, ac worked well, no noise as double glazed windows even though we faced the main road. Mini bar, hairdryer, toiletries etc. all provided. Really couldn't fault this hotel as nothing was too much trouble, staff pleasant and welcoming and Nicholas was just a star giving us all sorts of information. Would recommend giving it a try as good value for money

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisKH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Porte Mars
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 283 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Travelling back through France from Switzerland, we decided to break our journey in Reims. Turning off the motorway in the pouring rain, we spotted the Hotel Porte Mars. There was a restaurant right across the road so we decided to stop. We haven't stayed in France for many years, having encountered rather rude and unfriendly attitudes previously. Our whole experience of Reims this time blew those old experiences out of the water. The young man at the counter spoke excellent English but was also happy to let us practice our rusty French on him. A double room and a twin room were available at very reasonable rates. The restaurant across the road was closed that day but we were directed to several others in the near vicinity. The hotel is a fairly old building; the rooms were somewhat odd shapes, with a toilet in a small room at one side of the main bedroom and the washbasin and shower at the other side but everything was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and the towels were fluffy - what more could we need? It was close to the railway station, tramlines and main road, but two layers of double glazing left the room silent. If staying for more than a night, there was information on what to see and do in Reims, including info about the Champagne House next door. We ate at l'Editio restaurant in town where the friendly concierge said he liked to eat - and thanked him later as we thoroughly enjoyed it - then went to a local brew-pub for some excellent beers, followed by a visit to the Cathedral to see a light show also recommended by the hotel. Breakfast next morning was varied and enjoyable. For an unplanned choice for a one night stop, we could have done a lot worse - I actually doubt we could have done any better.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I'd emailed early on the morning of my arrival requesting an early check-in. A prompt reply assured me this would be no problem and I was warmly greeted by Alexandra when I showed up.

I'd opted for a deluxe room. For a 3 star hotel, it was good: reasonable size, spotlessly clean with good quality crisp white bed linen and a very French rouge marble fireplace.

The awe-inspiring Porte Mars is opposite the hotel on the way to the centre of town and the cathedral, which is about 10 minutes away and all on the flat.

Similarly, the station's just a few minutes along the street. Opposite it is the Place Drouet d'Erlon, a street of restaurants.

Breakfast was of good quality and, like everything about this hotel, good value for money.

Room Tip: As always, I asked for a quiet room far away from the lifts. Room 35, at the end of the passage on t...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PartyofOne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Here is my opinion of the Hotel Porte Mars in Reims.
The location is only a few blocks from the TVG/SCNF station and the same side of the street, which is very convenient for arrival and departure.
The staff speak English, and are very helpful.
There are also light rail trams across the street from the hotel entrance which will take you to local destinations.
There is a bike rental business, in the ADA office, at the train station; the prices are a bit high but the staff is helpful. Their English is limited so plan to have your phrase book or translation app ready if you aren't conversant in French. The rental for 24 hours (from Noon to Noon) was approximately 20 euros for each bike, plus a 500 euro deposit. They close for lunch at Noon and reopen at 2pm, as everywhere in France, so plan accordingly.
We enjoyed sitting at the hotel bar enjoying Charles Casanove champagne and watching the World Cup matches on the big screen television. The Wi-Fi access was good in the hotel, too.
The Casanove tasting room is next door to the hotel. Mumm and Henriot are just a few blocks away, and the center of Reims is just a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for a room not facing the main street on the next visit. The rooms have air...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antonioverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Great place to chill. Champagne house next door, 3 euro tastings. Were able to check in early, the guy on the front desk was helpful and spoke english. Easy walk to town and parking nearby. Didn't eat at hotel, cheap crossaints abound meaning you didn't need to get breakfast there. Highly recommend. Good stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Difficult_daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I think we got great value from our overnight at the Hotel Porte Mars. Our room, #35, faced the front, but was quiet, thanks to two double paned windows. We could look out to see the actual Roman Gate, and people moving about late in the day and early on their way to work. The bathroom was spotless, the separate toilet the same, furnishings were quite nice, the bed was comfy, and the ceiling mounted AC system masked the occasional sounds of other guests in the Hotel. Front desk was light on English, but long on enthusiasm; she directed us to a great restaurant a few blocks away, and have us coupons for a discount at the Mumm Caves. We skipped breakfast, which cost extra, and popped down the street for pastries and coffee. Good location or of the city center. And easy access by car, with free parking (overnight until 9 am) on the street just around the corner.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A short walk from the train station and opposite one of the ten 'sights to see in Reims ", the Hotel Porte de Mars is ideally placed for a Eurostar weekend in Reims. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak English. The rooms are small but clean and well organised. Breakfast is excellent. Highly recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimtamBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Logis au Tambour
#8 of 68 in Reims
296 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#14 of 68 in Reims
707 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Aux Sacres Reims Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel du Nord
#28 of 68 in Reims
336 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#6 of 68 in Reims
760 reviews
Hincmar
Hotel De La Cathedrale
Hotel De La Cathedrale
#22 of 68 in Reims
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porte Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porte Mars

Address: 2 Place de la Republique, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range: $73 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porte Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally located.A five minute walk from the station, access to motorways, the central square and commercial.A quarter of an hour of the Cathedral,Ten minutes from the Congress,The Hotel Porte Mars offers 24 rooms, fully renovated and perfect tranquility.Each room offers all the comfort you need for your living room (WC, Bathroom, Minibar, WiFi access, , Telephone and Hair Dryer). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Porte Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing