We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my fiance on a trip round the Champagne region. We booked this hotel as a walk up.
We did have an upgraded room and paid €90 per night for it.
The staff were very friendly.
The hotel is Right in the centre of the action in Reims
The room was acceptable but a little care worn. There are really nice paintings all over the walls which give it a quite grand feel.
Bed was comfortable there was a reasonable television.
Only problem was Significant noise from above which did wake my fiance up a few times during the night. I imagine this is only a problem in certain rooms (we were in 114)
Overall a good hotel if you can get an upgraded room at €90-€100.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Pipehitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 404 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We used The Grand Continental as a stopover on our way back from the Alps. It's 6 or 7 hours from the Southern alps, and only 2 or 3 hours more onto Calais, so Reims is ideal for a stopover. First of all, the location. There is an underground car park metres from the entrance and the Hotel can provide you with discounted parking. You don't have to walk far to find a bar or restaurant as there are dozens along the pedestrianised area where the hotel is situated.
Second, the staff. They were very helpful and cheerful when we arrived as you would expect. However, later on in the evening, we were being disturbed by some noisy neighbours (a private apartment next door). Within minutes of being notified of this, three members of staff were on the case, either looking for alternative rooms or trying to sort the noise out. They were extremely accommodating, knowing full well that we had young kids and didn't want to be too far apart. Twenty minutes later they had found two more rooms next to each other at the other side of the hotel. I couldn't have asked for more.
I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisssyboy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked an eco room but was upgraded to standard. If I return, I would book the room up from standard as this was quite basic. (Quite glad I didn't stay in the eco room having stayed in a standard!)
Breakfast at 8E is overpriced for what you get. There is a very good cafe at the opposite end of the street to the hotel which is much better value.
Coffee in the lounge is peaceful. The room is quite nice and service good. Reasonably priced.

Reception staff Max and Marion were extremely helpful. Their English is very good but will help if you're speaking French (or trying to!)
Marion called ahead to the Taittanger cellar to book our places and they were both very knowledgeable.

Quite a good discount on the underground parking which is right outside the hotel.

I would recommend and revisit but as I said, upgrade my room from standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_ryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice friendly hotel. I had my own room, small but nice. And everything available for a night . My father had a bigger room which was comfortable. The dog ( bernese mnt) also loved it. Only small elevator . The rooms were on the front site so you could hear the street with its rumour, but that goes together when you want to be in the center. Across the hotel nice little park to stretch the legs and a car park right in front of the hotel. Great place and good restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontdekjeplekje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

That should have got your attention! But make a note of this hotel - individually designed rooms, good furnishings, quality staff and family run yet smack in the middle of Reims.

The Continental is French through and through - built in the grand style, a rare survivor from before WWI and owned by the same family since the 1920s, it has modern appointments and the most welcoming atmosphere plus a very good restaurant.

Easy access by road and rail, underground parking adjacent(public but you get a reduced price), in a beautiful part of Reims yet cafés and restaurants are nearby. Despite plenty of people enjoying the evenings in the town, noise is not an issue in the hotel.

My last visit was with a group of friends and I do not recall any gripes - believe me, that's pretty good.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a frontal outlook for lovely views of the city and park; not that the others are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stopped off for the night at this hotel on our way to Strasbourg. When you are in transit you want a comfortable hotel in a central area from which you can walk to all the major sites and restaurants. This old, very French style hotel fits this requirement to perfection. Comfortable bedroom . We didn't eat in the hotel because there were a dozen restaurants within walking distance. Had a lovely evening and stay. Would definitely return.
PS. Champagne essential!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harewood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here one night: the location is great, a short walk from the centre of Reims. The reception area looks good, but this was not carried through to our room. The size of the room was fine, the bed comfortable, and there was an efficient and quiet air conditioning unit. However the bedroom and bathroom were in need of refurbishment, and could have done with a thorough clean. The bathroom window didn't close properly, the decorations were faded and there was mould above the bathroom window. The staff were friendly. However, breakfast was no better than average, and with a full room, they were running out of some of the food

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hincmar
Mercure Reims Centre Cathedrale
Grand Hotel du Nord
#29 of 68 in Reims
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: 93 Place Drouet D Erlon, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Ouest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range: $100 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing