We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good old hotel centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good old hotel centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice friendly hotel. I had my own room, small but nice. And everything available for a night . My father had a bigger room which was comfortable. The dog ( bernese mnt) also loved it. Only small elevator . The rooms were on the front site so you could hear the street with its rumour, but that goes together when you want to be in the center. Across the hotel nice little park to stretch the legs and a car park right in front of the hotel. Great place and good restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontdekjeplekje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    115
    98
    54
    31
See reviews for
41
181
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almondsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

That should have got your attention! But make a note of this hotel - individually designed rooms, good furnishings, quality staff and family run yet smack in the middle of Reims.

The Continental is French through and through - built in the grand style, a rare survivor from before WWI and owned by the same family since the 1920s, it has modern appointments and the most welcoming atmosphere plus a very good restaurant.

Easy access by road and rail, underground parking adjacent(public but you get a reduced price), in a beautiful part of Reims yet cafés and restaurants are nearby. Despite plenty of people enjoying the evenings in the town, noise is not an issue in the hotel.

My last visit was with a group of friends and I do not recall any gripes - believe me, that's pretty good.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a frontal outlook for lovely views of the city and park; not that the others are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stopped off for the night at this hotel on our way to Strasbourg. When you are in transit you want a comfortable hotel in a central area from which you can walk to all the major sites and restaurants. This old, very French style hotel fits this requirement to perfection. Comfortable bedroom . We didn't eat in the hotel because there were a dozen restaurants within walking distance. Had a lovely evening and stay. Would definitely return.
PS. Champagne essential!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harewood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here one night: the location is great, a short walk from the centre of Reims. The reception area looks good, but this was not carried through to our room. The size of the room was fine, the bed comfortable, and there was an efficient and quiet air conditioning unit. However the bedroom and bathroom were in need of refurbishment, and could have done with a thorough clean. The bathroom window didn't close properly, the decorations were faded and there was mould above the bathroom window. The staff were friendly. However, breakfast was no better than average, and with a full room, they were running out of some of the food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was a great find. We had a lovely room with two balconies overlooking the main pedestrian walking street. Comfortable beds. Decent breakfast. Central location. Very accommodating staff. Clean and neat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Alex12300000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights. We had two rooms, one for our teenage children and one for us. The rooms were next to each other. We had booked the cheapest rooms (which as still expensive when you have to book two each night) and I was worried they would be very basic but the rooms were very nice.

My daughter said 'Wow' when she entered her room.

All the bedrooms were individual - I had a look into some of the others the next morning - the cleaners air the rooms by opening all the doors and windows - good idea. There wasn't that musty smell you can get sometimes with old buildings. There were a lot better rooms than ours (bigger and better furnishings) but some I noticed didn't even have an en suite.

Our bathroom just needed a bit of attention - paintwork mostly and some scratches in the bath.

There was a fridge and air conditioning. No tea and coffee though.

The hotel is it at the end of a very busy drinking/eating area which looked a bit rough to be honest. Not quite the image I had in my head of beautiful boutique bars in Champagne.

We did a champagne tasting at Charles de Cazanove which was about ten minutes walk away.

We didn't eat in the hotel because our first night we wanted to explore Reims and our second night when we tried to book a table, we found the restaurant doesn't open on Sundays.

The cathedral is only about ten/fifteen minutes walk away and well worth a visit to see the light show in the evening.

Parking is just in front of the hotel in an underground car park - the hotel provides a discount from the normal daily rate.

A lovely French hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

If your looking for centre located hotel this is the place to stay, you are in the hub of Reims with the best places to eat with the lovely street cafe and restaurants you won't be spoilt for choices to eat, or the Hotel own restaurant is very good.

The cathederal is 5min walk from here, along with tourist information next to it. Also you can get the city tour bus for 10euro from here

There is underground car park next to the hotel this is cheap for 24hr stay, the train station is 2min walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicholasEJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Grand Hotel du Nord
#25 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#29 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel
#35 of 69 in Reims
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Property: Grand Hotel Continental
Address: 93 Place Drouet D Erlon, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Ouest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing