We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Reims
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Continental for 2 nights and we didn't have a great experience. The room looked very old and shabby and nothing like the photos on tripadvisor. After the first night I woke up with bites that looked like they were bed bugs or mites (not mosquitos) and then couldn't sleep for the second night. We had a pipe running through our bathroom which meant that we could hear running water/ sewerage at all hours. Whilst the room price was very reasonable - we were left regretting our choice and wishing that we had spent more. We also got some of our clothes dry cleaned/ washed, which we had to pick up ourselves but were given the wrong location. Wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kelly547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcontinental, Responsable relations publiques at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

We are surprised and confused by your comment... The picture you are describing is horrible and it's hard to believe that you could have slept two nights in such a room.

As you can easily tell by reading the many comments on our hotel posted on TripAdvsor, we never had any cleanliness issue in our Establishment. Our housemaids are really involved in their tasks and are really trustful in doing a really caring job to make sure that each of our clients finds a perfectly clean room regardless the price they are paying.

If you really stayed in our hotel, we would really appreciate if you could contact us by email so we can get more details about your stay.

Best Regards.


Maxence de Barros,
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    118
    102
    56
    31
See reviews for
41
189
24
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Great city centre location, friendly staff and a basic but adequate room. No hotel parking is a minor issue, but there is a public underground car park very close by. Room was small and dated. It was clean and kind of cute, but very small. Also, try to avoid getting a room near the stairs as they are very noisy and creaky.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eldera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcontinental, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Eldera2,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your stay in our Establishment!

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at that you would recommend our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you during your next visit in Reims.

Warmest Regards from sunny Reims!


Maxence de Barros,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of June and found it to be a nice property in a perfect location. Our room was a nice size for the two of us and the bathroom was spacious. It was not a superior room by any means; could use updating and remodeling, but it was clean and neat. Parking was right outside the front door, in the huge Drouet d'Erlon underground garage, and at a discount for being a hotel guest. Of course being right on Drouet d'Erlon was another bonus, with cafes, brasseries, and all manner of dining options everywhere. The cathedral was a 10 minute walk.
We had dinner one night at the hotel restaurant and it was amazing. Overall, this was a great place for our short Reims stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcontinental, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Tammy G,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel with TripAdvisor's readers!

We are pleased to read that you had a great time in Reims and enjoyed both our hotel and restaurant.

The cleanliness and the comfort of our rooms are our priorities, so our staff is really happy to read that you noticed their job by mentioning that your room was clean and neat :-).

We wish you a great summer!

Kindest Regards.


Maxence de Barros,
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife, 2 kids (20 yr & 16 yr), and I had a stop-over night in Reims on our way from Paris to Vianden, Lux. Perfect location - big park right across the street - right at the end of the promenade with lots of restaurants - parking garage entrance 10 steps out the front door. Rooms were clean and big, wifi was great. Lovely hotel - better than I expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katsandcards_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcontinental, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Katsandcards_8,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, we are glad to read that your family had a lovely stay with us!

We hope that you'll come back soon for a longer stay in order to be able to enjoy a bit more our beautiful town of Reims.

We wish you four a great summer.


Maxence de Barros,
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford UK
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our outward journey on the way to Dijon and again on our last evening and found it to be a well located clean and efficient hotel.
Our non smoking as requested room was large and quite grand but unfortunately the smell of cigarette smoke was unacceptable as my husband is asthmatic and so we immediately informed reception who apologised and offered to clean and spray (!) the room or give us an alternative.
As it would have taken rather a long time to shampoo all the furnishings in order to remove the odour we elected to move to another room.
It seems a shame that people who smoke in a designated non smoking room are not made to pay for the cleaning and this might then be a deterrent as we have seen in many UK hotels.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on both evenings and that was fine and convenient.
However on our return a week later one of our friends also had a cigarette smell in a “non smoking” room so I think this is an issue which needs to be resolved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcontinental, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear JeanGB,

We would like to thank you for posting a comment on our hotel and giving us your feedback on your stay.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel and the efficacy of our reception.

Regarding the smoking issue, we are really concerned about it. We are vigilant on this matter and try to avoid these accidents from happening but we unfortunately sometimes have disrespectful customers smoking in non-smoking rooms. Hopefully, reading your comment will aware them on this matter...

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again during your next stopover in our lovely Champagne region.

Best Regards.


Maxence de Barros,
Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We loved this hotel and the staff. Our room was beautiful and huge! Chandelier, floor to ceiling french doors. the bathroom was large, bright and spotlessly clean. We had both a full size tub and shower, windows that opened helped to dry a few clothes we had rinsed out by this time of the trip. The restaurant was excellent and full our first night. The staff were some of the most helpful in our entire trip. Marion was especially kind and helped us with a lot with restaurant suggestions. It's simple to find as soon as you exit the train station. It's the first hotel on the pedestrian street and has a large sign. The location was perfect-easy to walk to great restaurants, shopping, cathedral, post office. Yes, true that the young people like the bars and there was a DJ in the hotel lobby on Friday night, but it all just adds to the energy and fun. It didn't disturb our sleep at all. Don't miss the light show on summer nights at the cathedral-it's amazing! The hotel staff are fluent in English and were very helpful with bus connections to tour the wineries. We rented a car and drove out to Epernay from here as an easy day trip as well. This was a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited the Champagne region over a 4 day weekend and used ¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬the Grand Hotel Continental in Reims as our home base. The hotel is located right at the end of a pedestrian only street which is packed with bars and low to mid-end restaurants. Though it is a pedestrian street, parking is very conveniently located directly underneath the street and then you take an elevator up to the hotel’s front door. From the hotel we were able to easily walk around the old part of Reims and never needed to drive or even call taxis when going out for dinner.

The hotel itself had friendly and helpful staff at reception. Our room and the furnishings were a bit older (the bed creaked a bit) but everything was clean and appeared well taken care of. We had a corner room which looked over the pedestrian street on one side and a nice park on the other side.

The breakfast offerings were lackluster to say the least. Save your money and your appetite and go find a nice pastry shop.

Otherwise, we were overall happy with this hotel and would stay there again in the future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Grand Hotel du Nord
#27 of 68 in Reims
319 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#31 of 68 in Reims
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Ibis Reims Centre
Ibis Reims Centre
#13 of 68 in Reims
684 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#34 of 68 in Reims
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Property: Grand Hotel Continental
Address: 93 Place Drouet D Erlon, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Ouest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing