We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Reims
California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely room, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this hotel and were very happy with the ambiance, the space, the cleanliness, and the friendly staff. The hotel also has a restaurant which is expensive but very good. We chose the mid-level "traditional" room and got two double beds each and an enormous bathroom with a big tub and shower. The room was of older vintage but the bathroom was brand new. We ordered room service breakfast which was a big basket of croissants, pastries, bread, jam, coffee, cream, and fresh fruit. Plenty to get your day started. We ate at the restaurant twice and were delighted with the food and service. We arrived in Reims earlier than check-in time but left our luggage with the desk and when we returned after a walk through town, our luggage had been taken up to our room and was waiting for us. This hotel is walking distance from the train station - never mind a taxi - and is on a very touristy street but a few blocks away are some lovely local restaurants. Also the cathedral, the art museum and the museum dedicated to the signing of the German surrender in World Wart II are all within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the "traditional" room and you'll have all the space you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcontinental, Responsable relations clients at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment!

It has been a pleasure welcoming you and having you staying in our hotel for 3 nights.

I really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Establishment.

Warmest Regards.


Maxence de Barros, Assistant Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    115
    96
    51
    31
See reviews for
38
179
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a charming, typically French, hotel - and a pleasant change from the large bland, corporate, international chain hotels. Each of the rooms appears to have a different look, and many have recently been updated in the original part of the hotel. Rooms in the new annex are much more contemporary in style. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and our dinner in the newly acquired Au Conti restaurant was superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcontinental, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like first of all to thank you for charing the experience of your stay in our hotel on trip advisor!

I am happy to read that you enjoyed to stay in a typical hotel such as ours.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again in our hotel anytime soon.

Best Regards.


Philippe Delvaux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a pleasant room on the top floor. The room was spacious enough, although the floor was a bit creaky and uneven (old building, I think). The room was decorated in a charming manner, but the bathroom was dated and needed maintenance. If memory serves, it was covered in pink tile which was last in fashion several decades ago.
The hotel was extremely well located, just above an underground parking garage (one of the exits was very near the hotel entrance) and on a pedestrianised street full of restaurants and cafes. The hotel gives a discount for the parking garage, so you don't pay the full price. Although our room faced this pedestrianised street, we were not disturbed by noise (this might be because we were on the top floor).
The staff were pleasant and we had an otherwise uneventful stay. We did not have breakfast. There is nothing outstanding about the hotel, but if we had occasion to return to Reims, we would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoastalBreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcontinental, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your post on TripAdvisor!

I am really pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us and that you would stay at our hotel if you were coming back to Reims :-).

I would like to thank you as well for your feedback on your room, we are continually renewing and improving the amenities of our hotel (triple glazing, flat screen TV, air-conditioning, free WiFi, etc) room by room.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.

Yours Faithfully.


Philippe Delvaux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent a night at this hotel after touring the champagne houses (nice!). The concierge was so helpful, calling ahead to Veuve Clicquot and securing a tour for us at the last minute. We had dinner in the restaurant that night, the atmosphere, food and service were wonderful.
However....despite the 'promise' of the quite delightful reception area, the hotel rooms are like an advertisement from the 1960's right down to the quality and style of the bed linen and the state of the bathrooms. The walls are also paper thin. A shame I think as just investing in some relatively inexpensive furnishings and fittings could really have lifted things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annemariebrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcontinental, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Anne-Marie,

Thank you for posting a comment on our Establishment on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that your room didn't fully satisfied you and I understood your remarks.

I am happy to read that you were happy with the services provided by our reception staff and our Restaurant Au Conti.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again during your next stay in Reims.

Best Regards.


Philippe Delvaux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived after a long journey. No porter service - got key for room - horror!!!!!!!! It was disgusting, smelly, wallpaper in tatters, bathroom so old and looked dirty. We complained and were given key to the room next door - OMG - even worse if possible. Eventually the manager showed has various rooms - all that was wanted was a clean fresh comfortable room, he had great difficulty with this fact. Eventually a room was chosen in a new annex, VERY small, nowhere to put the suitcase but new and fresh. Of course it was much more expensive, not sure why but it was. We had booked through bookers, we were charged at least double. We were due to stay another two nights on our return from Paris but had to cancel that for obvious reasons. The service was horrendous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: The new annex is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatherineThacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghcontinental, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are really surprised by the violence of your comment.
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay even if took the time to make you visit as many rooms as you wanted and choose together with you the room where you stayed.

I will try to answer each point of your comment:
- We are a 3 stars hotel, that is why we do not have a porter service that you will mainly find in 5 stars hotels in France,
- You have booked (through a booker) the cheapest category of room of our hotel but it was, as all our rooms, perfectly clean, I've even offered you to go together to the room so you can try to show me any dirt in the room. You agreed that it had nothing to do with cleanliness but that you didn't like the deco.
- The special extra cost we agreed on together was 59 € for an upgrade of 2 categories, so you paid 157 € for a room who normally costs 250 €. So I think we have been really professional and made our best to make sure that you would enjoy your stay in Reims.

We are welcoming thousands of Customers every month who, as you can see by the comments they are writing about our Establishment, are really enjoying our hotel. We are sorry that, however our efforts, we couldn't make you one of them.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reims hotels

perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in a superior room booked through booking.com which included breakfast..I didn't see the other room types but would highly recommend spending the extra for this room type.
We arrived by train from Paris and walked to the hotel which took a couple of minutes-very close and convenient..the young girl on reception was very friendly and we were checked in very quickly.
Our room was huge compared to what we'd stayed in in the rest of France and included a lounge and coffee table with a large modern bathroom and all very French...I loved the room and it was very clean..it was at the front of the hotel but we didn't hear any street noise as other reviewers have mentioned.
The breakfast was Buffet style and was nice including the standard cheese, cold meats, cereals, breads/pastries, juice, tea and it has a coffee machine as well as eggs that you could boil.
I have no complaints about this hotel and would stay again and it is in the best location for all the restaurants and bars..

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KELLIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night, fortunately. Even though the location is great from a geographical point of view, the street was extremely noisy with people shouting all nigth long until daybreak. The rooms were cramp, the beds extremely narrow and the bathroom windows didn't have any curtain. The towels were worn out and as thin as paper. Next time we visit Reims, we would look for a better option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
Grand Hotel du Nord
#26 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#29 of 69 in Reims
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre Erlon-Est
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#3 of 69 in Reims
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Bristol Hotel
#33 of 69 in Reims
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Property: Grand Hotel Continental
Address: 93 Place Drouet D Erlon, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims > Centre Erlon-Ouest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Reims

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing