We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Tour of Reims”

Paris Champagne Tour - Walking Tour In Reims
Ranked #8 of 25 Tours in Reims
Attraction details
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely Tour of Reims”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stephanie hosted our group on a very nice and informative tour of Reims. She was great - charming and knowledgeable about all sorts of aspects of this town. The tour was a fun part of our trip.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    18
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Informative, beautiful tour of Champagne & Reims”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our tour began with pick-up from our hotel in a luxury 7-seater car by guide Trong. He offered expresso and pastries for the ride to Champagne. Trong is extremely knowledgeable about France's history as well as Champagne making. Our first stop was the Champagne vineyards where he explained the process of growing the grapes then off to a local small Champagne maker. There, we met the owners, saw their home, the caves, and the process. Next, tasting their product. Delicious! We were able to purchase from this family who had been in the region for five centuries. Off to a posh lunch in Reims, then a tour at the cathedral. The architecture is amazing but we were primarily there to see the stained glass windows, namely, Chagall. We were not disappointed.One final tour to a larger Champagne maker. We napped on our way back to Paris. What a wonderful and informative day. I highly recommend this trip for many reasons; our intelligent host, the countryside, and of course, Champagne.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jayne a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Paris chapagne tour”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A group of 4 booked the champagne tour of Reims on Sept 10th. stephanie was our guide and also corresponded with me prior. Our train tickets from Paris to Reims were purchased by the tour and emailed to me with full instructions on how to get to reims. We did not have to pay anything until the tour commensed. We really enjoyed this town and would not have known the history without a tour. the cathedral was amazing of course. Our lunch was at very popular and charming resturant with an excellent lunch and champagne . After lunch she gave us tickets for the
Ittle bus that takes you to Tattinger - 19 million bottles of the bubbly are in the caves- quite the tour and of course more chanpagne. this tour was operated by the Tattinger people. You also had the option of going to two more wineries bu feeling light headed we walked back into town and went shopping. Very nice shops without the Paris crowds. We took the late train back so that we could have dinner at one of the many resturants. We were back in Paris by 10- I highly recommend this one day trip. Www.parischampagnetour.com

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“FABULOUS WALKING TOUR OF REIMS, HIGHLY RECOMMEND!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We took the TGV train from Paris (45 minutes) for a day in the beautiful city of Reims. Stephanie was a pure delight and knew the city inside and out. The walking tour was really lovely and the history of the city is incredible. After the tour we had a delicious lunch and then were off to Tattinger for a tour of the champagne house which was extremely interesting. After the tour of the champagne caves we were able to taste the champagne which was great. We then walked over to Veuve Clicquot gift shop to look around and then headed back to the train. It was a great day!

We highly recommend this tour!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“The Best Walking Tour in France”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Well, the best walking tour in Paris, Reims or Strasbourg, the three cities we visited. It was even better than the much more expensive Context tour we took of the Louvre.

We arrived at our hotel in Reims (the Hotel de la Paix-incredibly rude staff; see separate review) and our room was not ready. We picked up the brochure in the lobby and noted that the tour was leaving in a few minutes. We simply arrived in front of the drugstore at 36 square Drouet d'Erlon where we met our guide Stephanie. She was delightful. Since we were the only two persons to show up we got a private walking tour for 15 euros each. Stephanie clearly loves Reims, and the Art Deco architecture that blossomed there after the First World War destroyed the city. She pointed out interesting carvings and explained their symbolism (for example, pine cones are a symbol of eternal life), as well as the signatures of the various architects and sculptures who worked on these amazing buildings. She took us into Waida Cafe with its classic Art Deco interior, including carvings at each corner of the dining room symbolizing three meals of the day and cocktail/wine hour. We went into a jewelry store with some fascinating Art Deco touches, as well as glass blocks on the floor used to help light the basement. She introduced us to the friendly proprietor who did not seem to mind that we did not intend to buy anything. From there we spent some time in the Cathedral de Notre Dame de Reims which, for my money, is even more interesting than Catheral de Notre Dame de Paris (but perhaps it was simply because Stephanie was so engaging and the crowds were less chaotic). We also walked through the Carnegie Library in Reims. This is a place not many tourists would go, but it is also an Art Deco masterpiece, down to the "champagne bubbles" wall covering and the stained glass in the atrium.

We learned a little bit about Stephanie during our tour. She and her husband are restoring an historic house in Reims. She had originally wanted to illustrate children's books, but needed to live closer to Paris to pursue that occupation. I mention these details because the walking tour allowed the kind of back and forth you cannot get in other, more impersonal, tours.

Stephanie spent almost four hours with us; our tour was only scheduled for three hours. Though we shivered in the cool May air (Reims is cooler than Paris, positively frigid by mid-Atlantic U.S. standards), but Stephanie's warmth more than made up for the chilly weather.

Reims is remarkably uncrowded compared to Paris and Strasbourg.

This walking tour is absolutely not to be missed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank stropertre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paris Champagne Tour - Walking Tour In Reims also viewed

 

Been to Paris Champagne Tour - Walking Tour In Reims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing