We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stop - ideal comfortable hotel”
Review of Logis au Tambour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Logis au Tambour
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family of 4 were returning from a ski trip to the Alps. Reims was a good place to stop after a 7-hour drive, and this hotel offered a family room. The room had a double bed and bunk beds, with a tuck-away bed underneath the bottom bunk, which would enable a 5th person to stay in the room. Our children are teenagers, and the size of the room was spacious enough for comfort, with bath/shower and wc, wardrobe space, tv and free Wifi. We were very pleased with the service, the fact we could park for free just outside on the road, and the convenience of a wonderful Italian restaurant just a minute's walk away. The hotel's breakfast was also very good.

Room Tip: Just make sure you read all the different options for rooms. We were very pleased with ours, enabli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgiehen132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 314 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were allocated a ground floor disabled room because we had a dog. Dingy with one pillow in the bed -another in the wardrobe but we were not confident that it was freshly laundered. The room had no daylight because the metal shutters were broken.The cooking smells of rancid fat from the family above were offputing to say the least.When I asked the owner for milk for a cup of tea she gave me one portion.I discovered the hairdrier was not working at 10.30pm after a shower before going to bed. The next day we went for breakfast across the road at 8am as we wanted an early start. We were locked out with no sign of life. Eventually a maid came over ,saying Madame must have forgotten she had guests and was sleeping.
This was a one night stopover on our way to Italy and was by far the worst. I would never recommend this hotel and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed here overnight on our way back from the south of France. Tambour is a small hotel with good value rooms 10-15 minutes walk from Reims centre. Parking in covered garage, and good breakfast buffet with hot items, eggs, bacon etc. We had rooms in the annexe so can't comment on the remainder of the hotel or the swimming pool or spa.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DurhamHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hoel's location is about 20 minutes walk from the centre of town. We booked two rooms. They were small but clean and with good-sized bathrooms. The heat from the mini-bar warmed up our room so that we were obliged to have the air-con on all night, and in both rooms there was a regular grunting noise from the bathroom plumbing which kept our daughter awake. The breakfast buffet was fairly extensive and starred a special boil-your-own-egg machine. However, despite a notice on the hotel door which stated that reception was open from 7am till 11pm, there was no-one there for 2.5 hours at lunchtime and at 1 o'clock we found ourselves locked out of the garage where our car was parked, and unable to retreive baggage we'd left in reception (which we'd done with an assurance from the cleaner that she would be around). The situation was salvaged by a phonecall from the manager to his mother, who came and let us in, but she wasn't happy about it and nor were we. We felt we should have been given a time by which to remove our car from the garage - the lack of communication caused a good deal of anxiety because we were due to reach Dijon at 5 o'clock that afternoon. Altogether a stressful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank funnyjaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Hotel Tambour was a last minute find on our driving trip around France. I went in to ask the receptionist about prices and managed to negotiate a comfortable double room with free parking for about 70 euros for one night.

The room was quite basic with a television, double bed, wardrobe, fridge etc. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the room was very clean and tidy.

The bathroom was clean and had a hairdryer; however while showering, I noticed that the shower glass panels did not work very well so a lot of water was leaking onto the floor – this could be fixed. We were also provided with one bath towel and three hand towels but as we were staying there for one night, it didn’t bother us too much.

The hotel is probably about 15 minutes walk from the town centre which we didn’t mind too much. It is situated in a very quiet secluded area.

Overall we were satisfied with the hotel for our one night stay; staff were friendly and helpful and we slept well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmydotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Friendly staff - good breakfast -parking available at 7€/night - city of reims easy to reach by car - small rooms but everything you need is available - clean bathroom - the hotel met our expectations therefore we were very satisfied about our stay here

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dusci24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I am french and I write in english as I think we (french) need to be courteous to foreign visitors and avoid to scratch our lovely country reputation with this hotel which is clearly not worth for the price! Being for the room or service.

We arrive and first surprise: our room is on the other side of the street, not explicit when you book online. So if you have children to look after from your room when they play in the swimming pool or want to go easily from your room to the swimming pool, forget it !
When we arrived there was a full 2 minutes before the guy at the reception takes care of us. You really feel that you're not awaited. Fortunately a charming young women came and had the attention for us that you can expect.

Our room was at the top of the secondary building (the one without the swimming pool), and the more we were going upstairs, the more I had the feeling that my disappointment was just at its beginning. My guts weren't wrong and I was really disappointed when I got into the room. In terms of quality, I had the feeling that it was just above cheap hotel like formule1 and certainly not worth the 80€ requested!
We had a very precise and close view of .... an electricity pylon when opening the window.
The shutters were broken so I had to block the light with materials available in the room to avoid being awaken by 5 am.

We thought to go by feet to the cathedral but when we asked to a neighbor it's at least 20 minutes walk and the quarter is nowhere charming, one of the worst of Reims.

Before leaving we complained to the main manager and she said that she was very surprised ... which is wrong when you look at other posts on tripadvisor.

We declined the breakfast as I was completely against spending more in this hotel, it should have been included in the price!

We were several friends to book in reims at the same time and discussing with them, it was clear that we had the worst place and not even the cheapest.


Wrap up: for 80€ there is much better hotels or guest room in Reims! Forget that one, it definitively broke my heart to spend 80€ there !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jpdrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilou51, Propriétaire at Logis au Tambour, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Mr.

Yes, you may have waited 2 minutes since we have to go with clients to their rooms.

since the hotel has two buildings the fact t hat your room was not on the pool side it is normal(you had room 41 ) all the more there are customers who prefer this side seens breakfast room is there.

When clients ask me to change of course we change them aside as possible.Everybody does not complain with a keyboard and in France when young children are around the pool parents should monitor them.

Concerning the flap it has absolutely nothing because maids have not pointed out;. There is a crank to close it down until it is absolutely dark.
I've never seen a Formul 1 hotel with heated pool of 27 degrees, steam room, massage , mini bar, air conditioning, courtesy tray with tea coffee available ...

The owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reims hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel de la Paix
0.2 mi away
Novotel Suites Reims Centre
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Reims Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Akena City Reims Bezannes
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel des Templiers
2 mi away
Novotel Reims Tinqueux
Novotel Reims Tinqueux
#2 of 10 in Tinqueux
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis au Tambour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis au Tambour

Address: 60 rue de Magneux, 51100, Reims, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reims
Price Range: $84 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis au Tambour 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel AU TAMBOUR in REIMS, in France's Champagne region, a Member of "Logis International" and " Contact Hotel". Christine and Bernard are there every day to welcome you to their third generation family hotel. Fully renovated to a high standard of comfort, the hotel has 24 delightful rooms, including two family rooms. They all are equipped with air-conditioning and offer secure free Wi-Fi access, mini-bar, flat screen TV with international channels and a courtesy tray. A private, secure garage is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Logis au Tambour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Tambour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing