We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Of France Tours - Champagne Region”
Review of Champagnes Pommery

Champagnes Pommery
Book In Advance
More Info
$158.98*
and up
Champagne Region Private Day Trip from Paris
More Info
$363.05*
and up
Champagne Private Day Trip from Paris with a Wine Expert
More Info
$158.90*
and up
Private Day Trip to Champagne from Paris
Ranked #7 of 77 things to do in Reims
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only one of its kind in Champagne , this Elizabethan-style estate was conceived and built by Mrs Pommery in the 19th century! Take a guided tour of the cellars for a peek into some of our Gallo-Roman chalk quarries and our contemporary art exhibit.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Of France Tours - Champagne Region”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited the Champagne Region with Best Of France Tours and had a great time as always. We visited 3 different houses of champagne on our trip, never felt rushed, and the ride back and forth from Paris was without issue. Highly reccommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnny131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    444
    163
    57
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“30 minute tour - a hit with the kids!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a ten year old and a seven year old who we thought would find a long cave tour too boring. The Mercier train tour of their caves was out of order due to technical problems, so we tried Pommery. We had to wait about half an hour, but the kids loved it! The guide was enthusiastic and informative, but sometimes her accent was difficult to understand. It was a bit rushed, but for kids, or those with time constraints, it was a good tour to get an idea of the Champagne cave systems. There were different levels of tastings available at the end of the tour, depending on which champagnes you want to try. My husband and I chose different champagnes and shared our tasting, and a pleasant grape juice was provided for the kids and non-drinkers. Pommery provide a range of tours of various lengths for those looking for a longer tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Interesting tour”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful premises, but given the size of our group, we couldn't always hear the lady showing us around. Nevertheless, it was an interesting and informative experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Most of the tourists visiting just Paris while in France, but the real flavor of France in its historic Champagne region. Rent a car and visit Reims located just 90 miles East from Paris. Take rout A4 and you will be there in 1 hour and 30 min. That is incredible experience that you will remember forever. I have visited Pommery Chateau first and was blown away! The "lobby" before the actual cave decorated with all kind of different and unique pieces of art. The Cave is huge and fascinating: so much history and tons of bottles of Champaine. A french guide with a cute french accent was super friendly and tasting after the tour made it an awesome experience. I went to G.H.Martel Chateau afterwards expecting the same experience but honestly was quite disappointed. Taittinger Chateau didn't impressed me much either.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Great, Informative Tour”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was just about the only tour we could book in the short term for a champagne house that we knew, so we jumped at the chance. My expectations weren't all that high, but we really enjoyed the tours of the massive, extensive Pommery caves and the guide did a superb job of explaining everything we could possibly want to know about champagne and Pommery. The tasting at the end was a little weak, but the tour itself was well worth the money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SCalCanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champagnes Pommery also viewed

 

Been to Champagnes Pommery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing